vr360 workshop
OverviewRecording

360 Microphone for 3D Audio Recording in VR

Content

    When somebody mentions 360 microphones, most people think of Ambisonics. I must confess, I don’t think that’s too bad actually. This format is quite practical under realistic recording conditions, such as when shooting VR videos with a 360° camera.
    That’s why I’d rather call them a 360 microphone in connection with virtual reality and 360 videos, even if 3D microphones would be more appropriate. Historically, 360 audio rather describes surround sound, i.e. no sound from above or below, so only planar.
    As a logical consequence, there is also a whole range of recording techniques. To keep the overview, I would like to try to categorize them, as I did with my article Virtual Reality Audio Formats.

    • Channel-based (Mono, Stereo, Surround, immersive)
    • Binaural (binaural Stereo, Omni-Binaural)
    • Soundfield-based (Ambisonic, Higher-Order Ambisonic)
    • Object-based (last but not least at all)

    First of all, I would like to point out that this overview is not to be understood in a judgmental way since most discussions on 360 microphones and sound recordings tend to forget: Every setup has advantages and disadvantages and these depend less on the microphone, but more on the circumstances under which the recording happens. Furthermore, I was not sponsored by any of the manufacturers and will try to be as objective as possible.

    Update 2019/08:

    • Added binaural dummy head microphones: DAVINCI HEAD MK2, Sennheiser MKE2002, Headacoustics HMS AACHENHEAD, Gras 45BB Kemar Head and Torso B&K type 4128-D
    • Added binaural in-ear microphones: Soundman OKM, Aevox Audio IE, B&K type 4101-B

    Channelbased Microphones

    These microphones, or microphone arrays, were usually thought of for later playback on loudspeakers, which is only relevant for VR Audio in special cases. Nevertheless, it is worth knowing the approaches in the following.

    Mono

    For this purpose, any microphone can be used, preferably one with an omnidirectional pattern, which records the sound from all directions. As a result, only one channel will be used and the later playback with dynamic head-tracking will not work. At least better than the most sound from 360 cameras and therefore mentioned for the sake of completeness.

    mono microphone

    Stereo

    Here, too, the application for VR does not appear to be entirely clear at first glance. In this respect, the most important representatives, XY, AB, ORTF and Blumlein are mentioned only briefly. However, I would like to refer to a presentation by Schoeps on the topic Microphone technology for VR. As a result, I also like to use stereo recordings for 360 videos, even if they don’t "fill the whole sphere with sound".

    ORTF Stereo microphone

    Surround Sound

    There are also some interesting applications of surround, which in the classical sense, is also called 360 sound. Hence, no sound can be reproduced above and below the listener, but still may be useful for certain 360 recordings.

    Zoom H2n

    Is probably one of the most famous representatives among the 360 microphones mentioned here and still has its right to exist. Thanks to a firmware update, it can record in spatial audio mode directly in Ambisonic B-format, only without height information, leaving the third of four tracks in Ambix format empty.

    Zoom H2n

    IRT-Cross

    This four-channeled by IRT (Institut for Broadcast Technology) shows an alternative to Ambisonics (more on this later). Due to the additional time that sounds needs to travel between the microphone capsules and focus on one plane, the localization can be more accurate than in the case of the Ambisonic A-format microphones. Consequently, it takes up more space and may be crucial to hide on a tripod under a 360-camera.

    IRT-Cross Array Mic

    5.1 Surround, Double MS

    Even though I am often asked about Dolby Surround 5.1, 7.1 or similar, these formats are not very relevant. Due to the speaker in the middle, called the center, which is supposed to play mainly speech becomes superfluous. However, in special cases, it may be advisable to amplify more microphones in one direction. Similar approaches, yet more flexible is Schoeps Double MS, Nevaton BPT, Josephson c700s or Antelope Audio edge quadro. With dedicated dencoders, they can be transformed into complex microphone patterns such as M/S, X/Y, Blumlein and combined with each other.

    3D Audio

    Finally, we get to the really exciting representatives of 360 microphones, which, in contrast to Ambisonic, usually achieve their sound characteristics through differences in running time, as already mentioned with IRT-Cross.

    ORTF-3D

    Basically, this 360 microphone array is a cuboid with eight microphones pointing into each of the corners. This is available in different versions, for example with super cardioids instead of cardioids for the vertical axis, or additional space for the height layer. Comparable is the ESMA-3D (Equal Segment Microphone Array), which is also interesting for the SPS Mach1 format, even if the conversion is a bit more complex.

    ORTF-3D Schoeps

    More 3D Microphone Arrays

    As you can guess, there are microphones in the most different arrangements, which is why the following should be briefly mentioned here, but are by no means all:

    Surround Sound with Height

    Binaural Microphone Recordings

    Binaural describes a playback method that is only suitable for headphones. As a result, it is useless for loudspeakers, but in contrast, it allows a three-dimensional reproduction of sound with only two channels.

    Stereo Binaural

    Dummy Head Microphone

    The most famous representative is probably the Neumann KU100, which is still used as a reference in times of 360 microphones.

    Neumann KU100 Dummyhead

    But there are many more, like that DAVINCI HEAD MK2, Sennheiser MKE2002, Headacoustics HMS AACHENHEAD, Gras 45BB Kemar Head and Torso. Lastly, not very suitable for binaural recordings but interesting nonetheless: B&K type 4128-D

    In-Ear Microphones

    If you’re not a fan of in-ear headphones, these microphones might make you enthusiastic about them again. Because these hybrid earphones can record and reproduce sound at the same time. This creates a very personal sound image, which is easy to handle, as the in-ears only have to be plugged into the ears.

    Let me briefly mention:

    • Roland CS-10 EM, which can be used with the Zoom H2n for instance, as soon as the additional power supply is activated.
    • Sennheiser Ambeo Smart Headset due to the combination of acoustic noise-canceling and transparent hearing, also known as "audio awareness". This allows external noise to be removed or added as desired, making the use of 3D audio particularly interesting for augmented reality.
    • Hooke Verse Audio Headset, which works wirelessly with Bluetooth and is not only suitable for iOS devices but also for Android devices.
    • Several different models: Soundman OKM, Aevox Audio IE, B&K type 4101-B
    Roland binaural microphone

    Omni-Binaural

    In most cases also referred to as quad binaural, these are therefore four pairs of two binaural microphones, i.e. eight ears. Compared to the simple binaural microphones, these enable later playback with head-tracking in VR.

    3Dio Omni-Binaural

    Probably the most bizarre-looking 360 microphone comes from 3Dio and was often used around 360° videos at the beginning of the VR hype before it was replaced by Ambisonic microphones in the medium term. Even so, it retains its raison d’être.

    3dio omni-binaural

    8Ball Hear360

    Very similar in principle to the ears above, but has a sophisticated system, which makes it very easy to attach to the tripod under the VR camera. In addition, the missing ear cups filter the sound less compared to an HRTF (head-related transfer function) and is, therefore, more useful for loudspeaker applications.

    Ambisonics

    Let us now come to the most famous representative: Ambisonics. This sound field technology is ideal for recording and reproducing spherical sound recordings. For more information just click here.

    First Order Ambisonic (FOA)

    For this type of recording, a tetrahedral arrangement of the cardioid microphone capsules has established itself, which ideally sit as close together as possible. But there are also other possibilities, like a Trippel-MS setup, or the idea of skipping the A-format and record natively into the B-format with one sphere and three-figure of eights.

    Ambisonic A-Format Microphones

    Because there are now a number of audio manufacturers who have brought a very similar 360 microphone, sometimes referred to as VR Mic or 3D Microphone, to the market for VR Sound, these are only listed in keywords, in chronological order.

    • Soundfield SPS200, Soundfield ST450 and more
    • Core Sound TetraMic
    • Brahma Ambisonic Standalone
    • Reynolds Microphones
    • Sennheiser AMBEO VR Mic 3D AUDIO Mikrofon
    • Røde NT-SF1 (Rode soundfield)
    • Nevaton BPT enhancement with height (Nevaton VR)
    • Oktava MK-4012 4-D Ambisonic A-format Mikrofon

    It should be mentioned, however, that they are all four-channel, and are mostly used in combination with an external recording device. So the Zoom F8, Zoom F4, Sounddevices MixPre-6 and MixPre-10t, as well as the Tascam DR-701D have their own firmware updates, which allow an easy recording and live preview for headphones.

    Ambisonic Microphone

    Some of the 360 microphones mentioned have their own plug-ins, such as the AMBEO A-B converter plugin or DearVR Micro, as well as the SoundField by RØDE plugin. These can convert the Ambisonic A format recording to a first-order B format in Ambix or Fuma. In addition, it is possible to listen to the sound directly via various binaural decoders or even loudspeaker arrangements.

    Mobile Handy Recorder

    Mobile recording devices that have an Ambisonic arrangement integrated are the following:

    • Zoom H3-VR 360° VR Handy Recorder
    • Twirling720 VR Audio Recorder
    Zoom H3-VR Microphone

    Interesting Ambisonic Modification

    • Ricoh TA-1 3D Microphone is a special microphone attachment that can only be used with the Ricoh Theta V 360° Camera.
    • Audeze Planar Magnetic Microphones with very large, 100mm diaphragms
    • Fraunhofer Uphear is not a microphone but a technology which uses the microphones built into a 360 camera to create a sound field.
    • Brahma Microphones (versatile Ambisonic recording systems) has a whole range of individual solutions such as Brahma-in-Zoom H2n, a large capsule Brahma Ambisonic Studio Microphone (picture below) and a mix of both: a tetrahedral large-diaphragm array mounted on a Zoom H2n
    Brahma large membrane studio microphone

    For more information on VR cameras suitable (or not) for spatial audio, such as the Sonicam, Nokia Ozo, Kandao Obsidian, GoPro Fusion or Vuze Camera, please click here.

    Second Order Ambisonics

    The next generation of VR microphones is already on the way, using eight or more instead of four microphone capsules. Advantages include higher localization and better sound field reproduction via loudspeakers. Even though B-Format would require 9 channels, second-order A-format microphones usually use eight to twelve capsules.

    • Brahma-8
    • Core Sound OctoMic (see image below)

    With both 360 microphone versions it is possible to record in the so-called SPS-8 format, but strictly speaking, they are not Mach1 format. One needs an intermediate step to convert the A-format into a P-format, which is possible with a filter matrix of the manufacturer.

    Core Sound Octomic

    Higher Order Ambisonic

    As a rule of thumb, if a microphone array contains about 20 microphones, depending on the manufacturer, this is referred to as Higher Order Ambisonic. Even if it still sounds like an incredible number of microphones, the actual number of products is manageable as 360 microphones.

    • Zylia ZM-1 has 19 capsules and can, therefore, record third-order Ambisonics, which is only possible, connected with a laptop or tablet via USB. With the 6DOF VR/AR Development Kit there is also the chance to move away from the recording position and use the six degrees of freedom.
    • mhacoustics em32 Eigenmike microphone even creates fourth-order Ambisonic and is probably the current king among Ambisonic microphones. In order to handle the number of microphones at all, digital signal processing is necessary.
    Zylia Studio Microphone

    Objectbased Recording

    Even if I don’t really want to start a whole new topic and talk about audio objects like MPEG-H 3D Audio or Dolby Atmos VR, you shouldn’t forget the most important thing:
    No matter how good the choice of the 360 microphone is, whether Ambisonic or not, in most cases, it is more important to concentrate on mono microphones. Be it classic supports for 3D orchestral recordings or clip-on microphones for protagonists, mono microphones usually remain the thing at VR recordings, to which I pay the greatest attention. Of course, this also depends on the case and the truth lies somewhere in between, but I find it incredibly helpful if you already think about the immersive audio mix during the 3D sound recording.

    radio mic

    Conclusion

    So there is a huge and growing selection of 360 microphones that you can use for VR recording or 3D audio. But don’t forget that there is never the perfect microphone for every situation, just one or more best microphones for the situation. I’m happy to help you find the right choice.

    More about 360° Recording

vr360 workshop

360 Microphone für 3D Audio in VR Überblick

Inhalt

    Wenn man 360 Microphone erwähnt, denken die meisten Leute wohl an Ambisonics. Ich muss gestehen, das find ich erstmal gar nicht so verkehrt. Dieses Format ist unter realistischen Arbeitsbedingungen, etwa bei VR-Dreharbeiten mit einer 360° Kamera, durchaus praktisch.
    Deswegen würde ich sie auch eher als 360 Microphone im Zusammenhang mit Virtual Reality und 360 Video bezeichnen, auch wenn 3D Mikrofone wohl treffender wäre. 360 Audio beschreibt historisch gesehen vermehrt Surround Sound, also kein Ton von oben oder unten, sondern nur planar.
    Als logische Konsequenz gibt es auch eine ganze Reihe an Aufnahmetechniken. Um den Überblick zu behalten, möchte ich versuchen, sie zu kategorisieren, wie ich es bei meinem Artikel Virtual Reality Audio Formate getan habe.

    • Kanal-basiert (Mono, Stereo, Surround, immersiv)
    • Binaural (binaurales Stereo, Quad-Binaural)
    • Schallfeld-basiert (Ambisonic, Higher Order Ambisonic)
    • Objekt-basiert (das wichtigste zum Schluss)

    Zunächst möchte ich drauf hinweisen, dass diese Übersicht nicht wertend zu verstehen ist, da bei der ganzen Diskussion über 360 Microphone und Tonaufnahmen vergessen wird: Jedes Setup hat Vor- und Nachteile und diese hängen meist nicht vom Mikro, sondern von den Umständen ab, unter denen die Aufnahme passiert. Darüber hinaus wurde ich von keinem der Hersteller gesponsort und will hier versuchen möglichst objektiv sein.

    Update 2019/08:

    • Hinzugefügte Kunstkopf Mikrofone: DAVINCI HEAD MK2, Sennheiser MKE2002, Headacoustics HMS AACHENHEAD, Gras 45BB Kemar Head and Torso B&K type 4128-D
    • Hinzugefügte binaurale Inear Mikrofone: Soundman OKM, Aevox Audio IE, B&K type 4101-B

    Kanalbasierte Mikrofone

    Diese Mikrofone, bzw. Mikrofon-Arrays, wurden also meist für die spätere Wiedergabe auf Lautsprechern angedacht, was für VR Audio hingegen nur in Spezialfällen relevant ist. Trotzdem lohnt es sich die Herangehensweisen im Folgenden zu kennen.

    Mono

    Hierfür lässt sich eigentlich jedes Mikrofon nehmen, am besten eines mit kugelförmiger Richtcharakteristik, womit der Ton aus allen Richtungen aufgenommen wird. Folglich wird aber nur ein Kanal verwendet und die spätere Wiedergabe mit dynamischem Head-Tracking wird nicht funktionieren. Jedenfalls besser als der meiste Ton von 360 Kameras und folglich der Vollständigkeit halber erwähnt.

    mono microphone

    Stereo

    Auch hier gilt, dass die Anwendung für VR auf den ersten Blick nicht ganz eindeutig erscheint. Insofern seien nur kurz die wichtigsten Vertrete, XY, AB, ORTF und Blumlein erwähnt. Trotzdem möchte ich an dieser Stelle auf einen Vortrag von Schoeps hinweisen, zum Thema Mikrofontechnik für VR. Folglich nutze ich auch gerne Stereo-Aufnahmen für 360 Videos, auch wenn sie erstmal nicht "die komplette Kugel mit Schall befüllen".

    ORTF Stereo microphone

    Surround Sound

    Auch von bei Surround im klassichen Sinne, auch 360 Audio genannt, kein Schall über und unter dem Zuhörer wiedergegeben werden kann, gibt es einige interessante Anwendungen:

    Zoom H2n

    Ist wohl einer der bekanntesten Vertreter unter den hier genannten 360 Mikrofonen und hat immernoch seine Daseinsberechtigung. Dank eines Firmware Updates, kann er im Spatial Audio Modus direkt in Ambisonic B-Format aufnehmen, lediglich ohne Höheninformation, womit die dritte von vier Spuren im Ambix-Format leer bleibt.

    Zoom H2n

    IRT-Cross

    Hierdurch wird eine Alternative vom Institut für Rundfunktechnik (IRT) zum vierkanligen Ambisonics (dazu später mehr) gezeigt. Durch die höhere Laufzeit zwischen den Mikrofonkapseln und der Ausrichtung auf einer Ebene, kann die Lokalisation genauer sein, als im Falle der Ambisonic A-Format Mikrofone.

    IRT-Cross Array Mic

    5.1 Surround, Double MS

    Auch wenn ich oft nach Dolby Surround 5.1, 7.1 oder ähnliches gefragt werde, sind diese Formate nur wenig relevant, da vor allem der Lautsprecher in der Mitte, also der Center eigentlich überflüssig wird. Trotzdme kann es in Spezialfällen angebracht sein, mehr Mikrofone in eine Richtung zu verstärken. Ähnliche Herangehensweisen sind etwa von Schoeps das Double MS System, Josephson c700s, Nevaton BPT oder Antelope Audio edge quadro. Mit eigenen Decodern können die Signale in komplexere Richtcharakterisitiken wie M/S, X/Y, Blumlein umgewandelt, oder gar mit einander kombiniert werden.

    3D Audio

    Endlich kommen wir zu den wirklich spannenden Vertretern der 360 Microphone, die meist, im Gegensatz zu Ambisonic, ihre Klangeigenschaften durch Laufzeitunterschiede erreichen.

    ORTF-3D

    Im Grunde genommen ist dieses Mikrofonarray ein Quader, dessen acht Mikrofone in je eine der Ecken zeigen. Dieses gibt es in verschiedenen Varianten, etwa mit Supernieren statt Nieren für die Höhenachse, oder zusätzlichen Laufzeiten. Vergleichbar ist das ESMA-3D (Equal Segment Microphone Array), welches damit auch interessant für das SPS Mach1 Format ist, auch wenn die Umwandlung etwas komplexer ausfällt.

    ORTF-3D Schoeps

    Weitere 3D Mikrofonierung

    Wie sich erahnen lässt, gibt es Mikrofone in den unterschiedlichsten Anordnungen, weswegen hier kurz folgende erwähnt sollen, aber keineswegs alle sind:

    Surround Sound with Height

    Binaurale Mikrofon Aufnahmen

    Binaural beschreibt eine Wiedergabemethode, die ausschließlich für Kopfhörer geeignet ist. Infolgedessen also für Lautsprecher unbrauchbar, trotzdem ermöglicht es mit nur zwei Kanälen eine dreidimensionale Wiedergabe von Ton.

    Stereo Binaural

    Kunstkopf Mikrofon

    Der bekannteste Vertreter ist wohl der Neumann KU100, welcher in Zeiten der 360 Microphone immer noch gerne als Referenz genommen wird.

    Neumann KU100 Dummyhead

    Aber es gibt noch einige weitere, wie etwa DAVINCI HEAD MK2, Sennheiser MKE2002, Headacoustics HMS AACHENHEAD, Gras 45BB Kemar Head and Torso. Zu guter letzte ist B&K type 4128-D zwar nicht für binaurale Aufnahmen, dafür aufgrund der Bauweise interessant.

    In-Ear Mikrofone

    Falls man kein Fan von In-Ear Kopfhörern ist, kann man sich mit diesen Mikrofonen aber vielleicht doch noch dafür begeistern. Denn die hybriden Ohrhörer können Ton aufnehmen und wiedergeben. Damit wird ein sehr persönliches Klangbild geschaffen, was einfach zu handhaben ist, da die In-Ears lediglich in die Ohren gesteckt werden müssen.

    Genannt seien hier der

    • Roland CS-10 EM, welcher etwa mit dem Zoom H2n verwendet werden kann, sobald die zusätzliche Speisung aktiviert wird.
    • Sennheiser Ambeo Smart Headset aufgrund der Kombination von acoustic noise-cancelling und transparent hearing, auch bekannt als "audio awareness". Damit können Außengeräusche je nach Wunsch entfernt oder hinzugefügt werden, was den Einsatz von 3D-Audio vor allem für Augmented Reality interessant macht.
    • Hooke Verse Audio Headset, welches kabellos entsprechend mit Bluetooth arbeitet und nicht nur für iOS Geräte geeignet ist.
    • Weitere, ähnliche Modelle: Soundman OKM, Aevox Audio IE, B&K type 4101-B
    Roland binaural microphone

    Omni-Binaural

    In den meisten Fällen auch als Quad-Binaural bezeichnet wird, handelt es sich deswegen um vier Paaren von zwei binauralen Mikrofonen, also acht Ohren. Diese ermöglichen, im Vergleich zu den einfachen binauralen Mikrofonen, eine spätere Wiedergabe mit Head-Tracking in VR.

    3Dio Omni-Binaural

    Das wohl am skurrilsten aussehende 360 Mikrofon stammt von 3Dio und wurde zu Beginn des VR-Hypes rund um 360° Videos häufig genutzt, bevor es nun mittelfristig von Ambisonic-Mikrofonen abgelöst wurde. Trotzdem behält es seine Daseinsberechtigung.

    3dio omni-binaural

    8Ball Hear360

    Vom Prinzip sehr ähnlich den obigen Ohren, hat aber ein ausgefeiltes System, was das Befestigen am Stativ unter der VR-Kamera sehr einfach macht. Außerdem wird durch die fehlende Ohrmuschel der Ton weniger zu einer HRTF (head related transfer function) gefiltert und ist damit brauchbarer für Lautsprecher Anwendungen.

    Ambisonics

    Kommen wir nun zum wohl bekanntesten Vertreter: Ambisonics. Diese Schallfeld-Technologie eignet sich hevorragend zur Aufnahme und Reproduktion von kugelförmigen Tonaufnahmen. Für mehr Infos dazu einfach hier klicken.

    Ambisonic erster Ordnung

    Für diese Art der Aufnahme hat sich vorallem eine tetraedische Anordnung der nierenförmigen Mikrofonkapseln etabliert, welche im Idealfall möglicht nah aneinander sitzen. Doch es gibt auch andere Möglichkeiten, wie ein Trippel-MS Setup, oder die Idee das A-Format zu überspringen und mit der richtigen Mikrofonanordnung nativ ins B-Format aufzunehmen mit einer Kugel und drei Achten.

    Ambisonic A-Format Mikrofone

    Weil es mittlerweile eine ganze Reihe von Audio Herstellern gibt, die ein sehr ähnliches 360 Microphone, manchmal auch als VR Mic oder 3D Mikrofon bezeichnet, auf den Markt für VR Sound gebracht haben, werden diese nur Stichpunktartig aufgeführt, in chronologischer Reihenfolge.
    Es sollte aber erwähnt werden, dass alle vierkanalige sind, und meist in Kombination mit einem externen Aufnahmegerät genutzt werden. So haben der Zoom F8, Zoom F4, Sounddevices MixPre-6 und MixPre-10t, sowie der Tascam DR-701D eigene Firmware Updates bekommen, die ein eine einfache Aufnahme und Live-Preview für Kopfhörer ermöglichen.

    • Soundfield SPS200, Soundfield ST450 und weitere
    • Core Sound TetraMic
    • Brahma Ambisonic Standalone
    • Reynolds Microphones
    • Sennheiser AMBEO VR Mic 3D AUDIO Mikrofon
    • Røde NT-SF1 (Rode Soundfield)
    • Nevaton BPT Erweiterung um die Höhenachse (Nevaton VR)
    • Oktava MK-4012 4-D Ambisonic A-format Mikrofon
    Ambisonic Microphone

    Einige der genannten 360 Microphone haben eigene Plug-Ins, wie etwa das AMBEO A-B-Konverter-Plugin oder dearVR Micro, sowie das SoundField by RØDE Plugin. Diese können die Konvertierung der Ambisonic A-Format Aufnahme in ein B-Format erster Ordnung in Ambix oder Fuma übernehmen. Darüber hinaus ist es möglich den Klang über verschiedene binaurale Decoder oder sogar Lautsprecher-Anordnungen direkt abzuhören.

    Handliche Recorder

    Mobile Aufnahmegeräte, die eine Ambisonic-Anordnung integriert haben, sind folgende:

    • Zoom H3-VR 360° VR Handy Recorder
    • Twirling720 VR Audio Recorder
    Zoom H3-VR Microphone

    Interessante Ambisonic Varianten

    • Ricoh TA-1 3D Mikrofon ist ein spezieller Mikrofon-Aufsatz, der ausschließlich mit der Ricoh Theta V 360° Kamera verwendet werden kann.
    • Audeze Planar Magnetic Microphones mit sehr großen, 100mm Membranen
    • Fraunhofer Uphear ist kein Mikrfon sondern eine Technologie, nutzt dabei aber die Mikrofone, die in einer 360-Kamera verbaut sind, um ein Schallfeld zu erzeugen.
    • Brahma Microphones (versatile Ambisonic recording systems) hat eine ganze Reihe von individuellen Lösungen wie Brahma-in-Zoom H2n, ein Großmembran Brahma Ambisonic Studio Microphone (siehe Bild unten) und einer Mischung dessen: einem tetraedischen Großmembram Array auf einem Zoom H2n
    Brahma large membrane studio microphone

    Für weitere Infos zu VR-Kameras, die für Spatial Audio geeignet (oder auch nicht) sind, wie die Sonicam, Nokia Ozo, Kandao Obsidian, GoPro Fusion oder Vuze Camera, bitte hier klicken.

    Ambisonic zweiter Ordnung

    Die nächste Generation an VR-Mikrofonen ist auch schon im Kommen, die acht statt vier Mikrofonkapseln nutzen. Vorteil ist unter anderem eine höhere Lokalisation und bessere Schallfeld Wiedergabe über Lautsprecher. Ob es sich nun wirklich um zweite Ordnung Ambisonic lasse ich außern vor, da Ambisonic im B-Format eigentlich neun Kanäle besitzt.

    • Brahma-8
    • Core Sound OctoMic (siehe Bild unten)

    Mit beiden 360 Microphonen ist es möglich, im sogenannten SPS-8 Format aufzunehmen, sind aber genau genommen kein Mach1 Format. Man benötigt einen Zwischenschritt, um das A-Format in ein P-Format umzuwandeln, was mit einer Filtermatrix des Herstellers möglich ist.

    Core Sound Octomic

    Ambisonic höherer Ordnung

    Sind in einem Mikrofon-Array, je nach Hersteller knappe 20 Mikrofone verbaut, spricht man von Higher Order Ambisonic. Auch wenn es noch wahnsinnig vielen Mikrofonen klingt, ist die eigentliche Anzahl der Produkte als 360 Microphone überschaubar.

    • Zylia ZM-1 hat 19 Kapseln und kann damit maximal in dritter Ordnung Ambisonic aufnehmen, was aktuell aber nur in Kombination mit einem Laptop oder Tablet über USB möglich ist. Mit dem 6DOF VR/AR Development Kit ist es darüber hinaus gibt es die Chance, sich von der Aufnahmeposition wegzubewegen und damit die sechs Freiheitsgrade nutzen kann
    • mhacoustics em32 Eigenmike microphone schafft sogar Ambsionic vierter Ordnung und ist damit wohl der aktuelle König unter den Ambisonic-Mikrofonen. Um die Anzahl der Mikrfone überhaupt handhaben zu können, ist auch hier eine digitale Singnalverarbeitung nötig.
    Zylia Studio Microphone

    Objektbasierte Aufnahme

    Auch wenn ich eigentlich kein Fass aufmachen will und mit Audio-Objekten fachsimpeln will, wie sie etwa bei MPEG-H 3D Audio oder Dolby Atmos VR genutzt werden, sollte man das Wichtigste nicht vergessen:
    Egal wie schön die Wahl des 360 Microphone ist, ob Ambisonic oder mit Laufzeit, in den allermeisten Fällen ist es wichtiger, sich auf Stützmikrofone zu konzentrieren. Seien es klassische Stützen bei 3D Orchester Aufnahmen oder Ansteckmikrofone bei Protagonisten, es bleiben meist Mono Mikrofone bei VR-Aufnahmen, denen ich meine größte Aufmerksamkeit schenke. Auch das hängt natürlich stark vom Fall ab und die Wahrheit liegt wohl irgendwo dazwischen, aber ich finde es wahnsinnig hilfreich, wenn man während der 3D Sound Aufnahme bereits an die immersive Audiomischung denkt.

    radio mic

    Fazit

    Es gibt also eine unheimlich große und immer weiter wachsende Auswahl and 360 Microphone, die man für VR-Aufnahmen oder 3D Audio nutzen kann. Doch man darf nicht vergessen, dass es nie das perfekte Mikrofon für jede Situation gibt, sondern lediglich ein oder mehrere beste Mikrofon für die jeweilige Situation. Bei der Suche nach der richtigen Wahl, helfe ich gerne.

    Mehr über 360° Mikrofon Aufnahmen