airpods pro
NewsOverview

All Apps with Spatial 3D Audio – Apple AirPods Pro, Galaxy Buds Pro and more!

Content

    Since the establishment of VR glasses as serious playback devices in the entertainment industry, head tracking technology has found a wide range of applications.

    That the potential of 360° sound is far from exhausted can be seen in the latest developments in the field of spatial audio. With the introduction of head tracking enabled headphones and pods, the two big players Apple and Samsung are taking a giant step towards establishing 3D audio in the consumer market – out of its niche existence.

    The following article will give an overview of the currently most important apps for the playback of spatial audio via handheld devices such as smartphones and tablets.

    Update

    • 21/04: M1 MNTR CTRL (Mach1 Spatial) has been added to the list of apps for Apple Airpods Pro and Bose AR.
    • 21/06: Sony WF-1000XM4 true wireless headphones for 360 audio reality added.
    • 21/08: Netflix now supports Spatial Audio with Airpods Pro

    Headphones with tracking like a VR headset

    First of all, I think it’s important to lay out the basic way these applications work. Not just from a technological perspective, but from a conceptual one. This is to prevent the ‘wrong’ use of this technology and accompanying disappointments.

    Also, the terminology surrounding immersive audio technology is currently being thrown around wildly. Apple talks about 3D spatial audio with dynamic head tracking. Samsung talks about a 360 audio function with an intelligent motion-tracking sensor. Bose AR even talked about Augmented Audio Reality (ARR) back then.

    But everyone is ultimately talking about immersive, cinema-like surround sound that detects the direction of the headphones’ gaze. A spoiler directly related to the topic of movies: the manufacturers currently activate the function almost exclusively in combination with moving images. However, there are great applications that also work without pictures, for example 3D podcasts and audio plays. Or immersive 3d music with Dolby Atmos that I will talk about later.

    Head tracking: the dynamic head movement

    For head tracking to work in terms of freedom of movement in a virtual sound scene, a reference point is needed. Additionally to the audio device, this framework is provided by the smartphone or tablet. The headphones, therefore, know from the position of the playback device from which direction the sounds should come.

    But be careful, this does not mean that the sound only comes from the direction of the cell phone; as just mentioned, this only serves to calibrate the sound scene. This way you can make sure that, for example, sounds that should come from the left really do come from the left.

    Technology is fun … when it works

    The crucial aspect for using said headphones is the software, i.e. the smartphone apps and the right operating system. Even if standard headphones are sufficient for a static, spatial 3D audio impression. For head tracking, it must be ensured that the corresponding apps also support spatial audio.

    In the use case, these are mostly various streaming platforms. During my research, I had the feeling in some user reports that it is not always clear that there has to be compatibility here. To avoid such discrepancies for the loyal reader of this blog, the following should provide clarity about the hardware and software components. So that nothing stands in the way of a 3D audio experience.

    Spatial Audio for Apple from the Appstore

    Apple pioneered spatial audio with head tracking for handheld devices with the introduction of the AirPods Pro and AirPods Max. With Apple, surround sound formats like 5.1 and 7.1, as well as Dolby Atmos, are supported. However, this does not mean that every streaming provider that offers surround sound or Atmos is also compatible with Apple. The following video gives a short overview of the AirPods Pro. It gets interesting starting at 0:57.

    Hardware and software requirements

    Apart from the streaming services, the hardware and operating system must also be right. In terms of hardware, you need an iPhone 7 or newer, or an iPad. Also, the operating system iOS 14 or iPadOS 14 is required, but how the technical requirements look in detail you can read here.

    User Experience Apple 3D Audio

    It’s always a bit difficult to describe how the sound sounds. Regardless, here a short conclusion from my perspective as a spatial audio engineer:

    • The dynamic head detection works well and has an imperceptible latency. This is despite Bluetooth a positive surprise.
    • The usability is very good. You know immediately from the icons whether the function is activated. There even is a small demo to get hooked. If an app supports head tracking, this is also visually reinforced. Samsung has to improve this, but more later.
    • If 3D audio is enabled, the loudness is increased a bit. In addition, the sound is given an artificial room with even more reverb. This might be critical for the sound engineer, but good for the consumer.
    • Although the AirPods Pro sit in the listening channel, the impression of envelopment seems successful. You have the feeling that the sound comes from outside the earphones. The so-called externalization is thus good.
    airpods pro

    Overview of compatible apps for AirPods Pro and AirPods Max

    App Description
    Air Video HD The app that lets you stream your own videos from your Mac or MacBook to your phone or tablet supports Spatial Audio.
    Apple TV App The in-house streaming service offers a wide range of movies and series in Spatial Audio formats.
    Discovery+ The streaming service for friends of non-fictional entertainment also offers Spatial Audio content in combination with AirPods.
    Disney+ Disney Plus also offers spatial audio experiences in combination with AirPods, for example with the blockbuster Avengers: Endgame or the hit series The Mandalorian.
    File Explorer This data management app works like a cloud and thus allows data playback on different devices. For audiovisual content, Spatial Audio formats are supported, and was able to successfully create a 5.1 surround demo as a video
    Foxtel Go The Australian Internet TV service, which offers some live channels as well as some video-on-demand content, also works with Apple’s Spatial Audio feature.
    HBO Max The video-on-demand service provider HBO Max also uses Spatial Audio support.
    Hulu The now very popular streaming provider Hulu offers content in the Dolby Digital Plus 5.1 surround sound format supported by Apple.
    Plex Plex is a client-server media playback system that can access different content like video, audio, and photos. For the Spatial Audio feature to work here, "Old Video Player" must be enabled in the preferences.
    Peacock The streaming service Peacock also uses spatial audio content.
    Paramount+ The recently renamed streaming service from CBS All Access to Paramount Plus also supports Apple’s Spatial Audio feature.
    Vudu The video-on-demand service provider offers content in Apple-supported spatial audio formats Dolby Digital Plus 5.1 Surround Sound and Dolby Atmos.
    Spatial Scenes The Spatial Scenes app offers a variety of spatial soundscapes. Designed for the iPad, the app also supports spatial audio playback via AirPods.
    Tidal The premium music streaming service Tidal offers high-resolution music in stereo as well as some tracks mixed in 3D audio (see Music Streaming Blog). Corresponding songs are also supported by Apple.
    Netflix Actually, Netflix doesn’t belong on this list (yet?). Earlier this year, the rumor emerged that Netflix and Apple were working on 3D audio support for the AirPods. However, this has since been revised again. Update 21/08: Now the time has come, 3D Audio is slowly being rolled out by Apple. Dolby Atmos already provided the basis as I saw coming, yeah!
    M1 MNTR CTRL Mach1 Spatial enables head-tracking for Apple wearables and Bose AR
    Apple Airpods Max

    360 Audio for Samsung from Google Playstore

    Shortly after Apple’s AirPods, Samsung sent the Galaxy Buds Pro into the race. They are using Dolby Head Tracking technology (TM). What is Spatial Audio for Apple is 360 Audio for Samsung – two terms for the same concept.

    However, the devil is in the details. Currently, the Spatial Audio works automatically with every video. This means that even if the video only contains mono or stereo sound, the sound is artificially virtualized. Thus, you can hear the sound clearly directed from the cell phone. But it’s not an immersive, enveloping sound like the Apple Airpods manage. So it doesn’t benefit from multi-channel surround – or 3D sound. Which is a pitty that I feel like will be fixed in the future.

    Of course, to take advantage of this technology in the first place, the hardware and software have to be right. 360 Audio works on Samsung Galaxy phones and tablets with the latest One UI 3.1 operating system. How to listen to the 360 Audio function can be found here.

    The feature was initially announced exclusively for new models like the Galaxy S21. However, shortly after, the new operating system was also rolled out for my S10 and I can now also listen to media in 360 audio.

    Youtube, Facebook, LinkedIn, etc.?

    As mentioned, the Galaxy Buds do not enable 3D audio in the sense of 360° sound. The general advantage of this approach is that sound virtualization works with all sound sources. Thus, the function is activated as soon as audio or video content is consumed on Facebook, LinkedIn, YouTube, or wherever.

    For example, I was on my phone listening to a podcast and scrolling through social media. As soon as a video popped up in my news feed, the 360 audio automatically activated. Then I heard the podcast suddenly switching from stereo to spatial audio. As well as the video that was then spatialized playing simultaneously. This is a good way to hear what the function does with media in the first place.

    However, there is a good chance that this will be improved. Basically, the Galaxy Buds Pro have the same hardware like the Apple Airpods. The platforms also usually use Dolby Atmos or comparable multi-channel audio formats in the backend. So, we can be curious.

    airpods pro

    Apps with 3D audio but without head tracking

    Although the focus of this article is on head tracking, a few more apps should be mentioned here that do not support head tracking, but can still provide immersive listening experiences.

    This is the soft entry into immersive 3D audio, for all standard stereo headphones. The sound here is binaural, accessible for everybody.

    Headspace

    This app offers guided meditations and mindfulness exercises. Also, there are sound worlds with 3D recordings of the "most beautiful places in the world". e.g. stream, rain, mountain stream, forests, oceans, and so on.

    Unfortunately, the recordings are huge files with 45-500 minutes. So most of the time 800MB have to be downloaded first, which definitely gets in the way of relaxation.

    Synctuition

    Similar to Headspace, Synctuition is an app for relaxation and meditation. But here they didn’t just use dummy head recordings for the binaural sound. Music was also added and mixed into the space using spatialization tools.

    So an entire sound experience was created and combined with binaural beats, which I will take a closer look at at some point. These audio experiences take 25 minutes and also a significant loading time. This could also be done better. But we are getting there.

    Audible Reality

    Audible Reality offers the possibility to play stereo music, for example via Spotify, in a different spatial context. The music is played in a virtual space, which is called "vibes" in the app. The whole thing is reminiscent of the YouTube hype around 8D Audio. Similar sound colorations can be found here, such as bass-boosted music.

    I think the sound personalization aspect is great, but unfortunately, the stereo suffers a lot here. Phasing artifacts can be heard. Sonarworks’ approach with Sound-ID is better thought out here.

    Waves NX

    Even though we’ve just ticked off the topic of head tracking, there’s a little oddball. The audio software manufacturer has its own app that can be combined with any headphones. So you can not only connect the hardware head tracker with the computer. Via Bluetooth, this is ready for use with the smartphone.

    Finally, you can listen to music or your own audio in the app. Matching the Nx Virtual Mixing Room, the stereo sound now sounds as if you were sitting in Abbey Road Studio 3. However, multi-channel 5.1 surround sound has not been implemented here, as it is in the DAW plugin.

    There are even dedicated headphones that have the head tracker built into the device. The Audeze Mobius 3D Headphones. So in principle, exactly what Apple did with the Airpods Max – only years later 😉

    Artist Connection

    Here, too, a small special role for Sony 360 Reality Audio. Again, the idea is to immerse and directly dive into the sound. More precisely into music, because here artists are also in the foreground. This is produced with Sony 360RA ‘s own tools, the Creative Suite, as it is also used on TIDAL. There are also dedicated headphones here to further enhance the sound experience: The Sony 1000XM2, wireless headphones with noise canceling. Or the Sony WF-1000XM4 in-ears true wireless headphones.

    Music streaming services

    Meanwhile, some music streaming platforms offer music in Dolby Atmos or 360 Reality Audio. Here, we would like to refer to this blog entry.

    Recap and action!

    As you can see, there are now really many ways to enjoy spatial audio content. Fortunately, most of the already very popular streaming services recognize the potential of immersive listening experiences. Hopefully, head tracking compatible headphones will find favor. Because in combination with the streaming hype, this could be the biggest chance yet for 3D audio to finally find its rightful recognition in the market!

    But the right technology also needs the right content. No matter whether Apple Airpods-Pro or Samsung Galaxy Buds-Pro. Up to now, existing material has often been "converted" into corresponding spatial audio formats, or upmixed.

    But the true potential of spatial audio lies in creating content specifically to get the best out of the technology with creativity. And that’s exactly my job here at VRTonung, if you want to learn more about it or even already have ideas in mind, don’t hesitate to get in touch!

    Get in touch more 3D audio for everyone


    This website uses cookies. If you continue to visit this website, you consent to the use of cookies. You can find more about this in my Privacy policy.
    Necessary cookies
    Tracking
    Accept selection Accept everything

airpods pro
NewsOverview

Alle Apps mit Spatial 3D Audio – Apple AirPods Pro, Galaxy Buds Pro und mehr!

Inhalt

    Spätestens seit der Etablierung von VR-Brillen als ernstzunehmende Wiedergabegeräte in der Unterhaltungsindustrie hat die Head Tracking Technologie einen großen Anwendungsbereich gefunden.

    Dass das Potential von 360° Sound noch lange nicht erschöpft ist, lässt sich an den neuesten Entwicklungen im Spatial Audio Bereich erahnen. Mit der Einführung von Head Tracking – fähigen Kopfhörer bzw. Pods machen die beiden Big Player Apple und Samsung einen gewaltigen Schritt in Richtung der Etablierung von 3D Audio am Konsumenten Markt – heraus vom Nischendasein.

    Der Folgende Artikel soll einen Überblick über die aktuell wichtigsten Apps zur Wiedergabe von Spatial Audio über Handheld Devices wie Smartphones und Tablets geben.

    Update

    • 21/04: M1 MNTR CTRL (Mach1 Spatial) wurde zur Liste der Apps für Apple Airpods Pro und Bose AR ergänzt

    Wenn Kopfhörer das Tracking der VR-Brille ersetzen

    Ich finde es zunächst wichtig, die grundsätzliche Funktionsweise dieser Anwendungen darzulegen, nicht nur aus technologischer, sondern aus konzeptueller Sicht. Das soll die ‘falsche’ Nutzung dieser Technologie vorbeugen und damit auch einhergehende Enttäuschungen.

    Außerdem werden aktuell Begrifflichkeiten um die Spatial Audio Technologie wild durcheinander geworfen. Apple spricht von 3D-Audio mit dynamischer Kopferfassung. Samsung von einer 360 Audio Funktion mit smartem Bewegungsmelder. Bose AR sprach sogar von Augmented Audio Reality (ARR).

    Doch alle reden letztendlich von einem immersiven, kino ähnlichen Surround-Sound, der die Blickrichtung der Kopfhörer erkennt. Passend zum Thema Filme direkt ein Spoiler: die Hersteller aktivieren die Funktion aktuell fast ausschließlich in Kombination mit Bewegtbild. Dabei gibt es tolle Anwendungen, die auch ohne Bildanteil funktionieren, beispielsweise 3D Podcasts und Hörspiele. Oder immersive 3d Music mit Dolby Atmos auf die ich später eingehen werde.

    Head-Tracking: die dynamische Kopfbewegung

    Damit das Head-Tracking in Bezug auf die Bewegungsfreiheit in einer virtuellen Klang-Szenerie funktioniert, braucht es neben den passenden Kopfhörern einen Bezugspunkt. Diesen stellt das Handy oder Tablet dar. Die Kopförer wissen also anhand der Position des Abspielgeräts aus welcher Richtung die Sounds kommen sollen.

    Aber Achtung, das bedeutet nicht, dass der Sound nur aus der Richtung des Handys kommt, dieses dient, wie eben erwähnt, nur zur Kalibrierung der Klangszene. So kann sichergestellt werden, dass beispielsweise Klänge die von links kommen sollen auch wirklich von links kommen.

    Spaß macht Technik, wenn sie auch funktioniert

    Der entscheidende Aspekt zur Nutzung von besagten Kopfhörern ist die Software, also die Smartphone Apps und das richtige Betriebssystem. Auch wenn für einen statischen, räumlichen 3D Audio Eindruck handelsübliche Kopfhörer reichen. Für Headtracking muss gewährleistet sein, dass die entsprechenden Apps ebenfalls Spatial Audio unterstützen.

    Im Usecase sind das größtenteils diverse Streaming-Plattformen. Bei meiner Recherche hatte ich nämlich bei manchen User-Berichten das Gefühl, dass es nicht immer klar ist, dass es hier eine Kompatibilität geben muss. Damit dem/der treuen LeserIn dieses Blogs solche Diskrepanzen ausbleiben, soll im Folgenden Klarheit über die Hardware- und Software-Komponenten geschaffen werden, damit einem 3D Audio-Erlebnis nichts mehr im Wege steht.

    Spatial Audio für Apple vom Appstore

    Apple war mit der Einführung der AirPods Pro und der AirPods Max Vorreiter in Sachen Spatial Audio mit Head Tracking für Handheld Devices. Bei Apple werden Surround Sound Formate wie 5.1 und 7.1, sowie Dolby Atmos unterstützt. Allerdings heißt das nicht, dass jeder Streaming-Anbieter der Surround Sound oder Atmos anbietet auch kompatibel mit Apple ist. Einen kleinen Überblick die AirPods Pro gibt im folgenden Video, interessant wird es ab 0:57.

    Hardware und Software Anforderungen

    Abgesehn von den Streaming-Services muss auch die Hardware und das Betriebssystem stimmen. In Sachen Hardware benötigt man ein iPhone 7 oder neuer, oder ein iPad. Zudem ist das Betriebssystem iOS 14 bzw. iPadOS 14 erforderlich, doch wie die technischen Anforderungen im Detail aussehen erfährst du hier.

    User Experience Apple 3D Audio

    Es immer etwas schwierig ist, zu beschreiben, wie Ton klingt. Trotzdem ein kurzes Fazit aus meiner Tonmeister Sicht:

    • Die dynamische Kopferfassung funktioniert gut und hat eine nicht wahrnehmbare Latenz,. Das trotz Bluetooth.
    • Die Usability ist sehr gelungen. Man weiß anhand der Symbole sofort, ob die Funktion aktiviert ist und hat ein kleines Demo. Unterstützt eine App das Headtracking wird auch das visuell verstärkt. Hier muss Samsung nachlegen, doch später mehr.
    • Wird 3D-Audio aktiviert, wird die Lautheit etwas erhöht. Außerdem wird der Ton zusätzlich mit einem künstlichen Raum mit noch mehr Hallanteil versetzt. Das mag für den Tonmeister kritisch sein, für den Konsumenten aber gut
    • Obwohl die AirPods Pro im Hörkanal sitzen, wirkt der Eindruck der Räumlichkeit gelungen. Man hat das Gefühl, der Ton kommt von außerhalb der Ohrhörer. Die sogenannte Externalisierung ist also gut.
    airpods pro

    Überblick der kompatiblen Apps für AirPods Pro und AirPods Max

    App Beschreibung
    Air Video HD Die App mit der man eigene Videos vom Mac oder MacBook auf das Handy bzw. das Tablet streamen kann unterstützt Spatial Audio.
    Apple TV App Der Hauseigene Streaming-Service bietet eine Vielzahl an Filmen und Serien in Spatial Audio Formaten.
    Discovery+ Der Streaming-Service für Freunde nicht-fiktionaler Unterhaltung bietet in Kombinationen mit den AirPods ebenfalls Spatial Audio Inhalte.
    Disney+ Auch Disney Plus bietet in Kombination mit den AirPods räumliche Klangerlebnisse, beispielsweise beim Blockbuster Avengers: Endgame oder der Erfolgsserie The Mandalorian.
    File Explorer Diese Daten-Management App funktioniert wie eine Cloud und lässt somit die Daten-Wiedergabe auf unterschiedlichen Geräten zu. Für Audiovisuelle Inhalte werden dabei Spatial Audio Formate unterstützt, und konnte damit erfolgreich ein 5.1 Surround Demo als Video erstellen
    Foxtel Go Der australische Internetfernsehdienst der neben einigen Live-Kanälen auch einige Video-On-Demand Inhalte bietet, funktioniert ebenfalls mit Apples Spatial Audio Funktion.
    HBO Max Auch der Video-On-Demand Dienstleister HBO Max setzt auf Spatial Audio Unterstützung.
    Hulu Die mittlerweile sehr gefragte Streaming-Anbieter Hulu bietet Inhalte im von Apple unterstützten Dolby Digital Plus 5.1 Surround Sound Format an.
    Plex Plex ist ein Client-Server-Medienabspielsystem welches auf verschiedene Inhalte wie Video, Audio und Fotos zugreifen kann. Damit die Spatial Audio Funktion hier funktioniert muss bei den Voreinstellungen “Old Video Player” aktiviert werden.
    Peacock Der Streaming-Dienst Peacock setzt ebenfalls auf räumliche Audioinhalte.
    Paramount+ Auch der erst vor kurzem von CBS All Access zu Paramount Plus umbenannte Streaming-Dienst unterstützt Apples Spatial Audio Feature.
    Vudu Der Video-On-Demand Dienstleister bietet Inhalte in den von Apple unterstützten Spatial Audio Formaten Dolby Digital Plus 5.1 Surround Sound und Dolby Atmos an.
    Spatial Scenes Die Spatial Scenes App bietet eine Vielzahl an räumlichen Soundscapes. Die für das iPad konzipierte App unterstützt ebenfalls die räumliche Audiowiedergabe über AirPods.
    Tidal Der Premium-Musikstreaming-Dienst Tidal bietet neben hochauflösender Musik in Stereo auch einige in 3D Audio gemischte Titel an (siehe Musikstreaming Blog). Entsprechende Songs werden auch von Apple unterstützt.
    Netflix Eigentlich gehört Netflix (noch?) nicht in diese Liste. Anfang des Jahres kam das Gerücht auf, dass Netflix und Apple an einer Unterstützung von 3D Audio für die AirPods arbeiten. Mittlerweile ist dieses jedoch wieder revidiert. Doch möglich wäre es mit Dolby Atmos, dazu später mehr
    M1 MNTR CTRL Mach1 Spatial aktiviert das head-tracking für Apple Geräte and Bose AR
    Apple Airpods Max

    360 Audio für Samsung aus dem Google Playstore

    Kurz nach den AirPods von Apple schickte Samsung die Galaxy Buds Pro ins Rennen. Diese nutzen Dolby Head Tracking Technologie (TM). Was für Apple Spatial Audio ist, ist für Samsung 360 Audio – zwei Begriffe für das gleiche Konzept.

    Dennoch steckt der Teufel im Detail. Aktuell funktioniert das Spatial Audio nämlich automatisch bei jedem Video. Heißt, selbst wenn das Video nur Mono oder Stereo sound enthält, wird der Ton künstlich virtualisiert. Damit hört man den Ton zwar deutlich vom Handy gerichtet. Aber es ist kein immersiver, einhüllender Ton, wie es die Apple Airpods schaffen. Es werden also nicht die Vorteile von mehrkanaligem Surround – oder 3D Sound genutzt.

    Um diese Technologie erst einmal nutzen zu können, muss natürlich Hardware und Software stimmen. 360 Audio funktioniert bei Samsung Galaxy Handys und Tablets mit dem neuesten Betriebssystem One UI 3.1. Wie die 360 Audio Funktion der Galaxy Buds Pro verwendet werden kann, findet sich hier beschrieben.

    Das Feature wurde zunächste ausschließlich für die neuen Modelle wie dem Galaxy S21 angekündigt. Doch kurz darauf, wurde das neue Betriebssystem auch für mein S10 ausgerollt und kann nun mitreden.

    Youtube, Facebook, LinkedIn und Co.?

    Wie erwähnt ermöglichen die Galaxy Buds kein 3D Audio im Sinne einer 360° Beschallung. Der Vorteil dieser Technologie ist wiederum, dass diese Klangvirtualisierung mit sämtlichen Schallquellen funktioniert. So aktiviert sich die Funktion sobald man etwa auf Facebook, LinkedIn, Youtube, oder wo auch immer Audio- bzw. Videocontent konsumiert.

    Ich habe zum Beispiel auf meinem Handy einen Podcast gehört und durch die sozialen Medien gescrollt. Sobald ein Video in meinem Newsfeed auftauchte, wurde das 360 Audio automatisch aktiviert. Dannist zu hören, wie der Podcast plötzlich von Stereo auf Spatial Audio umschaltet. Außerdem wurde das Video nun spatializiert und gleichzeitig abgespielt. So lässt sich gut hören, was die Funktion überhaupt mit Medien macht.

    Die Chancen stehen aber gut, dass hier nachgebessert wird. Grundsätzlich haben die Galaxy Buds Pro die nötige Hardware verbaut, wie sie auch die Apple Airpods verwenden. Auch die Plattformen nutzen im Backend meist schon Dolby Atmos oder vergleichbare, mehrkanalige Audioformate. Wir können also gespannt sein.

    airpods pro

    Apps mit 3D Audio aber ohne Head-Tracking

    Zwar liegt der Fokus dieses Artikels beim Head-Tracking, jedoch sollen an dieser Stelle noch ein paar weitere Apps erwähnt werden, die zwar kein Head Tracking unterstützen, aber trotzdem für immersive Hörerlebnisse sorgen können.

    Das ist der sanfte Einstieg in das immersive 3D Audio, für alle handelsüblichen Stereo Kopfhörer. Der Ton ist hier nämlich binaural und damit für alle zugänglich.

    Headspace

    Diese App bietet geführte Meditationen und Achtsamkeitsübungen an. Zusätzlich gibt es Klangwelten mit 3D-Aufnahmen der "schönsten Orte der Welt". z.B. Bachlauf, Regen, Gebirgsbach, Wälder, Meere und so weiter.

    Leider sind die Aufnahmen mit 45-500 Minuten riesige Dateien. So müssen meist erst einmal 800MB heruntergeladen werden, was der Entspannung durchaus im Weg steht.

    Synctuition

    Ähnlich wie Headspace ist Synctuition eine App zur Entspannung und Meditation. Doch hier wurde nicht nur mit Kunstkopf Aufnahmen für den binauralen Ton gearbeitet. Es wurde auch Musik ergänzt und mit Spatialisierungs Tools in den Raum gemischt.

    So wurde eine gesamte Sound-Experience geschaffen und mit binaural Beats kombiniert, welche ich noch einmal genauer unter die Lupe nehmen werde. Diese Audio Experiences sind mit 25 Minuten und auch einer nicht unerheblichen Ladezeit verbunden. Auch dies könnte man besser machen. Aber da kommen wir noch hin.

    Audible Reality

    Audible Reality bietet die Möglichkeit Stereo-Musik, beispielsweise über Spotify, in einem anderen räumlichen Kontext wiederzugeben. Die Musik wird in einem virtuellen Raum abgespielt, die in der App als Vibes bezeichnet werden. Das ganze erinnert an den YouTube Hype um 8D Audio. Hier sind ähnliche Klangverfärbungen zu finden wie etwa Bass-Boosted Musik.

    Ich finde den Aspekt der Klang Personalisierung super, nur leider leidet hier das Stereo sehr darunter. Es sind phasing-Artefakte zu hören. Hier ist der Ansatz von Sonarworks mit Sound-ID besser durchdacht.

    Waves NX

    Auch wenn wir das Thema Headtracking gerade abgehakt haben, gibt es einen kleinen Sonderling. Der Audio Software Hersteller hat mit einer eigenen App eine Möglichkeit im Angebot, die sich mit jedem Kopfhörer kombinieren lässt. Man kann also den Hardware Headtracker nicht nur mit dem Computer verbinden. Über Bluetooth ist dieser auf mit dem Smartphone einsatzbereit.

    In der App kann man schließlich Musik oder eigenes Audio anhören. Passend zum Nx Virtual Mixing Room, klingt der Stereo Ton nun so, als würde man im Abbey Road Studio 3 sitzen. Leider wurde aber hier nicht der mehrkanalige 5.1 Surround Sound implementiert, wie es beim DAW plugin der Fall ist.

    Es gibt sogar eigene Kopfhörer, die den Headtracker im Gerät verbaut haben. Die Audeze Mobius 3D Headphones. Vom Prinzip also genau das, was Apple mit den Airpods Max gemacht hat – nur Jahre später 😉

    Artist Connection

    Auch hier eine kleine Sonderrolle von Sony 360 Reality Audio. Auch hier ist die Idee, immersive und direkt in den Sound einzutauchen. Genau genommen in Musik, denn hier stehen auch Künstler im Vordergrund. Dieser produzieren mit den eigenen Tools von Sony 360RA, der Creative Suite, wie sie auch auf TIDAL genutzt wird. Auch hier gibt es eigene Kopfhörer, die das Klangerlebnis weiter verbessern sollen: Die Sony 1000XM2, kabellose Kopfhörer mit Noise Cancelling.

    Musik-Streaming Dienste

    Mittlerweile bieten einige Musik-Streaming Plattformen Musik in Dolby Atmos oder 360 Reality Audio an. Hier sei auf diesen Blogeintrag verwiesen.

    Rekapitulation und Action!

    Wie man sieht gibt es mittlerweile wirklich viele Möglichkeiten Spatial Audio Inhalte zu genießen. Glücklicherweise erkennen die meisten ohnehin sehr populären Streaming-Dienste das Potential von immersiven Hörerlebnissen. Es bleibt zu hoffen, dass die Head Tracking kompatiblen Kopfhörer auf Anklang stoßen. Denn in Kombination mit dem Streaming-Hype könnte das die bisher größte Chance für 3D Audio sein endlich die berechtigte Anerkennung am Markt zu finden!

    Die richtige Technologie braucht aber auch die richtigen Inhalte. Egal ob Apple Airpods-Pro oder Samsung Galaxy-Buds-Pro. Bisher wird oft schon bestehendes Material in entsprechende räumliche Audioformate “umgewandelt”, bzw Upmixing betrieben.

    Das wahre Potential von Spatial Audio liegt aber darin, Inhalte speziell zu erstellen, um mit Kreativität das beste aus der Technologie zu holen. Und genau das ist meine Aufgabe hier bei VRTonung, wenn du darüber mehr erfahren willst oder sogar schon konkrete Ideen im Kopf hast, zögere nicht Kontakt aufzunehmen!

    Kontakt aufnehmen mehr erfahren


    Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Wenn Sie diese Webseite weiterhin besuchen, stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies zu. Mehr dazu finden Sie in meiner Datenschutzerklärung.
    Notwendige Cookies
    Tracking
    Auswahl speichern Alles akzeptieren