Sounds of Germany

Sounds of Germany (immersive 3D Audio online marketing campaign)

Together with the German National Tourist Board (GNTB), funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy, I developed the concept in advance, took over the shooting on location, and then the complete post-production of the five videos. All this for the Sounds of Germany. It is exactly these projects that drive me forward: making 3D audio content available to a broad audience. To exhaust the technical possibilities and to enter new creative territory.

Here you can find the campaign: https://mp.secretescapes.com/uk/2020/germany/

Later, the individual videos will be available on social media.

About the project

First the question in the area: How can an immersive online campaign for destination marketing with 3D audio look at all. And, of course, what do the Sounds of Germany sound like? Four videos of about two minutes were planned, covering four cities and additionally a trailer for Germany as a whole. Since 2020 is the year of Beethoven’s 250th anniversary, this year the focus should be on the sound.

Concept and starting position

After viewing the already produced videos of the tourism industry, I came to the conclusion. The moving image looks like beautiful, but the soundtracks are not much more than stock music. Therefore the concept was born to collect sounds as an immersive tourist, which complement each other to a beat during the video. As if that wasn’t challenging enough, I wanted to reinterpret one of four Beethoven symphonies at the end. And the whole thing in 3D audio.

Sound of Germany in 3D Audio

Approaching Spatial Sound

Thanks to my experience in this area, I know that 3D audio works especially well with the right moving pictures. Even if 360° video or similar formats are exciting for spatial sound, it should be as simple as possible and reach as many people as possible. Because you can assume that every household has this audio device at home: headphones. That’s how easy it can be to make immersive 3D audio accessible at home.

Requirements for the moving pictures

But this also created new demands on the video content. Therefore we decided to shoot the whole material from the ego perspective. This makes it easy for storytelling to explain why the sound is three-dimensional in the first place. In addition, exciting interactions with hands can be created, which not only produce sounds that are important for the resulting beat. Because protagonists in the true sense of the word should not be the focus, but the cities themselves. Thanks to the POV view, viewers can also feel their way better into the immersive journey – even without VR glasses, comfortably from home.

Sounds Of Germany Sennheiser Momentum Wireless

Coordination the topics of the different videos

The four destination partners, Stuttgart, Leipzig, Düsseldorf, and Berlin must of course be treated equally. Therefore, the clips all start similarly with putting on the headphones. The creative idea behind this is also that the sound jumps from stereo to 3D audio so that the user can directly hear the difference from conventional movie picture soundtracks. In the trailer, however, no city should be immediately recognizable, but rather typical German pictures and sounds should be heard.

The cities should also not be too similar and should stand for themselves. Drone shots, epic music, time-lapse. This has already been done enough in connection with tourism. Therefore, each partner should name about eight POIs (points of interest), which should be present in the video. It was also pleasing how the partners viewed their own sights from a nine-point of view or rather listening angles. This enabled me to apply the concept to the different cities and to work out a certain stringency among the videos with an individual touch at the same time.

Increase of the Production Value

Match cuts were a creative stylistic device to avoid jumping hard from place to place with hard cuts. They were perfectly suited to stay in the flow of the story and at the same time maintain the fast pace of narration necessary for online advertising. They also created a nice dynamic for the sound: Sometimes the cut was used as a break, but sometimes to put even more focus on the sound or even to use ASMR sounds. Here is a selection of established match cuts:

  • taking a picture with a smartphone
  • rustling the city map (ASMR)
  • drinking a sip from a bottle

The POIs were used to create a creative playground to stage the locations even more playfully.

8D Audio

During the conceptual design, there was hype in Germany about 8D Audio. In my blog post I was already able to point out the topic in detail and explain the pros and cons to the people involved. The goal here was to take the enthusiasm for 8D music and apply it to the Sounds of Germany. In other words, I worked a lot with the rotation of the sound around the user and support this with movement in the visual material. This made the audio mixing much more unconventional because the classical approaches got in the way of the wow-effect.

Production and Post-Production

Shooting

Even though the Beethoven Jubilee was to be celebrated in 2020, the year was mainly marked by Corona. Therefore, the shooting of the four cities was postponed to July and August. So the team consisted of the cameraman Matthias Wallot and myself. This meant that we were on the road across Germany for almost a month. But the time was good, there were as few Covid-19 infected people in the months as there had been for a long time. As a two-man team, the minimum distances could be maintained at all times.

© Ida Zenna, Frank Heise, Matthias Wallot

Post-Production

This was followed by over two months of editing, color correction, sound design, and mixing. Even though I usually concentrate exclusively on 3D audio editing, it made absolute sense for Sounds of Germany to also do the image editing. According to the concept, image and sound intertwine extremely strongly. So I have to find images that in the right order also produce the right sound. Do not forget: In the end, the result should still be Beethoven. Therefore I was able to collect the matching sounds during the editing process and create a beat that runs through the video and changes depending on the POI. I may reveal: Yes, it was not easy and in the meantime, it has brought me to my limits. But that’s exactly why I do these kinds of projects: only outside the comfort zone can growth arise.

The immersive audio campaign

Secret Escapes was chosen as a partner for the landing page. They managed to convince the GNTB with a creative concept. In addition to the video content I provided, they added so-called video overlays. This way the user could see at any time at which POI he or she was at the moment, while the video continued to run seamlessly. So you can imagine it as graphic elements, but they were not embedded in the video, but via the homepage.

In addition, I took Sennheiser on board as an additional partner for the Sounds of Germany. Thanks to my network I knew that they would fit in very well with the project with their Ambeo program and Dear Reality. The GNTB was also pleased to have another German partner, as the past has already shown that cooperations work well in this context. For example, putting on the headphones became a product placement for Sennheiser MOMENTUM Wireless. Thanks to the use of Sennheiser’s social media channels, the reach of the campaign was further increased and I was able to create a win-win situation for everybody involved.

Fun Facts and Easter Eggs

The Sounds of Germany videos are so packed with creative elements that I want to list them here.

© Werner Dieterich

© Werner Dieterich

  • 0:10 The second bell of the streetcar, which is heard at the foot of the staves, was set down four half-tones to announce the first two notes of Beethoven’s 5th.
  • 0:22 and 0:26 Gallateabrunne: one hears a bird from the left, which also alludes to Beethoven with "da-da-da-dum". By the way, the ice cream is the so-called Mercedes ice cream, where the Daimler boss also likes to enjoy it. For the crunching, a number of cookies were later used in the studio, which has a certain ASMR factor
  • 0:28 Mercedes-Benz Museum: all engine sounds are completely authentic. During the onboard ride in the Benz patent motor car from 1885, the chatter of the engine was incorporated into the following music as triplets to create a swing character that Beethoven was to transpose in a somewhat more relaxed but sporty manner. The sounds of the car 300 SLR with the starting number 722, as well as the Formula 1 Silver Arrow come from the archives of the museum
  • 0:43 Porsche-Museum: the howling sound of the engine comes from the Porsche "sound shower", which unfortunately did not make it into the video. But thematically – sounds make a beat – is worth a visit.
  • 0:54 old castle: Even if the bell that can be seen in the video did not sound as it is suggested here, the bells to be heard are actually from the place of the event
  • 1:03 Stiftskirche: here too the organ sounds in the original. Thanks again to the professional organ player who agreed to play only the first two chords from Beethoven to the player. He is in the teaser at second 11 on
  • 1:15 Chapel of the sepulcher: from the sound of the tossing of the wine glasses, a "da-da-da-dum" was built, as with the bird before
  • 1:25 Opera: While you are in the opera hall, you can hear the musicians warming up from outside. In fact, the first violin you hear is the one playing a string quartet by Beethoven, which the musicians presented on site. From 1:31 you can hear Beethoven’s 5th in full splendor for the first time
  • 1:45 Schlossplatz: The street musician was indeed spontaneously able to play our desired song and thus offered an excellent opportunity to lighten the mood a little
© Philipp Kirschner

© Philipp Kirschner

  • 0:04 Station: the beep that sounded when closing the door of the train of the German Railway changed in pitch to give the tone "E". At 0:09 this changes by five semitones upwards to reproduce with the "A" the keynote of "Für Elise".
  • 0:14 ÖVM: also here you can hear a signal that sounds when the door is closed. The first two tones are the original from Leipzig, the following four tones have been changed in pitch to reproduce a sequence of tones from "Für Elise".
  • 0:23 Gewandhaus: The fact that there was an electric piano here was indeed random, but since Leipzig wanted to bring the theme of music to the fore, the piece by Beethoven was played here earlier than in the other videos, in order to have room for pieces by the Leipzig composers, more about this later
  • 0:26 Opera: You can now hear a piano playing For Elise, but the recording actually comes from the Mendelssohn House, where a pianist was standing by for us. But since the Mendelssohn House already has so much to offer, only the sound made it into the video
  • 0:30 if you listen carefully, you will notice that the sound also turns the piano as it rotates. The dancers’ performance was improvised. In the next shot, the interior of the opera, you see his painting on the wall and hear the original gong of the opera, which sounds to tell the audience that the performance is about to begin
  • 0:40 Mädler Passage: now "Für Elise" sounds like the background music of shopping centers. For the inspiration used here, look up the video "Toto- Africa (playing in an empty shopping centre)"
  • 0:49 While you see the Bach statue, the music changes from Beethoven to this Leipzig composer and his world-famous piece "Toccata and Fugue in D"
  • 1:07 and in the Mendelssohn House one hears one of his compositions (Midsummer Night’s Dream Overture, op. 21 MWV P 3), as it can also be heard in the Effektorium. The audio-guide, as well as the steps from the creaking wooden stairs are taken from the location.
  • 1:19 Plagwitz: Here you can hear a rock version of "Für Elise", which reflects the young Leipzig and the character of the area. In the picture are actually the sound man and the colleague from Leipzig Tourism. When you stop the picture while toasting 1:26, the sound tripod with the KU100 dummy head is hidden in the blur on the left.
  • 1:33 now the rock version changes into an electronic dubstep version, a remix by the artist "Klutch", who provided his interpretation.
© Getty (Phillipp Klinger)

© Getty (Phillipp Klinger)

  • 0:10 Wehrhahnlinie: from the installation one hears a long-drawn-out atmospheric sound, which can still be heard at Carlsplatz and is intended to reflect the geographical proximity.
  • 0:36 K21 the elevator plunging complements the basic sounds of the Adagio of the Moonlight Sonata and has something airy about it, inspired by the walk-in steel net construction by Tomás Saraceno.
  • 0:49 Kö-Bogen, Schlossplatz: to somewhat reflect the shopping character of the area, here is a slightly more affordable version of Beethoven that has something loungey about it.
  • 1:00 Little Tokyo: the whole thing now in Asian-style, with taikos, gongs, and Asian string instruments. Fun Fact: Of course we also recorded the slurping of the noodles on location ourselves. But the trained ears of the cook heard that laymen are slurping and so he slurped another portion of noodles just for us, which can now be heard in the video. More authentic it does not go.
  • 1:10 Rheinpromenade: to teaser the part of the band later in the video and to have music that fits the stadium atmosphere well, we now continue with a rock version, otherwise, the single piano tones of the faster part of the Moonlight Sonata (Presto agitato) would have become a bit cheesy. In combination with guitar and drums the piano works and the transition from the waltz 3/4 feeling to the 4/4 beat.
  • 1:24 Band Love Machine: Here the main theme of the Moonlight Sonata is realized as a rock ballad, the drums are actually from the spot, the other instruments were – for the sake of practicability – added afterward. While the piano now takes over the basic chords of the rhythm section, the guitar plays the harmonies of the right-hand triad and the bass provides the pressure from below.
  • 1:32 Füchschen: here the song changes into a version that could also sound as if it was coming from the location on the radio. In order to create even more desire for the bubbling beer, some beers were later opened and poured in the studio to create ASMR-like sounds very close to the ear
  • 1:44 Asphalt Festival: The cheering of the audience is original and the fact that the audience all wear headphones fits thematically wonderfully

Berlin

  • 0:20 From the radio of the Museum of Technology you can hear Waldstein for the first time in the original "Allegro con brio" tempo of about 170bpm
  • 0:27 in the Haus des Rundfunks, instruments complement each other as if an orchestra were tuning
  • 0:42 Radio tower: the "we welcome you" is an original from the elevator, Waldstein has now been transformed into elevator music coming from the loudspeaker that can be seen when the camera pans
  • 0:52 AEG turbine plant. Now a slower version of Waldstein (about 140bpm) can be heard, which is supposed to reflect the heaviness of the machine and is supported by machine noises and electronic percussion.
  • 1:04 Kulturbrauerei: Waldstein can now be heard again in the original tempo, but now the Adagio Molto in a funky jazz variant,
  • 1:19 The tempo is maintained, but now goes back to Waldstein’s first bars and fits the Ewerk event space – logically with electronic sounds
  • 1:35 so that you can take another ride at the end, accelerates from 140 to 170 bpm and a Drum’n’Bass version can be heard, the tone sequence is now complemented by another synthesizer

Those were the Sounds of Germany. Here you can find even more pioneering work in

3D-Audio
This website uses cookies. If you continue to visit this website, you consent to the use of cookies. You can find more about this in my Privacy policy.
Necessary cookies
Tracking
Accept selection Accept everything

Sounds of Germany

Sounds of Germany (immersive 3D Audio Online Marketing Kampagne)

Zusammen mit der Deutschen Zentrale für Tourismus e.V. (DZT), gefördert vom Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie, erarbeitete ich im Vorfeld das Konzept, übernahm die Dreharbeiten vor Ort und anschließend die komplette Post-Produktion der fünf Videos. Das alles für die Sounds of Germany. Es sind genau diese Projekte, die mich vorantreiben: 3D Audio Inhalte einer breiten Masse zur Verfügung stellen zu können. Dabei die technischen Möglichkeiten ausreizen, und kreatives Neuland betreten.

Hier ist die Kampagne zu finden: https://mp.secretescapes.com/uk/2020/germany/

Später werden die einzelnen Videos auf Social Media zu finden sein.

Über das Projekt

Zunächste Stand die Frage im Raum: Wie kann eine immersive Online-Kampagne für Destinations-Marketing mit 3D Audio überhaupt aussehen. Und natürlich wie klingen die Sounds of Germany? Angedacht waren vier Videos von etwa zwei Minuten, über vier Städten und zusätzlich ein Gesamtdeutscher Trailer. Nachdem 2020 das Jahr des 250-jährigen Jubiläums von Beethoven ist, sollte heuer der Fokus auf dem Ton liegen.

Konzept und Ausgangslage

Nachdem ich die bereits produzierten Videos der Tourismusbranche sichtete fiel folgendes aus. Das Bewegtbild sieht zwar nach Hochglanz aussehen, aber die Toneben gibt meist nicht viel mehr als Stock-Musik her. Daher entstand das Konzept, als immersive Tourist Töne zu sammeln, welche sich im Laufe des Videos zu einem Beat ergänzen. Als wäre das noch nicht Herausforderung genug, wollte ich am Ende auch eine von vier Beethoven Symphonien neu interpretieren. Achja und das ganze noch in 3D Audio.

Sound of Germany in 3D Audio

Lösungsansatz für die Umsetzung mit Spatial Sound

Dank meiner Erfahrung in diesem Bereich, wusste ich, dass 3D Audio besonders gut mit dem passenden Bewegtbild funktioniert. Auch wenn 360° Video oder ähnliche Formate spannend für den räumlichen Ton sind, sollten hier möglichst einfach und viele Menschen erreicht werden. Denn man kann davon ausgehen, dass jeder Haushalt ein Audiogerät zuhause hat: Kopfhörer. So einfach kann es nämlich sein, immersives 3D Audio auch zuhause zugänglich zu machen.

Anforderungen an das gefilmte Bild

So entstanden aber auch neue Ansprüche an das Bild. Daher entschieden wir uns, das gesamte Material aus der Egoperspektive zu drehen. Damit ist vom Storytelling leicht erklärt, wieso der Ton überhaupt dreidimensional ist. Außerdem können spannende Interaktionen mit Händen erzeugt werden, die nicht nur Töne erzeugen, welche für den entstehenden Beat wichtig sind. Denn Protagonisten im eigentlichen Sinne sollten nicht im Fokus stehen, sondern die Städte selber. Damit kann sich der Zuschauer dank der POV-Ansicht auch besser in die immersive Reise hineinfühlen – auch ohne VR-Brille, bequem von Zuhause.

Sounds Of Germany Sennheiser Momentum Wireless

Inhaltliche Abstimmung der verschiedenen Videos

Die vier Destinationspartner, Stuttgart, Leipzig, Düsseldorf und Berlin müssen natürlich gleich behandelt werden. Daher beginnen die Clips alle vergleichbar mit dem Aufsetzen der Kopfhörer. Kreativer Gedanke dahinter ist auch, dass der Ton von Stereo auf 3D Audio springt, womit der Nutzer direkt den Unterschied zu herkömmlicher Vertonung hören kann. Im Trailer sollte aber keine Stadt sofort zu erkennen sein, sondern eher typisch deutsche Bilder zu sehen und Sounds of Germany zu hören sein.

Die Städte dürfen sich auch aber nicht zu sehr ähneln und für sich stehen können. Drohnenshots, epische Musik, Zeitraffer. Sowas wurde im Zusammenhang mit Tourismus schon genug gemacht. Daher sollte jeder Partner circa acht POIs (points of interest) benennen, die im Video zu sehen sein sollten. Erfreulich war auch, wie die Partner ihre eigenen Sehenswürdigkeiten nun einem neuen Blick- oder viel mehr Hörwinkel betrachteten. Damit konnte ich das Konzept auf die verschiedenen Städte anwenden und eine gewisse Stringenz unter den Videos mit gleichzeitig individueller Note herausarbeiten.

Steigerung des Production Values

Kreatives Stilmittel, um bildlich nicht hart von Ort zu Ort zu springen, waren Matchcuts. Diese eigneten sich hervorragend, um im Fluss der Story zu bleiben und gleichzeitig das schnelle Erzähltempo aufrecht erhalten zu können, was für Onlinewerbung nötig ist. Außerdem konnte damit eine schöne Dynamik für den Ton erzeugt werden: Manchmal wurde der Schnitt als eine Verschnaufpause genutzt, manchmal aber um noch mehr Fokus auf den Ton zu legen oder sogar ASMR-Töne zu nutzen. Hier eine Auswahl von etablierten Matchcuts:

  • ein Bild machen mit dem Smartphone
  • den Stadtplan rascheln lassen (ASMR)
  • einen Schluck aus einer Flasche zu trinken

Damit entstand anhand der POIs eine kreative Spielwiese, um die Orte noch spielerischer in Szene zu setzen.

8D Audio

Während der Konzeptionierung gab es den Hype in Deutschland zum Thema 8D Audio. In meinem Blogpost konnte ich bereits ausführlich auf das Thema hinweisen und den Beteiligten die Vor- und Nachteile nahebringen. Ziel war es hier, die Begeisterung für 8D Musik zu nehmen und auf die Sounds of Germany anzuwenden. Sprich, ich arbeitete viel mit der Rotation des Tons um den Nutzer herum und unterstütze diese mit der Bewegung im Bildmaterial. Damit lief die Audio-Mischung wesentlich unkonventioneller, weil die klassische Herangehensweisen dem Wow-Effekt im Weg standen.

Produktion und Post-Produktion

Dreharbeiten

Auch wenn in 2020 das Beethoven Jubiläum gefeiert werden sollte, wurde das Jahr vor allem durch Corona geprägt. Daher wurden die Dreharbeiten der vier Städte in den Juli und August verschoben. Damit bestand das Team aus dem Kameramann Matthias Wallot und meiner Wenigkeit. Wir waren dadurch knapp einen Monat quer durch Deutschland unterwegs. Doch die Zeit war gut, es gab in den Monaten so wenig Covid-19 Infizierte wie lange nicht meh. Als Zweimanntruppe konnten auch die Mindestabstände zu jeder Zeit eingehalten werden.

© Ida Zenna, Frank Heise, Matthias Wallot

Post-Produktion

Es folgten über zwei Monate Nachbearbeitung an Schnitt, Farbkorrektur, Sounddesign und Mischung. Auch wenn ich mich ja ausschließlich auf die 3D Audio Bearbeitung konzentriere, machte es hier absolut Sinn für Sounds of Germany auch die Bildbearbeitung zu übernehmen. Nach dem Konzept greifen Bild und Ton extrem stark ineinander. Ich muss mir also Bilder suchen, die in der richtigen Reihenfolge auch den passenden Ton ergeben. Nicht vergessen: Am Ende soll dabei ja immer noch Beethoven rauskommen. Daher konnte ich über den Schnitt mir bereits die passenden Töne sammeln und einen Beat entstehen lassen, der sich durch das Video zieht und je nach POI erändert. Ich darf verraten: Ja, es war nicht einfach und hat mich zwischenzeitlich an meine Grenzen gebracht. Aber genau deswegen mich derartige Projekte: erst außerhalb der Komfortzone kann Wachstum entstehen.

Die immersive Audio Kampagne

Als Partner für die Landingpage wurde Secret Escapes ausgewählt. Sie schafften es mit einem kreativen Konzept, die DZT zu überzeugen. Neben den Videoinhalten, welche ich lieferte, fügten sie sogenannte Overlays ein. So konnte der Nutzer zu jedem Zeitpunkt sehen, bei welchem POI man sich gerade befindet, während das Video nahtlos weiterläuft. Man kann es sich also wie Bauchbinden vorstellen, die aber nicht ins Video, sondern über die Homepage eingebettet wurden.

Darüber hinaus holte ich für die Sounds of Germany passenderweise als weiteren Partner Sennheiser ins Boot. Dank meinem Netzwerk wusste ich, dass sie mit ihrem Ambeo-Programm und Dear Reality sehr gut zu Projekt passen würden. Auch die DZT freute sich über einen weiteren deutschen Partner, da die Vergangenheit bereits zeigte, dass Kooperationen in diesem Zusammenhang gut funktionieren. So wurde das Aufsetzen des Kopfhörers zu einem Product Placement der Sennheiser MOMENTUM Wireless. Dank der Nutzung der Social Media Kanälen von Sennheiser konnte so die Reichweite der Kampagne weiter erhöht werden und ich konnte damit eine Win-Win Situation für alle Beteiligten herstellen.

Fun Facts und Easter Eggs

Die Sounds of Germany Videos sind so vollgepackt mit kreativen Elementen, dass ich sie hier einmal auflisten möchte.

Stuttgart

  • 0:10 Das Zweite Bimmeln der Straßenbahn, das man am Fuße der Stäffele hört, wurde aber um vier Halbtöne nach unten gesetzt, um die ersten beiden Töne von Beethovens 5te anzukündigen.
  • 0:22 und 0:26 Gallateabrunne: man hört von links einen Vogel, der mit „da-da-da-dum“ ebenfalls auf Beethoven anspielt. Das Eis ist übrigens das sogenannte Mercedes Eis, wo der Daimler-Chef es sich auch gerne schmecken lässt. Für das Geknusper mussten im Studio später eine Reihe von Keksen herhalten, die einen gewissen ASMR Faktort haben
  • 0:28 Mercedes-Benz Museum: alle Motorensounds sind komplett authentisch. Bei der Onboard Fahrt mit dem Benz-Patentmotorwagen aus dem Jahre 1885 wurde das Getucker des Motors als Triolen in die folgende Musik eingebunden, um einen Swing-Charakter zu erhalten, der Beethoven etwas lockerer, aber sportlich umsetzen sollte. Die Töne des Fahrzeugs 300 SLR mit der Startnummer 722, sowie der Formel 1 Silberpfeil stammen aus dem Archiv des Museums
  • 0:43 Porsche-Museum: das aufheulende Motorengeräusche entstammt der Porsche Sounddusche, die es leider nicht ins Video geschafft hat. Aber thematisch – aus Tönen entsteht ein Beat – einen Besuch wert ist.
  • 0:54 altes Schloss: Auch wenn die Glocke, die im Video zu sehen ist, nicht so klang wie es hier suggeriert wird, sind die zu hörenden Glocken tatsächlich vom Ort des Geschehens
  • 1:03 Stiftskirche: auch hier erklingt die Orgel im Original. Danke nochmal an den professionellen Orgelspieler, der sich bereit erklärt hat, ausschließlich die ersten zwei Akkorde von Beethoven zu Spieler. Er ist im Teaser bei Sekunde 11 auf
  • 1:15 Grabkapelle: Aus dem Klang des Anstoßens der Weingläser wurde – wie beim Vogel zuvor – ein „da-da-da-dum“ gebaut
  • 1:25 Oper: Während man im Opernsaal ist, hört man von außen die Musiker sich warmspielen. Tatsächlich hört man vor allem die erste Geige, die ein Streichquartett von Beethoven spielt, welches die Musiker vor Ort auch präsentiert haben. Ab 1:31 hört man Beethoven’s 5te zum ersten Mal in voller Pracht
  • 1:45 Schlossplatz: Der Straßen-Musiker war in der Tat spontan in der Lage unseren gewünschten Titel zu spielen und bot damit eine hervorragende Möglichkeit, die Stimmung etwas aufzulockern

Leipzig

  • 0:04 Bahnhof: das Piepen, das beim Schließen der Tür des Zuges der deutschen Bahn wurde in der Tonhöhe verändert um den Ton „E“ zu ergeben. Bei 0:09 verändert dieser sich um fünf Halbtöne nach oben, um mit dem „A“ die Grundtöne von „Für Elise“ abzubileden.
  • 0:14 ÖVM: auch hier hört man ein Signal, das beim Türschließen ertönt. Die ersten beiden Töne sind das Original aus Leipzig, die darauf folgenden vier wurden in der Tonhöhe verändert ebenfalls eine Tonfolge von „Für Elise“ abzubilden.
  • 0:23 Gewandhaus: Dass hier ein E-Piano stand, war tatsächlich zu Fall, aber nachdem Leipzig das Thema Musik in den Vordergrund herben wollte, wurde hier das Stück von Beethoven früher angespielt, als bei den anderen Videos, um noch Platz für Stücke der Leipziger Komponisten zu haben, später dazu mehr
  • 0:26 Oper: Man hört nun ein Klavier Für Elise spielen, doch die Aufnahme stammt eigentlich aus dem Mendelssohn-Haus, in dem eine Pianisten für uns bereit stand. Nachdem das Mendelssohn-Haus aber schon so viel zu bieten hat, hat es nur der Ton ins Video geschafft
  • 0:30 wenn man genau hinhört, merkt man, dass sich bei der Umdrehung auch der Klang das Klavier mitdreht. Die Performance der Tänzer war improvisiert. In der nächsten Einstellung, dem Innenraum der Oper, sieht man sein Gemälde an der Wand und hört dabei den originalen Gong der Oper, der ertönt, um den Zuschauern mitzuteilen, dass gleich die Vorstellung beginnt
  • 0:40 Mädler Passage: nun klingt „Für Elise“ so, wie man als Hintergrundmusik von Einkaufzentren kennt. Für die Inspiration einfach mal nach diesem Video suchen: Toto- Africa (playing in an empty shopping centre)
  • 0:49 Während man die Bach-Statue sieht, wechselt die Musik von Beethoven auf diesen Leipziger Komponisten und seinem weltbekannten Stück „Toccata and Fugue in D“
  • 1:07 und im Mendelssohn-Haus hört man schließlich eine seiner Kompositionen (Sommernachtstraum Ouvertüre, op. 21 MWV P 3), wie es auch im Effektorium zu hören ist. Der Audio-Guide, sowie die Schritte von den knarzenden Holztreppen stammt vom Ort.
  • 1:19 Plagwitz: Hier hört man eine rockige Version von „Für Elise“, die das junge Leipzig und den Charakter der Gegend wiederspiegelt. Im Bild sitzen eigentlich der Tonmann und die Kollegin von Leipzig Tourismus. Wenn man beim Zuprosten 1:26 das Bild anhält, hat sich Tonstativ mit dem Kunstkopf KU100 links in der Unschärfe versteckt.
  • 1:33 nun geht die Rock-Version in eine elektronische Dubstep Variante über, einem Remix vom Künstler „Klutch“, der seine Interpretation zur Verfügung stellte.

Düsseldorf

  • 0:10 Wehrhahnlinie: von der Installation hört man einen langezogenen atmosphärischen Klang, der noch am Carlsplatz zu hören ist und die geografische Nähe wiederspiegln soll.
  • 0:36 K21 das Fahrstuhl-Pling ergänzt sich zu den Grundtönen vom Adagio der Mondscheinsonate und hat etwas luftiges, inspiriert von der begehbaren Stahlnetzkonstruktion von Tomás Saraceno.
  • 0:49 Kö-Bogen, Schlossplatz: um etwas den Shopping-Charakter der Gegend widerzuspiegeln ist hier eine etwas beschwinglichere Variante von Beethoven, die etwas Lounges hat.
  • 1:00 Little Tokio: das Ganze nun auf asiatisch, mit Taikos, Gongs und asiatischen Saiteninstrumenten. Fun Fact: Natürlich haben wir auch das Schlürfen der Nudeln aufgenommen vor Ort selber aufgenommen. Die geschulten Ohren das Kochs haben aber gehört, dass hier Laien am Schlürfen sind und hat daher extra für uns nochmal eine Portion Nudeln geschlürft, die nun auch im Video zu hören sind. Authentischer geht es nicht.
  • 1:10 Rheinpromenade: um schon mal den Teil der Band später im Video anzuteasern und auch eine Musik zu haben, die gut zur Stadion-Atmosphäre passt, geht es nun rockig weiter, sonst wären die einzelnen Klaviertöne vom schnelleren Teil der Mondscheinsonate (Presto agitato) etwas kitschig geworden. In Kombination mit Gitarre und Schlagzeug funktioniert das Klavier und der Übergang vom Waltzer 3/4 Feeling zum 4/4 Takt.
  • 1:24 Band Love Machine: Hier ist das Hauptthema der Mondschein Sonate als eine Rockbalade umgesetzt, das Schlagzeug ist tatsächlich von vor Ort, die anderen Instrumente wurden – der Umsetzbarkeit halber – im Nachhinein ergänzt. Während das Klavier nun die Grundakkorde der Rhythmussektion übernimmt, spielt die Gitarre die Harmonien des Dreiklangs der rechten Hand und der Bass sorgt für den Druck untenrum.
  • 1:32 Füchschen: hier geht der Song in eine Version über, die auch so klingen könnte, als würde sie in der Location im Radio kommen. Um noch mehr Lust auf das blubbernde Bier zu erzeugen, wurden im Studio später noch einmal einige Biere aufgemacht und eingeschenkt, um ASMR-artige Töne ganz nah am Ohr zu erzeugen
  • 1:44 Asphaltfestival: Das Jubeln der Zuschauer ist Original und dass die Zuschauer alle Kopfhörer tragen, passt thematisch wunderbar

Berlin

  • 0:20 Aus dem Radio des Technik-Museums hört man erstmals Waldstein im originalen „Allegro con brio“ Tempo von etwa 170bpm
  • 0:27 im Haus des Rundfunks ergänzen sich Instrumente, wie wenn sich ein Orchester Stimmt
  • 0:42 Funkturm: das „we welcome you“ stammt Original aus dem Aufzug, Waldstein wurde nun in eine Aufzugmusik umgewandelt, die aus dem Lautsprecher kommt, der beim Kamera-Schwenk zu sehen ist
  • 0:52 AEG Turbinenwerk. Nun ist eine langsamere Variante von Waldstein (etwa 140bpm) zu hören, die die Schwere der Maschine widerspiegeln soll und durch Maschinen-Geräusche und elektronisches Schlagwerk gestützt wird.
  • 1:04 Kulturbrauerei: Man hört Waldstein nun wieder im Originalen Tempo, aber nun das Adagio Molto in einer funkigen Jazzvariante,
  • 1:19 Das Tempo wird beibehalten, geht aber nun zurück auf die ersten Takte von Waldstein und passt nun zum Event-Space des Ewerk – logischerweise mit elektronischen Sounds
  • 1:35 damit am Ende noch einmal Fahrt genommen werden kann, wird von den 140 auf 170 bpm beschleunigt und eine Drum’n’Bass Variante ist zu hören, die Tonfolge wird nun von einem weiteren Synthesizer ergänzt

Das waren die Sounds of Germany. Hier gibts noch mehr Pionierarbeit in Sachen

3D-Audio
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Wenn Sie diese Webseite weiterhin besuchen, stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies zu. Mehr dazu finden Sie in meiner Datenschutzerklärung.
Notwendige Cookies
Tracking
Auswahl speichern Alles akzeptieren