ORTF 3D Spatial Audio
Overview

Ultimate immersive Audio Guide – Job for XR Spatial 3D Sound

Content

    A text by Martin Rieger with the kind support of Ana Monte and the German Association for Film Sound Professionals (BVFT).

    Virtual reality sound asks completely new demands on sound, whether from a technical or creative point of view. In simplified terms, sound in VR should create a three-dimensional auditory impression, with or without head tracking. What immersive audio is, how it works and what you can do with it, comes here:

    What is XR (Extended Reality)?

    Extended Reality is the umbrella term for Virtual Reality (VR), Augmented Reality (AR) and Mixed Reality (MR). Spatial Audio plays a very different role in each of these. But let’s take things one step at a time, because first of all a big "attention": Most sound engineers talk about VR, but actually mean 360° videos.

    But such productions are only a very small niche of the whole virtual reality. There are two big limitations: 360° videos are linear in time like conventional movies and secondly they only allow a rotation of the viewing direction around three axes: X, Y and Z. This is known as three degrees of freedom. Also known as three degrees of freedom (3DoF). The hype around such productions has already died down and will probably only play a minor role in the future.

    What is immersive audio?

    So much for the topic of XR. Now let’s move on to the hype topic of "immersive". There is a great deal of euphoria among film sound engineers, and the topic is a hot topic at the relevant conferences. "Immersive audio" is often used as a synonym for "3D audio".

    But where and when can 3D audio actually offer added value? It is important to find out where the new technology works best and what could be promising areas of application.

    The possibilities for working with 3D audio are almost unlimited. Most people first think of Dolby Atmos for immersive film or music productions. But this is only a small part of the potential, and we want to focus on the most relevant ones for BVFT. There is a huge jungle of new formats, devices, plugins and distribution channels emerging right now that we may not even know about today. Meaning it may well be worth becoming adventurers yourself and plunging into the wildness.

    Original sound recording

    For recording on the road and in the studio, sound engineers need to have a good overview of the existing multi-channel, microphone arrays. These are usually suitable as so-called beds. However, channel-based formats such as 5.1, 7.1 and 7.1.2 are of secondary importance. Although they are well established in the film sound context, they do not reproduce the sound spherically. Evenly from all sides, as immersive audio usually requires. This is because the sound is often rotated around the spatial axes during later playback.

    At the latest here one stumbles over the term Ambisonics. This format has already existed for a few decades, but it only achieved its great raison d’être in combination with 360° videos. There are already quite affordable microphones from various manufacturers that have four tetrahedrally arranged capsules. These raw recordings are referred to as A-format and are later transferred to B-format by software, where they are mixed with ambisonics.

    The advantages and disadvantages of the format will not be discussed here, but you can learn more here here. The main point is to show that during recording it is sometimes not even clear on which device or platform the later production will end up. So the ORTF-3D or an omni-binaural microphone can be the right choice just as well.

    The most important difference to classic film sound is that the boom microphone is more or less completely omitted in 360° videos. Otherwise, the sound man including the boom would be visible in the VR image. Therefore, a solid radio system is necessary here as well. On the one hand, it is important to record a 3D bed that captures the sound as well as possible from all directions, and on the other hand, it is essential to record the audio objects as isolated as possible. In this case, completely different rules apply than in classic film, since it is suddenly decisive who speaks from which direction and how the scene is spatially resolved.

    ambisonics microphone

    Sound design & music

    Many tools are now available in the popular DAWs for ProTools and Nuendo, but not all of them. You quickly come up against limits in the form of bus sizes or speaker configurations. Therefore, the detour via Reaper can be worthwhile where you are virtually unrestricted and can write your own scripts in case of doubt. Speaking of scripts, there is almost no way around them in Unity or Unreal at the latest, but more about that later.

    In most cases, music is produced in stereo. In the immersive area, there is a dedicated head-locked stereo track for this purpose. This is an audio track that does not change, no matter if the viewing direction is changed. The problem with this is that now this static soundtrack works against the immersive soundtrack and breaks its localization.

    Therefore, it can make sense to have effects and music delivered in object-based formats. Unfortunately, the production side often chooses a classic approach with music and voice-over. This leaves almost no room for the original sound to have an effect, since three sound layers have to harmonize with each other somehow, but are lay somewhere between diegetic and non-diegetic.

    Therefore, it is better to think simpler and not to overload the sound from the beginning. Most of the time there are visual elements that already challenge the user enough, so there is no need for epic music and an advertising speaker.

    Linear / immersive audio mixing

    Make no mistake, not only are there no format standards and a motley assortment of microphone options, neither are there standards for measuring loudness. Here AudioEase and the FB360 workstation have LUT approaches that attempt to measure the sound field signal, at least for 360° videos. The most important thing is that the mix is not too loud and causes problems later in the decoder when binauralizing or distributing to speakers. Sounds easy to say, but in many cases, it is difficult to anticipate, because you absolutely cannot rely on levels.

    Also, you have to say goodbye to the illusion that with 3D immersive audio, the sound will always sound exactly as you imagine it. For example, Facebook and YouTube use different HRTF models for binauralization, which means that one and the same mix sounds significantly different on different platforms. This affects not only the timbre but also the localization and mixing ratios with the head-locked portion.

    Speaking of head-locked, this already mentioned optional stereo track is mostly used for music, but can also be used for voice-overs. In-head localization makes it clear to the user that the person cannot be localized and thus cannot be located in the scene. Nevertheless, it can be irritating for people to hear a voice and not be able to locate it to a person.

    In a classic film, no normal viewer would be irritated by this. In VR, however, other laws apply because you are part of the scene yourself. So here, too, you have to question mixing decisions that have been made for ages in moving images. Channel-based workflows in stereo or surround are taught by default, but cannot be adopted for spherical audio mixes.

    In addition, listening habits also play a big role here. In the meantime, the presence of the clip is almost preferred to the naturalness of a boom microphone. In the same way, female listeners first have to get used to externalization (the opposite of in-the-head localization), i.e. the feeling of really hearing a person from the outside with headphones. In this case, speech sounds much more spatial, just as one knows it from reality, but not as one knows it from movies.

    So, on the contrary, here the stereo sound is actually considered false sound, which can break the immersion that you tried to build with the image. There are very few good reasons to resort to static sound in a virtual reality sound experience, and very obviously shows that the potential of the medium has been far from exhausted here. Here more thoughts on it.

    Interactive Game Audio Mixing

    Let’s just get to the point that actually makes the XR theme so powerful. And that is something that the fan of the linear moving image will probably not like at all: namely interactivity. Here we quickly find ourselves in the world of 3D models and game engines.

    But here comes the good news: there is a job description that is very close to the requirements here: Game Audio Designer. This may not have much to do with classic film sound, but the boundaries are becoming increasingly blurred. Just because you’ve learned game audio doesn’t mean that you can work in sound for gaming. And just because you learned film sound doesn’t mean you have to do film. Sound for XR is somewhere in that gray area.

    The biggest difference from classic film sound is that instead of a longer audio file that runs constantly from start to finish, so-called audio assets are now delivered. These are individually attached to game objects in the game engine. These can be, 3D model in space, characters or linked to events. In movie audio, we know exactly when a person walks through the door, for example, and we can add the appropriate door sound and reverb.

    Unfortunately, in interactive applications, we rarely know exactly when the event will occur. Therefore, the door sound asset is linked to the game object door. As soon as a character steps through the door, the stored sound is played. Sounds simple, but for credibility a few steps are missing – not only the character’s, but also reverberation algorithms for the two rooms separated by the door have to be defined in advance. Besides, you don’t want to hear the same door sound every time, so you usually deposit a small palette of sounds directly. Or write a script that pitches the door sound higher or lower depending on how hard the door is slammed.

    As you can see, this is not a perfect mix, as with linear audio productions, but trial and error. Since most game engines are usually only quite rudimentary in their audio functions, middlewares come to the rescue here. These extend the range of functions and enable an interface to the project without having to make changes to the project itself, which pleases the programmers who usually still have to work on the same project in parallel.

    Working in immersive audio

    When developing an XR story with spatial audio, you should think about how to use sound to drive the story. So to get started you have to rethink audio in general. There are so many workflows that you do with just mono or stereo sound that don’t work in XR with spatial audio. Because in XR, you’re not just looking in one direction and the sound can direct your eyes.

    There is only a manageable amount of advanced training. However, more and more universities are recognizing the need and are already working on new concentrations with immersive audio and labs are being expanded. Related associations like the AES and VDT have similar offerings of workshops and webinars.

    It’s worth taking a look at what content is already available. What XR experiences there are with spatial audio that work well. And then from there, maybe you can start developing your own stories or thinking about your own ideas. Because chances are very good that you have a vision that no one has had before in terms of sound, so that lowers the barrier to entry.

    Sound design must be rethought

    As developments continue at a rapid pace, it is very difficult to predict the future. However, it is definitely worthwhile as a sound person to think not only about his or her department. This makes communication with other creatives or technicians easier and also helps to broaden one’s own horizon in terms of sound. So an education in media technology with a focus on sound can be a good foundation here. It’s no use having all the specialized knowledge about immersive audio if you can’t communicate to other people why it’s important to them.

    Many audio colleagues are currently considering building speakers on the ceiling and upgrading to Dolby Atmos in the hope of attracting new clients. But in reality, the advertising promise, or any "return of investment" at all, will occur. Why would a customer suddenly spend significantly more money on an audio product that probably would have worked just as well in stereo? And if everyone suddenly offers 3D, there is an offer on the market of which it is not at all clear whether it can be covered by music and movie demands at all.

    That’s the crux of it, most sound colleagues just want to stay in their studio, keep using their favorite DAW and then somehow the jobs will come. But that doesn’t work in the XR and immersive audio world. Often, the additional work involved in 3D audio production is disproportionate to stereo. And here, too, people prefer to spend their budget on the visual part rather than on the sound. After all, one has a lot to do with fancy smart glasses. That’s why it’s time to turn the tables: Get out of the sound comfort zone and think for yourself what can be an exciting application in terms of XR – it’s worth it.

    Therefore, above all, a different mindset is required, as you’d call it nowadays.

    Development and professional situation

    Moviegoers are willing to pay a good price for a surround sound experience. But whether stereo or surround, at the end of the day it’s a nice feature. You don’t need to expect to suddenly charge more just because you’re now mixing in 3D – for a movie or music that works mostly well in stereo, too.

    Does that mean 3D audio won’t be a big priority in the future? Of course not! Therefore I would like to mention another extreme example, which we like to laugh at, but still gives us hope: 8D Audio. Here find the best detailled article. But the short version is: Someone came up with the idea to run a song through a spatializer and let it circle endlessly around your head. Sounds absurd, and to our trained ears it is.

    And yet, here millions of people have been reached with 3D audio content and the click numbers are in the nine figures. This shows how good it can be to think unconventionally for a change and do things that you might be reluctant to do. It’s not enough to buy a 3D spatializer and think you’re doing immersive audio now. That’s why there are still a lot of people missing in the industry who really have years of experience.

    dearvr pro

    You have to remember who we are mixing for and why. Do we want a 3D mix that can be shown to colleagues with a clear conscience (Dolby Atmos would be the choice here), or do we want to reach the consumer (8D Audio shows that it can be done). The truth is probably somewhere in between, so it’s time to harness the potential from both worlds and find the added value of immersive 3D audio.

    The typical approach is to use 3D audio where surround has already worked well. It’s probably no longer a secret that over a thousand feature films have already been mixed immersively in Dolby Atmos. This fact alone is remarkable for the sound. While the listening experience can currently be enjoyed almost exclusively in cinemas or friendly studios, the three-dimensional mix will soon also increasingly find its way into the living room at home via soundbars. Clever algorithms with virtual speakers make it possible.

    Or even simpler: in virtually every household there are headphones that make three-dimensional audio playback in the form of binaural stereo accessible to consumers. As a listener, you get more and more the feeling that you’re not just watching a movie, but that you’re part of the action. Mixers can also enjoy the improved transparency, since the spatial distribution of the different sound levels in the room means that fewer compromises have to be made than with stereo.

    Historical development and today’s situation

    Artificial head stereophony has been a popular recording method for playback on headphones for decades. The vision behind it is to reproduce the acoustic environment as realistically as possible for humans.

    Put simply, it can be used to trigger emotions, feelings of presence and perceptions that are deeply connected to one’s own experiences – more immediately than mono could, for example, because a level of abstraction is omitted and is easier for our brain to process. That’s why the keyword immersion, i.e. immersion in a virtual world environment, describes it quite well.

    Currently, however, there is a lot of momentum in the topic again, since sound is now also becoming more accessible as a three-dimensional event for a larger audience with loudspeakers. Furthermore, additional technologies such as head trackers, data glasses and real-time renderings are popping up in a wide variety of areas, giving us an increasingly realistic impression of hearing as we are used to in our natural environment.

    Summary and conclusion

    Amid all the immersive hoopla, however, it’s important not to lose sight of the larger issue of immersive film sound. Already, the next hype topics are hitting: artificial intelligence, blockchain, voice assistants, Smartspeaker etc. These sound like buzzwords that are far removed from our film sound world, but they are actually hot topics that sound engineers should take a close look at.

    It sounds a bit abstract, but the wonderful thing about sound is that it’s a cross-cutting technology that can be used to dock onto virtually any other topic – and that goes far beyond immersive audio. So now it’s time to become a doer yourself, to leave your comfort zone and venture into unimagined audio territory. Because it’s up to us to shape the music of the future, and it has more than just three dimensions.

    Find out how they sound here! So contact Martin Rieger now without obligation.

    Contact us

ORTF 3D Spatial Audio
Overview

Ultimative Immersive Audio Guide – Berufsbild für XR Spatial 3D Sound

Inhalt

    Ein Text von Martin Rieger mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Ana Monte und der Berufsvereinigung Filmton (BVFT)

    Virtual Reality Sound stellt an den Ton ganz neue Anforderungen, sei es aus technischer oder kreativer Sicht. Vereinfacht lässt sich sagen, dass der Sound in VR einen dreidimensionalen Höreindruck erzeugen soll, mit oder ohne Headtracking. Was immersive audio überhaupt ist, wie das funktioniert und was man damit machen kann, kommt hier:

    Was ist XR (Extended Reality)?

    Extended Reality ist der Oberbegriff für Virtual Reality (VR), Augmented Reality (AR) und Mixed Reality (MR). Spatial Audio spielt in jedem dieser Bereiche eine ganz andere Rolle. Doch alles der Reihe nach, denn zu Beginn erst einmal ein großes „Achtung“: Die meisten Tonmeisterinnen reden von VR, meinen aber eigentlich 360° Videos.

    Solche Produktionen sind aber nur eine sehr kleine Nische von der ganzen virtuellen Realität Es gibt nämlich zwei große Einschränkungen: 360° Videos sind wie herkömmliche Filme zeitlich linear und ermöglichen zweitens nur eine Rotation der Blickrichtung um drei Achsen: X, Y und Z. Auch bekannt als drei Freiheitsgrade (3DoF, three degrees of freedom). Der Hype um solche Produktionen ist bereits abgeflaut und wird in Zukunft wohl nur eine untergeordnete Rolle spielen.

    Was ist immersive Audio?

    Soweit zum Thema XR. Kommen wir nun zum Hype-Thema "immersiv". Die Euphorie unter den Film Sound Tonmeisterinnen ist groß und das Thema auf den einschlägigen Tagungen ein Dauerbrenner. Dabei steht "immersive Audio“ gerne als Synonym für "3D Audio".

    Aber wo und wann kann 3D Audio überhaupt einen Mehrwert bieten? Es gilt herauszufiltern, wo die neue Technologie bestmöglich funktioniert und was vielversprechende Anwendungsgebiete sein könnten.

    Die Möglichkeiten, mit 3D Audio zu arbeiten, sind schier unbegrenzt. Dabei denken die Meisten erst einmal an Dolby Atmos für immersive Film- oder Musikproduktionen. Doch das ist nur ein kleiner Teil der denkbaren Anwendungen, wir wollen uns aber auf die für den BVFT relevantesten fokussieren. Es entsteht gerade ein riesiger Urwald an neuen Formaten, Geräten, Plugins und Distributionswegen, von denen wir heute vielleicht noch nicht einmal wissen. Heißt es kann sich durchaus lohnen selber zu Abenteurer zu werden und in den Dschungel zu stürzen.

    Originalton Aufnahme

    Für die Aufnahmen unterwegs und im Studio müssen die Tonmeisterinnen einen guten Überblick über die existierenden mehrkanaligen, Microphone-Arrays haben. Diese eigenen sich meist als sogenannte Beds. Dabei sind aber kanalbasierte Formate wie 5.1, 7.1 und 7.1.2 eher zweitrangig. Sie sind zwar etabliert im Filmton Kontext, bilden den Ton aber nicht kugelförmig, aus allen Seiten gleichmäßig ab, wie es immersive Audio meist verlangt. Denn oft wird bei der späteren Wiedergabe der Ton noch um die Raumachsen rotiert.

    Spätestens hier stolpert man über den Begriff Ambisonics. Dieses Format existiert bereits seit einigen Jahrzehnten, schaffte aber erst in Kombination mit 360° Videos seine große Daseinsberechtigung. Es existieren bereits von verschiedensten Herstellern recht erschwingliche Mikrofone, welche vier tetraedisch angeordnete Kapseln verfügen. Diese Rohaufnahmen werden als A-Format bezeichnet und später software-seitig in das B-Format übertragen in dem mit Ambisonics gemischt wird.

    Vor- und Nachteile des Formats sollen hier nicht weiter diskutiert werden. Hier gibt es aber was zum Nachlesen. Es geht v.a. darum zu zeigen, dass während der Aufnahme manchmal noch nicht mal klar ist, auf welchem Endgerät oder Plattform die spätere Produktion einmal landet. Es können also genau so gut das ORTF-3D oder ein Omni-Binaurales Mikrofon die richtige Wahl sein.

    Der Wichtigste Unterschied zum klassischen Filmton ist, dass die Tonangel bei 360° Videos etwa komplett wegfällt. Sonst wäre der Tonmensch samt Boom im VR Bild zu sehen. Daher ist auch hier eine solide Funkanlage notwendig. Es gilt also einerseits darum ein 3D Bed aufzunehmen, das den Ton möglichst gut aus allen Richtungen einfängt und andererseits ist es essentiell die Audio-Objekte zusätzlich möglichst isoliert aufzunehmen. Dabei gelten ganz andere Regeln als beim klassischen Film, da auf einmal kriegsentscheidend ist, wer aus welche Richtung spricht und wie die Szene räumlich aufgelöst wird.

    ambisonics microphone

    Sounddesign & Musik

    Mittlerweile sind viele Tools in den gängigen DAWs für ProTools und Nuendo verfügbar, aber eben nicht alle. Schnell stößt man an Grenzen in Form von Bus-Größen oder Lautsprecher Konfigurationen. Daher kann sich aktuell noch der Umweg über Reaper lohnen wo man quasi uneingeschränkt ist und im Zweifel eigene Skripte schreiben kann. Apropos Skripte, an die kommt man spätestens in Unity oder Unreal so gut wie nicht vorbei, doch dazu später mehr..

    Musik wird in den allermeisten Fällen in Stereo produziert. Im immersiven Bereich gibt es dafür eine dedizierte Head-Locked Stereo Spur. Dies ist ein Audio-Track, der sich nicht verändert, egal ob die Blickrichtung geändert wird. Problem daran ist, dass nun dieser statische Soundtrack gegen den immersiven Soundtrack arbeitet und dessen Lokalisation kaputt macht.

    Daher kann es Sinn machen, sich Effekte und Musik in objekt-basierten Formaten anliefern zu lassen. Leider wird oft aus Seiten der Produktion ein klassischer Ansatz mit Musik und Voice-Over gewählt. Damit bleibt für den eigentlich O-Ton so gut wie kein Platz mehr um zu wirken, da nun drei Tonebenen irgendwie miteinander harmonieren wissen, aber dabei irgendwo zwischen diegetisch und nicht-diegetisch hängen.

    Daher lieber den Ton einfacher denken und nicht von anfang an überfrachten. Meist kommen eh noch visuelle Elemente hinzu, die den Nutzer schon genug fordern, da braucht es vielleicht gar nicht noch epische Musik und einen Werbesprecher.

    Lineare / immersive Mischung

    Man darf sich nichts vormachen, es gibt nicht nur keine Format-Standards und eine bunte Auswahl aus Mikrofon-Möglichkeiten, genauso wenig gibt es Standards zu Messung von Lautheit. Hier haben AudioEase und die FB360 Workstation LUT-Ansätze, die versuchen das Schallfeld-Signal zu messen, zumindest für 360° Videos. Wichtig ist v.a. dass der Mix nicht zu laut ist und später im Decoder beim binauralisieren oder dem Verteilen auf Lautsprecher Probleme gibt. Klingt einfach gesagt, ist nur in vielen Fällen schwer vorauszuahnen, da man sich absolut nicht auf Pegel verlassen kann.

    Außerdem muss man sich von der Illusion verabschieden, dass mit 3D immersive Audio der Ton immer genau so klingt, wie man es sich vorstellt. So nutzen Facebook und YouTube andere HRTF-Modelle für die Binauralisierung, womit ein und dieselbe Mischung auf verschiedenen Plattformen deutlich unterschiedlich klingt. Das betrifft nicht nur das Timbre sondern auch die Lokalisation und Mischverhältnisse mit dem Head-Locked Anteil.

    Apropos Head-Locked, diese bereits erwähnte, optionale Stereospur wird meist für Musik genutzt, kann aber ebenso für Voice-Over verwendet werden. Durch die In-Kopf-Lokalisation wird dem Nutzer klar, dass die Person nicht lokalisierbar ist und damit nicht in der Szene zu verorten ist. Dennoch kann es für Leute irritierend sein eine Stimme zu hören und sie keiner Person zu Orten zu können.

    Bei klassischem Film lässt sich wohl kein normaler Zuschauerin dadurch irritieren. In VR gelten aber anderen Gesetze, weil man ja selber Teil der Szene ist. Man also auch hier mal wieder Mischentscheidungen hinterfragen, die man seit einer Ewigkeit beim Bewegtbild schon immer so gemacht hat. Kanalbasierte Workflows in Stereo oder Surround werden standardmäßig gelehrt, können aber so für kugelförmige Audiomischungen nicht übernommen werden.

    Außerdem spielen hier auch Hörgewohnheiten eine große Rolle. Mittlerweile wird der die Präsenz des Ansteckers ja fast der Natürlichkeit einer Angel vorgezogen. Genauso müssen sich Hörerinnen erst einmal an die Externalisierung (Gegenteil von In-Kopf-Lokalisation) gewöhnen, also das Gefühl zu haben mit Kopfhörern eine Person wirklich von außen zu hören. Dabei klingt Sprache wesentlich räumlicher, ebenso wie man es aus der Realität kennt, aber nicht so, wie man es aus dem Film kennt.

    Ganz im Gegenteil ist hier also der Stereo-Ton eigentlich als falscher Ton anzusehen, der die Immersion kaputt machen kann, welche man versucht hat, mit dem Bild aufzubauen. Es gibt sehr wenige gute Gründe, bei einem Virtual Reality Sound Erlebnis auf statischen Ton zurückzugreifen und zeigt sehr offensichtlich, dass hier das Potential des Medium bei weitem nicht ausgeschöpft wurde. Hier mehr Gedanken dazu.

    Interaktive Mischung

    Kommen wir nur zum Punkt, der das Thema XR eigentlich so mächtig macht. Und das ist etwas, was dem Fan vom linearen Bewegtbild wohl gar nicht schmecken wird: nämlich Interaktivität. Hier finden wir uns schnell in der Welt der 3D-Modellen und Game-Engines wieder.

    Doch hier kommt die gute Nachricht: es gibt ein Berufsbild, das hier sehr nah an den Anforderungen ist: Nämlich Game Audio Designerin. Das mag jetzt mit klassischem Filmton nicht mehr viel zu tun haben, aber die Grenzen verschwimmen immer mehr. Nur weil man Game Audio gelernt hat, heißt es nicht, dass man Computerspiele vertont. Und nur weil man Filmton gelernt hat, heißt es nicht, dass man auch Filme machen muss. Sound für XR befindet sich irgendwo in dieser Grauzone.

    Größter Unterschied zu klassischem Filmton ist, dass statt einem längeren Audiofile, das von Anfang bis Ende konstant durchläuft, nun sogenannte Audio Assets angeliefert werden. Diese werden einzeln in der Game-Engine and Game-Objekte geheftet. Das können, 3D-Modell im Raum sein, Charaktäre oder mit Ereignissen verknüpft werden. Im Filmton weiß man genau, wann etwa eine Person durch die Tür geht und wir können mit dem passenden Türsound und Hall vertonen.

    Bei interaktiven Anwendungen, weiß man aber leider selten, wann genau das Ereignis eintritt. Daher wird das Tür-Sound-Asset etwa mit der dem Game-Objekt Tür verknüpft. Sobald ein Charakter durch die Tür schreitet wird der hinterlegte Sound abgespielt. Klingt simpel, doch für Glaubwürdigkeit fehlen noch ein paar Schritte – nicht nur die des Charakters, sondern müssen auch vorab Hallräume für die zwei Räume definiert werden, die durch die Tür getrennt sind. Außerdem will man ja nicht jedes Mal den gleichen Türsound hören und hinterlegt daher meist direkt eine kleine Palette an Tönen. Oder schreibt ein Skript, das den Türsound etwa ja nach härte des Zuschlagens höher oder tiefer Pitcht.

    Man merkt also, hier ist nicht der perfekte Mix, wie bei linearen Audioproduktionen, sondern trial and error gefragt. Da die meisten Game-Engines in ihren Audiofunktion meist nur recht rudimentär ausgestattet sind, kommen hier Middlewares zur Hilfe. Diese erweitern den Funktionsumfang und ermöglichen eine Schnittstelle zum Projekt, ohne am Projekt selber Veränderungen vornehmen zu müssen, was die Programmierer freut die meist noch parallel am gleichen Projekt arbeiten müssen.

    Berufseinstieg immersives Audio

    Bei der Entwicklung einer XR-Geschichte mit räumlichem Ton sollte man sich überlegen, wie man den Ton einsetzen kann um die Geschichte voranzutreiben. Um anzufangen muss man also den Ton im Allgemeinen neu überdenken. Es gibt so viele Arbeitsabläufe, die man nur mit Mono- oder Stereoton durchführt, die bei XR mit Spatial Audio nicht funktionieren. Denn in XR schaut man nicht nur in eine Richtung und der Ton kann die Augen lenken.

    Es gibt nur eine überschaubare Anzahl an Fortbildungen. Immer mehr Hochschulen erkennen aber den Bedarf und arbeiten bereits an neuen Schwerpunkten mit immersive Audio und es werden Labore ausgebaut. Verwandte Vereinigungen wie die AES und VDT haben ähnlichen Angebote an Workshops und Webinaren.

    Es lohnt sich einen Überblick darüber zu verschaffen, was es bereits an Inhalten gibt. Welche XR-Erfahrungen es mit Spatial Audio gibt, die gut funktionieren. Und von dort aus kann man dann vielleicht anfangen, eigene Geschichten zu entwickeln oder über eigene Ideen nachzudenken. Denn die Chancen stehen sehr gut, dass man eine Vision hat, die im Bezug auf Sound noch niemand hatte sich damit die Einstiegshürde herunter setzt.

    Die Tongestaltung muss neu gedacht werden

    Da die Entwicklungen rasant voranschreiten ist es sehr schwierig die Zukunft vorauszusehen. Es lohnt sich aber unbedingt als Tonmensch nicht nur an sein Department zu denken. Das macht die Kommunikation mit anderen Kreativen oder Technikern einfacher und hilft auch den eigenen Horizont in Bezug auf Sound zu erweitern. Eine Ausbildung im Medientechnik-Bereich mit Schwerpunkt auf Ton kann hier also eine gute Grundlage sein. Es nutzt das ganze Spezialwissen über immersives Audio nicht, wenn man anderen Leuten nicht vermitteln kann wieso es für sie wichtig ist.

    Viele Tonkolleginnen überlegen gerade Lautsprecher an die Decke zu bauen und auf Dolby Atmos upzugraden in der Hoffnung neue Kunden zu gewinnen. Doch in Wahrheit wird das Werbeversprechen oder überhaupt ein “return of invest” eintreten. Wieso sollte ein Kunde auf einmal wesentlich mehr Geld für ein Audioprodukt ausgeben, das in Stereo wohl genau so gut funktioniert hätte? Und wenn jeder auf einmal 3D anbietet, ist ein Angebot auf dem Markt, von dem gar nicht klar ist, ob es durch Musik- und Filmanfragen überhaupt gedeckt werden kann.

    Genau das ist der Knackpunkt, die meisten Tonkolleginnen wollen einfach in ihrem Studio bleiben, weiterhin die Lieblings-DAW nutzen und dann kommen schon irgendwie die Jobs. Aber das funktioniert in der XR und immersiven Audiowelt so nicht. Zur oft steht der Mehraufwand bei der 3D Audio Produktion in keinem Verhältnis zu Stereo. Und auch hier wird natürlich lieber Budget für den visuellen Part als für den Sound ausgegeben. Man hat ja schließlich auch viel mit Datenbrillen zu tun. Daher heißt es den Spieß umdrehen: Aus der Ton-Komfortzone gehen und selber überlegen, was eine spannende Anwendung in Bezug auf XR sein kann – es lohnt sich.

    Daher ist vor allem ein anderes Mindset gefragt, wie es Neudeutsch so schön heißt.

    Entwicklung und Berufssituation

    Kinobesucher sind bereit sich ein Surround-Sound Erlebnis auch gut was kosten zu lassen. Doch ob Stereo oder Surround, am Ende des Tages ist es ein nettes Feature. Man braucht nicht erwarten, dass man auf einmal mehr Geld verlangen kann, nur weil man jetzt in 3D Mischt – für einen Film oder Musik, die auch in Stereo überwiegend gut funktioniert.

    Bedeutet das, dass 3D Audio keinen großen Stellenwert in Zukunft haben wird? Natürlich nicht! Daher möchte ich ein anderes Extrembeispiel nennen, das Unsereiner gerne belächelt, aber trotzdem hoffen lässt: 8D Audio. Hier ein Detaillierter Artikel dazu. Aber die Kurzfassung lautet: Jemand kam auf die Idee, einen Song durch einen Spatializer zu jagen und endlos um den Kopf kreisen zu lassen. Klingt absurd und das ist es für unsere geschulten Ohren auch.

    Und trotzdem: Hier wurden Millionen von Menschen mit 3D Audio Inhalten erreicht und die Klickzahlen sind im neunstelligen Bereich. Das zeigt, wie gut es sein kann, mal unkonventionell zu denken und Dinge zu tun, gegen die man sich unter Umständen sträubt. Es reicht nicht, sich ein 3D Spatializer zu kaufen und zu denken, man macht jetzt immersives Audio. Daher fehlen aktuell noch etliche Leute in der Branche die wirklich jahrelange Erfahrung vorweisen können.

    dearvr pro

    Man darf dabei nämlich nicht vergessen, für wen und warum wir eigentlich etwas mischen. Wollen wir eine 3D Mischung, die man seinen Kollegeninnen guten Gewissens zeigen kann (hier wäre wohl Dolby Atmos die Wahl), oder den Konsumenten erreichen (8D Audio zeigt, dass es geht). Die Wahrheit liegt wohl irgendwo dazwischen, es wird also Zeit, das Potential aus beiden Welten zu nutzen und den Mehrwert von 3D immersive Audio zu finden.

    Typische Herangehensweise ist es, 3D Audio dort zu verwenden, wo es auch schon mit Surround gut geklappt haben. Dass über tausend Kinofilme bereits immersive in Dolby Atmos gemischt wurden, ist wohl kein Geheimnis mehr. Allein diese Tatsache ist für den Sound schon beachtlich. Während man aktuell das Hörerlebnis fast ausschließlich in Kinos oder befreundeten Studios genießen kann, wird in Zukunft der dreidimensionale Mix über Soundbars bald auch im heimischen Wohnzimmer vermehrt Einzug finden. Clevere Algorithmen mit virtuellen Lautsprechern machen’s möglich.

    Oder noch einfacher: in quasi jedem Haushalt gibt es Kopfhörer, die eine dreidimensionale Audio-Wiedergabe in Form des binauralen Stereos für Konsumentinnen zugänglich machen. Man bekommt als Zuhörer immer mehr das Gefühl nicht nur einen Film zu schauen, sondern Teil des Geschehens zu sein. Mischtonmeisterinnen können sich außerdem über die bessere Transparenz freuen, da mit der spatialen Aufteilung der verschiedenen Klang Ebenen im Raum weniger Kompromisse eingegangen werden müssen, als bei Stereo.

    Historische Entwicklung und heutige Situation

    Kunstkopf-Stereofonie ist schon seit Jahrzehnten beliebtes Aufnahmeverfahren für die Wiedergabe auf Kopfhörern. Die Vision dahinter ist das möglichst realistische Abbilden der akustischen Umgebung für den Menschen.

    Vereinfacht gesagt, können damit Emotionen, Präsenzgefühle und Wahrnehmungen ausgelöst werden, die tief mit den eigenen Erfahrungen verknüpft sind – unmittelbarer, als es etwa Mono könnte, weil eine Abstraktionsebene wegfällt und für unser Gehirn leichter zu verarbeiten ist. Daher trifft es das Stichwort Immersion, also das Eintauchen in eine virtuelle Welt Umgebung, doch recht gut.

    Aktuell kommt aber wieder sehr viel Schwung in die Thematik, da Ton nun auch als dreidimensionales Ereignis für ein größeres Publikum mit Lautsprechern immer zugänglicher wird. Außerdem ploppen in den verschiedensten Bereichen zusätzliche Technologien wie Headtracker, Datenbrillen und Echtzeitrenderings auf, die uns immer realistischer den Höreindruck vermitteln, wie wir ihn aus unserer natürlichen Umwelt gewohnt sind.

    Zusammenfassung und Fazit

    Bei all dem immersiven Trubel darf man aber nicht den Blick für das große Thema immersive Film Sound verlieren. Schon jetzt schlagen die nächsten Hype-Themen auf: Künstliche Intelligenz, Blockchain, Voice Assistants, Smartspeaker etc. Was erstmal nach Buzzwords klingen, die fern von unserer Filmton-Welt liegen, handelt es sich eigentlich um ganz heiße Eisen, die man sich als Tonmeisterin mal genau anschauen sollte.

    Klingt etwas abstrakt, aber das Wunderbare am Ton ist, dass es sich um eine Querschnittstechnologie handelt, mit dem man quasi bei jedem anderen Thema andocken kann – und das geht weit über immersive Audio hinaus. Nun heißt es also, selber Macherin zu werden, seine Komfortzone zu verlassen und in ungeahntes Audio-Terrain vorzustoßen. Denn es liegt in unserer Hand, Zukunftsmusik zu gestalten und diese hat mehr als nur drei Dimensionen.

    Wie diese klingen, erfahren Sie hier! Also jetzt unverbindlich Kontakt mit Martin Rieger aufnehmen.

    Kontakt aufnehmen