hearables
NewsOverview

Hearables with Spatial Audio – and more smart Earbuds Technology

Content

    More and more people are walking around with these futuristic earplugs. What is that even all about? Many will be familiar with the term earbuds. But that’s just one type of these devices called hearables, as we’ll see later.

    It’s a play on words from "hear" and "wearables". The latter is also a new term for wearable smart devices. Such as the Apple Watch for instance. And smart is also the buzzword for hearables: The devices, which are therefore also called smart headphones, are equipped with increasingly sophisticated functions. The applications are versatile and range from entertainment to healthcare. They are also often referred to as True Wireless Stereo (TWS) wearables.

    As the number of best practises increases, so does the target group. It’s no surprise that the world-famous business magazine Forbes is predicting an increase in sales of the devices. They are already generating strong revenues anyways. We will see how great the demand will be, but the potential of these devices is great due to the aforementioned variety of use cases.

    Find out which applications and devices are already available in the following article. Because this is what the future sounds like with hearables.

    hearables

    Diverse Use-cases and Technologies

    Basically, these Bluetooth headphones are characterized by their sound, their practical use and the predominantly intuitive operation. Therefore, earbuds and co. can also be used in a variety of ways. James Hayward, a researcher in the field of wearables, categorizes Hearables into headphones, i.e. consumer audio, hearing aids, and biometric tracking.

    Thus, one could break down and divide the devices into the cross-cutting themes of entertainment and health. However, hearables are also useful in terms of logistics. For example in warehouses, but we’ll get to that in a moment.

    Entertainment

    At present, the entertainment sector is still the main field of application for hearables. Earbuds like the Apple AirPods Pro or the Samsung Galaxy Buds Pro are strong representatives here. You can read more about these in-ears here. The most important areas of application in the entertainment sector of hearables are presented below. However, this is no guarantee of completeness. Especially since these areas cannot be strictly divided into entertainment or health, and there are many overlaps in this topic.

    What is the added value for streaming?

    Music streaming is probably the most widely used application of the hearables. The newer generations of earbuds, such as the Apple Airpods, offer the possibility of playing spatial audio and lossless audio. So high quality audio, also as 3D sound. With additional head tracking, an unrestricted immersive audio experience can be offered. If you want to get more information about streaming, click here. After all, movie watching is also becoming more and more interesting. The cinema feeling is even possible via the small earbuds.

    hearables

    How can Hearbles be used for Augmented Reality?

    AR is one of these examples that can be used in healthcare, entertainment, and logistics. Many hearables have built-in motion sensors and microphones. This enables head tracking and noise cancelling – two important features for augmented reality. Which is also labeled AAR (Augmented Audio Reality).

    As mentioned, there are many possible applications here: games such as Pokemon Go which is not so interesting regarding sound. But navigation assistance, like logistics in warehouses is for sure. In addition, it really makes sense to focus more on auditory stimuli than on visual stimuli in certain areas:

    One important benefit of placing the entire interaction unit in-ear and addressing users purely through acoustic signals is the lower grade of overall distraction compared to vision based augmented reality tools or wearables with tactile signal. – Wikipedia

    How can Spatial Audio be used here?

    Spatial 3D audio can also be beneficial in so many different ways that the entertainment sector can only reflect a part of the possibilities. In terms of hearables, the devices with motion sensors already mentioned are particularly interesting. Only through head tracking can spatial audio applications really come into their own. You can find out what is already on the market in this regard here.

    So you can think of these applications as a new generation of navigation devices. Not only do you hear the announcement "please go left" but you also hear the announcer from this direction. So that I don’t have to wonder any longer: "Err, so which left is it?!".

    We humans hear the sound from all directions. Each sound source, such as a conversation partner, is always perceived as equally loud. Even if we turn away from the sound source. However, microphones can use the so-called directional characterization. Like that the sound is not picked up equally loud from all directions in a spherical shape. This could be used, for example, to make sound louder from the front, i.e. where you are looking. A bit like having binoculars – for the ears.

    hearables

    Health and Medical Sector

    There’s a lot going on in the health, fitness, and wellness sector right now in terms of hearables. As it turns out, placement in the ear is advantageous for collecting various biometric data:

    … the measurement of biometric data such as temperature, heart rate, or oxygen saturation can be monitored through via PPG with significantly higher reliability and better response times through in-ear monitoring than contact devices placed on the wrist or torso. – Wikipedia

    But that’s not all, you can probably already imagine that the hearing aid market will really start to sweat in the future. So here are the most important applications of hearables in the health sector.

    What can the new generation of hearing aids do?

    As just mentioned, earbuds and the like have a good chance of taking over the hearing aid market: Starting with active noise cancelling, which suppresses or reduces background noise. With conventional hearing aids, the louder the volume, the louder the ambient noise.
    With active noise canceling, on the other hand, the ambient noise is cleverly reduced. This changes signal to noise ratio, which significantly improves speech intelligibility. In the future, artificial intelligence and speech recognition will be increasingly used to further improve the listening experience. This will also allow it to be better adjusted depending on the situation.

    Furthermore, unlike classic hearing aids, hearables allow you to connect to your smartphone or smart TV. This means that the volume can be adjusted directly in the ear, so the loudspeaker system does not have to be turned up loud for hearing impaired people. The user can personalize this for him/herself. The other viewers in front of the telly are not affected.

    I remember my grandma struggling with hearing aids. Before she could even fail with the handling that’s not intuitive with seniors: The tiny acoustic hearing apparatus needed even tinier batteries to be replaced like every day. Mission impossible.

    Also, a sound treatment for the therapy of Tinnitus is easier with Bluetooth headphones. Thus, a specifically played sound can cover the disturbing beeps and ringing in the ears. The Bose Sleepbuds also encourage wearing headphones while sleeping. Not only for on the road a tempting application. You can hear, for example, the sound of the sea, which prepares our bodies for slumber.

    The visual aspect should also not be ignored. Hearables are trendy and fashionable, at least much more so than old-fashioned hearing aids. As a hearing-impaired person, you are no longer branded with a "hearing crutch". They are even stylish and fully in line with the trend! One of many added values on the subject of inclusion.

    hearables

    Sound therapy and biometric measurements

    Sound therapy will probably play a greater role in the future and is another area of application for hearables. The treatment of tinnitus has already been mentioned, but that’s not all: Apps such as "Headspace" or "Calm" – meditation apps or apps for relaxation and stress reduction – are becoming increasingly popular.

    With built-in sensors to monitor biometric processes such as pulse, movement patterns, or calories burned, adaptive sound therapy solutions could be offered in combination with these or similar apps. Imagine the music or sound scene changing depending on how you feel to create the best possible effect. Treatment of anxiety and sleep disorders is also conceivable. You see and hear, there is lots of potentials there.

    But who says that sound therapy always has to be relaxing? How about the perfect music playlist for the next workout? Because with the biometric data, you could get exactly the right beat on your ears that your body needs at the moment. Once again, content is king.

    hearables

    Hardware – what is already on the market?

    Not all Hearables are suitable for all the applications mentioned. Of course, where can you find a perfect solution? You can divide these devices into three categories according to their strengths: Earbuds, Assistive Listening Devices, and Hearing Instruments. Here is a brief overview of the differences and available devices.

    Earbuds

    With Earbuds, the focus is on good sound. You could also say the main field of application is the entertainment sector, to stay in our categories. Often there is the option of active noise cancelling or a transparency mode that only lets essential sounds through, such as the voice. This ensures a high-quality sound experience in pretty much any environment.

    The new generations, above all Apple and Samsung, increasingly rely on spatial audio. If you want to look into this further, you’ll find quite a bit in my blog by now: This would be a good place to start, or here whoever wants to look into Apple's Spatial Audio, and you’ll find a critical point of view here.

    So well-known representatives would be:

    Assistive Listening Devices

    In addition to qualitative audio enjoyment, these devices also aim to improve hearing. They form the link, so to speak, between entertainment and health-specialized devices. Often these Hearables are equipped with the ability to create an individual audio profile – to compensate for hearing loss. There is basically more focus on personalization options and speech enhancement than with earbuds.

    Examples are:

    • Nuheara IQbuds MAx
    • Brag The Dash Pro
    • Hy by Zoku (the processing of the headtracking is done in the device. Unlike the earbuds mentioned above who have to be connected to a smartphone)

    Hearing Instruments

    As the name suggests, these Hearables are primarily intended as hearing aids. Here, a professional fitting to one’s hearing is ensured. By amplifying certain ambient frequencies, speech enhancement and noise reduction. As well as direction-dependent noise detection, a better hearing experience is made possible for people with hearing loss. These devices also have the longest average battery life among hearables.

    Examples are:

    • Signia Active
    • Starkey Livio Edge AI
    hearables

    Conclusion

    The topic of hearables is really diverse, as you can probably tell from this article. It’s definitely exciting to see what else is in store for this potential. I know 3D audio has been mentioned comparatively little here, but don’t be fooled: Spatial audio already plays a big role in most application areas, such as AR, streaming, or even apps like Headspace. And I’m sure that the possibilities of Spatial Audio in terms of Earbuds and Co. are far from exhausted!

    So as you can see, or rather hear, the application precedes the hardware. But in the end, it is the question of what the user actually hears? That brings us back to the topic of audio content. So what is the optimal listening experience, the right device, and appropriate application? I am happy to help you solve these challenges

    Back to the Blog

    *advertising

hearables
NewsOverview

Hearables können Spatial Audio und noch viel mehr

Inhalt

    Immer mehr Menschen spazieren mit diesen futuristischen Ohrenstöpsel herum. Was steckt eigentlich dahinter? Vielen wird der Begriff Earbuds gängig sein. Doch das ist nur eine Art dieser Geräte die Hearables genannt werden, wie wir später sehen werden.

    Ein Wortspiel aus "hear" und "wearables". Wobei Letzteres auch schon ein neuartiger Begriff für tragbare Smart Devices ist, wie etwa die Apple Watch. Und smart ist auch bei den Hearables das geflügelte Wort: Die daher auch smart Headphones genannten Geräte sind mit immer raffinierteren Funktionen ausgestattet. Die Anwendungen sind vielseitig und reichen vom Entertainment- bis zum Gesundheitsbereich. Sie werden auch gerne als True Wireless Stereo (TWS) Wearables bezeichnet.

    Mit der Zunahme an Anwendungs-Möglichkeiten wächst auch die Zielgruppe. Nicht umsonst wittert das weltweit bekannte Wirtschaftsmagazin Forbes einen zunehmenden Verkaufs-Anstieg der ohnehin schon umsatzstarken Geräte. Man wird sehen wie groß die Nachfrage sein wird, doch das Potential dieser Geräte ist aufgrund der besagten Vielfalt an Usecases groß.

    Welche Anwendungen und Geräte bereits verfügbar sind, erfährst du in folgendem Artikel. Denn so klingt die Zukunft mit Hearables.

    hearables

    Vielseitige Einsatzgebiete und Technologien

    Grundsätzlich zeichnet diese Bluetooth Kopfhörer ihr Klang, ihr praktischer Nutzen und die überwiegend intuitive Bedienung aus. Daher lassen sich Earbuds und Co. auch vielfältig einsetzen. James Hayward, Forscher im Bereich Wearables, kategorisiert Hearables in Headphones, also Consumer Audio, Hörhilfen und biometrisches Tracking.

    Somit könnte man herunterbrechen und die Geräte also in die Querschnittsthemen Entertainment und Gesundheit gliedern. Allerdings sind Hearables auch beispielsweise in Bezug auf Logistik, etwa in Lagerhallen brauchbar, doch dazu kommen wir noch.

    Unterhaltung

    Zurzeit ist der Unterhaltungssektor noch das Haupteinsatzgebiet von Hearables. Hier sind vor allem Earbuds wie die Apple AirPods Pro oder die Samsung Galaxy Buds Pro starke Vertreter. Näheres zu diesen Earbuds kannst du hier nachlesen. Im Folgenden werden die wichtigsten Anwendungsbereiche im Entertainment-Bereich von Hearables vorgestellt. Jedoch keine Gewähr auf Vollständigkeit, zumal sich diese Bereiche meist auch nicht strikt in Entertainment oder Health gliedern lassen, bzw. es bei dem Thema grundsätzlich viele Überschneidungen gibt.

    Welchen Mehrwert gibt es beim Streaming?

    Musikstreaming ist wohl die meistgenutzte Anwendung der Hearables. Die neueren Generationen der Earbuds wie beispielsweise den Apple Airpods, bieten die Möglichkeit Spatial Audio und Lossless Audio, also high Quality Audio wiederzugeben. Mit zusätzlichem Headtracking kann so ein uneingeschränktes immersives Audioerlebnis geboten werden. Wer sich mit dem Thema Streaming weiter beschäftigen will, kann sich hier informieren. Denn auch das Filmeschauen wird immer interessanter. Das Kinofeeling ist selbst über die kleinen Ohrstöpsel möglich.

    hearables

    Wie können Hearbles für Augmented Reality genutzt werden?

    AR ist eines dieser Beispiele das sowohl im Gesundheits-, Entertainment, und Logistikbereich genutzt werden kann. Viele Hearables besitzen eingebaute Bewegungssensoren und Mikrofone. Dadurch wird Headtracking und Noisecancelling ermöglicht – zwei wichtige Voraussetzungen für Augmented Reality.

    Wie erwähnt sind hier die Einsatzmöglichkeiten vielfältig: Von Games wie etwa Pokemon Go, über Navigationsassistenz, bis Logistik in Lagerhallen. Zudem macht es auch wirklich Sinn sich in gewissen Bereichen mehr auf auditive Reize als auf visuelle Reize zu konzentrieren:

    One important benefit of placing the entire interaction unit in-ear and addressing users purely through acoustic signals is the lower grade of overall distraction compared to vision based augmented reality tools or wearables with tactile signal. – Wikipedia

    Wie ist hier Spatial Audio einsetzbar?

    Auch Spatial 3D Audio ist so vielfältig einsetzbar, dass der Entertainment-Bereich nur einen Teil der Möglichkeiten widerspiegeln kann. In Bezug auf Hearables sind vor allem die schon erwähnten Geräte mit Bewegungssensoren interessant. Erst durch Headtracking können Spatial Audio Anwendungen wirklich zur Geltung kommen. Was diesbezüglich schon alles am Markt ist, erfährst du hier.

    Man kann sich die Anwendungen also vorstellen wie eine neue Generation an Navigationsgeräten. Man hört nicht nur die Ansage "bitte links gehen" sondern hört die AnsagerIn auch aus dieser Richtung. Damit es nicht mehr heißt: "ja welches links denn jetzt!?"

    Wir Menschen hören ja den Ton aus allen Richtungen. Dabei wird jede Schallquelle, wie etwa ein GesprächspartnerIn immer gleich laut wahrgenomme. Auch wenn wir uns von der Schallquelle mal wegdrehen. Doch Mikrofone nutzen die sogenannte Richtcharakterisitik, damit der Schall etwa nicht kugelförmig aus allen Richtungen gleich laut aufgenommen wird. Damit könnte man zum Beispiel Schall von vorne lauter werden lassen, also dort wo man hinschaut. Ein bisschen als hätte man ein Fernglas – für die Ohren.

    hearables

    Gesundheits und Medizin Sektor

    Im Gesundheits-, Fitness-, und Wellnessbereich tut sich gerade so einiges in Bezug auf Hearables. Denn wie sich herausstellt ist die Platzierung im Ohr vorteilhaft für die Erhebung unterschiedlicher biometrischer Daten:

    … the measurement of biometric data such as temperature, heart rate or oxygen saturation can be monitored through via PPG with significantly higher reliability and better response times through in ear monitoring than contact devices placed on wrist or torso. – Wikipedia

    Doch damit nicht genug, man kann sich vielleicht schon denken, dass der Hörgeräte-Markt in Zukunft richtig ins Schwitzen kommen wird. Es folgen nun also die wichtigsten Anwendungsmöglichkeiten von Hearables im Health-Sektor.

    Was kann die neue Generation Hörgeräte?

    Wie soeben erwähnt haben Earbuds und Co. gute Karten den Hörgeräte-Markt zu übernehmen: Angefangen bei active Noisecancelling bei dem Störgeräusche ausgeblendet bzw. reduziert werden. Bei herkömmlichen Hörgeräten wird mit zunehmender Lautstärke auch der Umgebungslärm lauter, klar die Lautstärke wird einfach aufgedreht.
    Beim aktiven Noisecancelling wird hingegen der Umgebungslärm clever reduziert. Also ändert sich der Dynamikumfang von Stimme und Umgebung, was die Sprachverständlichkeit deutlich verbessert. In Zukunft wird hier auch zunehmend mit Künstlicher Intelligenz und Spracherkennung gearbeitet werden damit das Hörerlebnis sich weiter verbessert. Damit kann es auch je nach Situation besser angepasst werden.

    Weiters hat man mit Hearables, im Gegensatz zu klassischen Hörgeräten die Möglichkeit sich mit dem Smartphone oder Smart TV zu verbinden. Man kann also die Lautstärke direkt im Ohr anpassen, so muss der Fernseher bei Hörbeeinträchtigten nicht laut aufgedreht werden. Der/die Nutzer/in kann dies für sich selber personalisieren. Die weiteren Zuschauer vor der Flimmerkiste werden als nicht in Mitleidenschaft gezogen.

    Ich erinnere mich, wie meine Oma mit den Hörgeräten zu kämpfen hatte. Bevor sie überhaupt an der für Senioren nicht intuitiven Handhabung scheitern konnte: Die winzigen Hörhilfen brauchten noch winzigere Batterien, die gefühlt wie jeden Tag gewechselt werden mussten. Mission impossible…

    Auch eine Klangbehandlung zur Therapie von Tinnitus ist mit den Bluetooth Kopfhörern kein Problem. So kann ein gezielt eingespielter Ton die störenden Pieptöne und Ohrgeräusche überdecken. Die Bose Sleepbuds ermutigen also auch das Tragen der Kopfhörer während dem Schlafen. Nicht nur für Unterwegs eine verlockende Anwendung. Man hört etwa Meeresrauschen, womit unsere Körper auf das Schlummern vorbereitet wird.

    Nicht außer acht zu lassen ist zudem der optische Aspekt. Hearables liegen im Trend und machen auch modisch was her, zumindest weit mehr als ein altmodisches Hörgerät. Man ist damit als hörgeschädigte Person nicht länger mit einer "Gehörkrücke" gebrandmarkt. Sondern sogar stylisch und voll im Trend! Eine von vielen Mehrwerten zum Thema Inklusion.

    hearables

    Klangtherapie und biometrische Messungen

    Klangtherapie wird vermutlich zukünftig eine größere Rolle spielen und ist ein weiterer Anwendungsbereich für Hearables. Die Behandlung von Tinnitus wurde schon erwähnt, doch damit nicht genug: Apps wie "Headspace" oder "Calm" – Meditations Apps bzw. Apps zur Entspannung und Stressabbau – werden immer beliebter.

    Durch eingebaute Sensoren zur Überwachung von biometrischen Prozessen wie dem Puls, Bewegungsmuster oder verbrannte Kalorien, könnten in Kombination mit diesen oder ähnlichen Apps adaptive Klangtherapielösungen angeboten werden. Man stelle sich vor die Musik oder Klangszene ändert sich je nach Befinden um die bestmögliche Wirkung zu erzeugen. Auch die Behandlung von Angst- und Schlafstörungen sind denkbar. Man sieht hier gibt es einiges an Potential.

    Doch wer sagt, dass Klangtherapie immer gleich entspannend sein muss? Wie wäre es also mit der perfekten Musik Playlist für das nächste Workout? Denn mit den biometrischen Daten könnte man genau den richtigen Beat auf die Ohren bekommen, den der Körper gerade braucht. Hier ist mal wieder Content King.

    hearables

    Hardware – was gibt es schon am Markt?

    Nicht alle Hearables können sind für alle genannten Anwendungen geeignet. Klar, wo gibt es schon die eierlegende Wollmilchsau? Man kann diese Geräte nach ihren Stärken also in drei Kategorien teilen: Earbuds, Assistive Listening Devices und Hearing Instruments. Es folgt ein kleiner Überblick der Unterschiede und erhältlichen Geräte.

    Earbuds

    Bei den Earbuds steht der gute Klang im Vordergrund. Man könnte auch sagen das Haupteinsatzgebiet ist der Unterhaltungssektor, um in unseren Kategorien zu bleiben. Oftmals gibt es die Möglichkeit auf aktives Noisecancelling oder etwa einen Transparency Mode, der nur essentielle Geräusche wie die Stimme durchlässt. So kann ein hochwertiges Klangerlebnis in ziemlich jeder Umgebung gewährleistet werden.

    Die neuen Generationen, allen voran Apple und Samsung, setzen zunehmend auf Spatial Audio. Wer sich damit weiter auseinandersetzen will, findet in meinem Blog mittlerweile recht viel: Das wäre ein guter Startpunkt, oder hier wer sich mit Apples Spatial Audio beschäftigen mag, und einen kritischen Standpunkt findest du hier.

    Bekannte Vertreter wären hier also:

    Assistive Listening Devices

    Diese Geräte streben neben qualitativem Audiogenuss auch eine Verbesserung des Hörvermögens an. Sie bilden sozusagen das Bindeglied zwischen unterhaltungs- und gesundheits spezialisierten Geräten. Oftmals sind diese Hearables mit der Möglichkeit ein individuelles Audioprofil zu erstellen ausgestattet – um Hörminderungen zu kompensieren. Es stehen grundsätzlich personalisierungsmöglichkeiten und Speech Enhancement weiter im Vordergrund als bei Earbuds.

    Beispiele sind:

    • Nuheara IQbuds MAx
    • Brag The Dash Pro
    • Hy by Zoku (die Berechnung des Head-Trackings erfolgt im Gerät. Im Gegensatz zu den oben genannten Earbuds, die mit einem Smartphone verbunden werden müssen)

    Hearing Instruments

    Wie der Name schon vermuten lässt, sind diese Hearables in erster Linie als Hörgeräte gedacht. Hier wird eine professionelle Anpassung an das eigene Gehör gewährleistet. Durch die Verstärkung bestimmter Umgebungsfrequenzen, Speech Enhancement und Noise Reduction, sowie richtungsabhängiger Geräuscherkennung wird ein besseres Hörerlebnis für Menschen mit Hörschwäche ermöglicht. Diese Geräte haben zudem im Schnitt die längste Akkulaufzeit unter den Hearables.

    Beispiele sind:

    • Signia Active
    • Starkey Livio Edge AI
    hearables

    Fazit

    Das Thema Hearables ist wirklich vielfältig, wie man anhand dieses Artikels vermutlich erkennen kann. Es ist auf jeden Fall spannend was bei diesem Potential noch alles auf uns zukommen wird. Ich weiß, 3D Audio wurde hier vergleichsweise wenig erwähnt, doch nicht täuschen lassen: In den meisten Anwendungsbereichen, wie etwa AR, Streaming, oder auch Apps wie Headspace spielt Spatial Audio schon jetzt eine große Rolle. Und ich bin mir sicher, dass die Möglichkeiten von Spatial Audio in bezug auf Earbuds und Co. bei weitem noch nicht ausgeschöpft sind!

    Wie man also sieht, bzw. hört, legt die Anwendung die Hardware voraus. Doch am Ende ist es die Frage, was der/die NutzerIn denn nun eigentlich hört? Da wären wir auch schon wieder beim Thema Audioinhalten. Was also das optimale Hörerlebnis, das richtige Gerät und die passende Anwendung ist? Bei der Lösung dieser Herausforderungen helfe ich gerne

    mehr erfahren

    *Anzeige


    Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Wenn Sie diese Webseite weiterhin besuchen, stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies zu. Mehr dazu finden Sie in meiner Datenschutzerklärung.
    Notwendige Cookies
    Tracking
    Auswahl speichern Alles akzeptieren