IAA-Banner

IAA Mobility goes Automotive 3D Audio

07.09.2021 - 12.09.2021
Messe M√ľnchen

About the IAA Mobility: International Motor Show

Mobility is in a state of upheaval: new mobility carriers, technologies, and players are appearing on the scene. As are new forms of media consumption in the automobile. Findability, usability, and formats tailored to the usage situation in the car are topics that both media professionals and car manufacturers are dealing with. For the first time, the MedienNetzwerk Bayern will therefore be represented with a stand at the IAA Mobility.

In our VR media demonstrator we will present the interactive radio play puzzle Drive Crime, which was developed especially for the use case in the car. Drive Crime illustrates how technical developments enable new innovations in the audio sector for the automobile. The media demonstrator is a virtual reality application that leads to a realistic experience of testing content and helps media professionals to develop a better understanding of future media use in the car.

Together with XPLR: MEDIA in Bavaria, we will show at our stand how diverse the audio industry is in the media location of Bavaria and which innovative projects are currently being developed. We also have voice specialists and radio producers with us to promote the exchange between the media industry and the automotive industry and to initiate new cooperation. Here are 5 innovative use cases in the car with colleagues.

Follow-up report

After a long and exhausting day at the fair (after a break of almost two years, one is simply no longer used to the 20,000 steps), I was able to draw a small conclusion: Audio is definitely a topic and almost everyone has 3D sound on their radar. Immersion is becoming more and more important with autonomous driving in order to be able to offer drivers the best possible experience. So let’s take a look at what we heard:

Dolby Atmos Music

Admittedly, I have been somewhat critical of Apple Music lately. Mainly because it doesn’t work so well for me over headphones yet, among many other reasons.

Nevertheless, I find the car an exciting use case and find it quite positive that Dolby Atmos is used here. That’s why I was happy to be able to listen to the audio experience in the "immersive lab".

For your information: The Volvo, as seen here, is not yet available with Dolby Atmos as standard. The audio engineers have installed additional speakers and adapted them to the car. But in the future, something like this could roll off the production line.

Dolby Atmos Music Automativ 3d audio Car sound

Impulse Audio Lab

My colleagues from IAL have shown how the acoustic interior of an electric car can be brought to life. Since the engine sound is missing in comparison to the combustion engine, one can make a virtue out of necessity. Even though it is only legally prescribed to sound the exterior of a car up to about 50km/h, there are no limits to the interior.

Here, there are several approaches in one. On the one hand, a sound engine was built here that sounds very futuristic on the one hand, but on the other hand also sounds like a powerful engine noise, as one is used to. This is especially fun when driving dynamically. In contrast, there is a soundscape that develops – depending on how the accelerator pedal is pressed. This creates an immersive soundscape that is in no way comparable to classic entertainment media such as radio, music, etc.

The clue of the demo: An AI determines the driving style of the user and automatically switches to the appropriate sound. This depends on how dynamic or relaxed the driver is. The video explains the potential once again – excellently implemented. Aesthetic and functional at the same time. Click here for the video.

Flexound Augmented Audio

And last but not least, the demo seat from Flexound. They work with vibrations to augment the sound experience. To do this, they have built drivers with speakers into a seat and it has something of a pleasant massage. Now that car seats are already full of high tech, this is certainly a nice addition to the entertainment sector. They advertise relaxation on the one hand and improved perception of music and speech on the other. In any case, a fun affair, as the picture shows.

Arkamys

This French company wants to shape the future of automotive audio. They only offer software solutions. Of course, I was particularly interested in the 3D audio functionality of their soundstage. They advertise alarm sounds, for example, which are supposed to inform the driver about possible dangers via the spatial sound. A nice example of how 3D sound can be used not only to entertain, but also to provide added value.

Arkamys Automotive Audio

VRTonung is also there!

Thanks to the aforementioned media network, I get to be there too. While we have long been able to see films in 3D to experience them more immersively, we still only listen to radio, music and other audio formats in two dimensions. Martin Rieger from Munich wants to change that with his company VRTonung: He wants to use the car as a high-tech infrastructure and make 3D listening in vehicles possible via smartphones and smart speakers.

Recordings produced with 3D technology can thus transport car drivers in their minds to their favorite radio play or to an excursion on Lake Chiemsee. "In the car, much more than just voice is possible. Use cases are emerging in 3D audio that we don’t even know about yet, but which will soon become an integral part of our lives. After all, we are used to hearing in three dimensions – now also in the car," explains Martin Rieger.

Here are a few impressions from the trade fair stand:

images

Here are a few more impressions of the fair and the VR experience that I’ll leave to their own devices. I hope I was able to give all those who were not able to be there a small insight into the world of automotive audio at the IAA Mobility. Thanks again to Mediennetzwerk Bayern for letting me be there.

This website uses cookies. If you continue to visit this website, you consent to the use of cookies. You can find more about this in my Privacy policy.
Necessary cookies
Tracking
Accept selection Accept everything

IAA-Banner

IAA Mobility mit Automotive 3D Audio

07.09.2021 - 12.09.2021
Messe München

Über die IAA Mobility: Internationale Automobil-Ausstellung

Mobilität ist im Umbruch: Neue Mobilitätsträger, Technologien und Akteure treten auf den Plan, genauso wie neue Formen des Medienkonsums im Automobil. Auffindbarkeit, Bedienbarkeit und auf die Nutzungssituation im Auto zugeschnittene Formate sind Themen, mit denen sich sowohl Medienschaffende als auch Autohersteller beschäftigen. Erstmals wird das MedienNetzwerk Bayern deshalb mit einem Stand bei der IAA Mobility vertreten sein.

Wir präsentieren in unserem MediendemonstratorVR das interaktive Hörspielrätsel Drive Crime, das speziell für den Use Case im Auto entwickelt wurde. Drive Crime macht deutlich, wie technische Entwicklungen neue Innovationen im Audiobereich für das Automobil ermöglichen. Der Mediendemonstrator ist eine Virtual Reality-Anwendung, die zu einer realistischen Erfahrung beim Testen von Inhalten führt und Medienschaffenden hilft, ein besseres Verständnis für die künftige Mediennutzung im Fahrzeug zu entwickeln.

Gemeinsam mit XPLR: MEDIA in Bavaria zeigen wir an unserem Stand, wie vielfältig die Audio-Branche am Medienstandort Bayern ist und welche innovativen Projekte aktuell entwickelt werden. Mit im Gepäck haben wir außerdem Voice-Spezialist:innen und Radiomacher:innen, um den Austausch zwischen Medienbranche und Automobilbranche zu fördern und neue Kooperationen anzustoßen. Hier gibt es 5 innovative Use-Cases im Auto mit den KollegInnen.

VRTonung ist auch dabei!

Dank dem oben erwähnten Mediennetzwerk darf ich auch dabei sein. Während wir Filme längst schon in 3D sehen können, um sie immersiver zu erleben, hören wir Radio, Musik und andere Audioformate weiterhin nur zweidimensional. Das will Martin Rieger aus München mit seiner Firma VRTonung ändern: Er will das Auto als High-Tech-Infrastruktur nutzen und über Smartphone und Smartspeaker 3D-Hören in Fahrzeugen möglich machen.

Mit der 3D-Technologie produzierte Aufnahmen können Autofahrende so in Gedanken ins Lieblingshörspiel oder an einen Ausflug auf dem Chiemsee versetzen. „Im Auto geht viel mehr als bloß Voice. In 3D-Audio entstehen gerade Use-Cases, von denen man noch gar nichts weiß, die aber bald fester Bestandteil unseres Lebens werden. Wir sind ja schließlich gewohnt, dreidimensional zu hören – nun auch im Auto”, erklärt Martin Rieger.

Hier ein paar Eindrücke vom Messestand

Nachbericht

Nach einem langen und anstrengenden Messetage (nach knapp zwei Jahren Pause ist man die 20.000 Schritte einfach nicht mehr gewöhnt) konnte ich ein kleines Fazit ziehen: Audio ist auf jeden Fall ein Thema und fast jeder hat auch den 3D Sound auf dem Schirm. Immersion wird mit autonomen fahren immer wichtiger, um den FahrerInnen das bestmögliche Erlebnis bieten zu können. Dann schauen wir mal, was es so zu hören gab:

Dolby Atmos Music

Zugegeben, ich habe mich in letzter etwas kritisch über Apple Music geäußert. V.a. weil es für mich über Kopfhörer noch nicht so gut funktioniert neben vielen anderen Gründen.

Trotzdem finde ich das Auto einen spannenden Anwendungsfall und finde es durchaus positive, dass Dolby Atmos hier genutzt wird. Daher war ich froh, mir das Hörerlebnise im "immersive lab" auch anhören zu können.

Zu Information: Den Volvo, wie man ihn hier sieht, gibt es noch nicht serienmäßig mit Dolby Atmos. Hier haben die Audio Engineure zusätzliche Lautsprecher verbaut und auf das Auto angepasst. Aber in Zukunft könnte so etwas auch mal vom Band rollen.

Dolby Atmos Music Automativ 3d audio Car sound

Impulse Audio Lab

Mein KollegInnen von IAL haben gezeigt, wie man das akustische Innenleben eines Elektroautos zum Leben erwecken kann. Nachdem der Motorsound ja im Vergleich zum Verbrenner wegfehlt, kann man aus der Not ja eine Tugend machen. Auch wenn es gesetzlich nur vorgegeben ist, den Außenbereich eines Autos bis etwa 50km/h zu beschallen, sind dem Innenraum keine Grenzen gesetzt.

Hier gibt es gleich mehrere Ansätze in einem. Zum einen, wurde hier eine Soundengine gebaut, die einerseits sehr futuristisch, andererseits auch nach einem mächtigen Motorgeräusch klingt, wie man diesen gewohnt ist. Dieser macht vor allem bei einer dynamischen Fahrweise Spaß. Im Gegensatz dazu steht eine Soundscape, die sich – je nach Betätigung des Gaspedals – entwickelt. Damit entsteht eine immersive Klangwelt, die in keinem Vergleich zu klassischen Unterhaltungsmedien wie Radio, Musik etc. steht.

Der Clue der Demo: Eine AI ermittelt die Fahrweise des Nutzers und schaltet automatisch auf den passenden Klang um. Also je nachdem wie dynamisch oder entspannt gefahren wird. Das Video erklärt noch einmal das Potential – hervorragend umgesetzt. Ästhetisch und gleichzeitig funktional. Hier geht es zum Video.

Flexound Augmented Audio

Und zu guter Letzt noch der Demo-Sitz von Flexound. Sie arbeiten mit Vibrationen, um das Klangerlebnis zu erweitern. Dazu haben sie Treiber mit Lautsprechern in einen Sitz eingebaut und es hat etwas von einer angenehmen Massage. Nachdem Autositze mittlerweile schon voller Hightech sind, ist dies sicherlich eine nette Ergänzung für den Entertainment Sektor. Sie werben mit einer Entspannung auf der einen Seite und verbesserter Wahrnehmung von Musik und Sprache. Auf jeden Fall eine spaßige Angelegenheit, wie das Bild zeigt.

Arkamys

Diese französische Firma, möchte die Zukunft des Automotive Audio gestalten. Dabei bieten sie ausschließlich Softwarelösungen an. Mich hat natürlich v.a. die 3D Audio Funktionialität ihrer Soundstage interessiert. Sie werben etwa mit Alarm Tönen, die dem Fahrerüber den Raumklang Informatoinen über mögliche Gefahren geben soll. Ein schönes Beispiel, wie 3D-Sound genutzt werden kann, um nicht nur zu unterhalten, sondern auch einen Mehrwert zu bieten.

Arkamys Automotive Audio

Bilder

Hier noch ein paar Eindrücke von der Messe und dess VR-Erlebnissen die ich einfach mal für sich stehen lasse. Ich hoffe ich konnte allen, die nicht dabei sein konnten einen kleinen Einblicik in die Welt des Automotive Audio der IAA Mobility geben. Danke nochmal ans Mediennetzwerk Bayern, dass ich dabei sein konnte.