video call
NewsOverview

Video Call from the Future – Spatial Audio for Zoom and telephony

Content

    Who has not made a video call, held a video conference, or attended an online meeting given our overall global situation? Whatever you want to call it, within the last year the exchange via videotelephony has become part of the everyday life of many people for obvious pandemic reasons.

    Although Skype and Co. are now more widespread than ever. But in the technical development of the audio, quite little has happened it seems. Of course, there are already some efforts to further develop the major services auditorily. One could already suspect it: The most effective step to improve a video call (auditory) is probably the introduction of spatial audio.

    The following article will explain the advantages of immersive audio compared to the current mono standard in video conferencing.

    Zoom, Skype, Teams, and Co. visual communication

    Probably every user has not only one of the video telephony services in use. So most will already have an overview of the strengths and weaknesses of each provider: Some can show more people, some are clearer, others have that background feature, etc.

    In any case, the fact is that the differences are almost exclusively on the visual level. Auditorily, you usually have to make do with sparse audio settings and mono format.

    Exception Zoom

    Zoom has already taken a step and offers a stereo or hi-fi function. This facilitates speech intelligibility due to the higher audio quality and brings the possibility to stream music in stereo. The two audio channel function is also very handy for streaming binaural audio samples, for example, at corresponding events like this here.

    So we already see Zoom taking a step in the right direction. But what the added value of spatial audio is to video calls will be clarified in the following.

    Update Apple FaceTime

    Only one month after this article was published, Apple is already presenting an update at WWDC. With iOS 15, calls via Facetime can now use 3D spatial audio. The voice is heard from the direction where the screen of the device is located. In addition, noise is filtered out even better. This is particularly important for spatial sound, as this should be as isolated as possible.

    Update Clubhouse: Drop-in audio cha‪t‬

    I’m happy to read that spatial audio will be rolling out to iOS devices. Since there are usually quite a lot of people in a room (or let’s say: more than two), it will be easier to distinguish between the people talking. All wired and wireless headphones will support the 3d audio feature. Bluetooth has a technical limitation, but the effect will still be applied.

    Benefit 1 – Differentiability of voices

    Audio quality aside, what differentiates a direct conversation from a video call? On an auditory level, mainly the directional impression! In a video conference with multiple people, it quickly becomes chaotic with the current mono. As soon as more than one person is speaking, it quickly becomes confusing. Our brain has a hard time distinguishing the voices because they all come from the same direction.

    From an audio engineer’s point of view, mono is also referred to as in-the-head localization. If you wear headphones, you hear loud external voices in your head. Sounds almost like a case for a psychiatrist. The solution here is not a visit to the doctor but can be solved technically via the so-called externalization. More about this later.

    If you distribute the voice of each person in the 3D audio space, as we are used to in reality, this suddenly makes it easier to differentiate – spatial sound makes it possible. In this way, a conversation situation can be spatially recreated. Just as we know it from meetings, discussions, or sitting together in a cozy atmosphere. Strictly speaking, stereo is even sufficient for this, as this video shows:

    The example of Highfidelity founder Philip Rosedale makes it audible in which direction it could go. However, the reverberation is missing here, as we have it in reality. This is crucial for externalization. Here we have just a left-right localization. Also, the sounds appear very close to the ear of the listener. Too close to be natural.

    But there are more things that would elicit the potential of the technology. So let’s take a deeper dive!

    Benefit 2- Head-Tracking

    For accurate sound localization, small head movements help. When we want to locate something more precisely with our ears in everyday life, we usually move our heads unconsciously. By changing the angle to the sound source and the associated change in the runtime. Also, the level differences between the ears, we can locate sound sources even more precisely.

    Head tracking via headphones

    Head tracking is needed to incorporate these movements into the video call. Sounds like a technical effort. But this technology is also on the rise and is now already available. There are even several ways to measure head movements:

    Apple already has head-tracking-capable headphones on the market with the AirPods Pro and the AirPods Max, as well as Samsung with the Galaxy Buds Pro – to name two well-known representatives. Furthermore, there is the possibility to use external head trackers that are attached to the headphones. At this point, I would like to refer to this article for more information.

    Capture head rotation via the video image of the webcam

    Now, not everyone owns such audio devices. The third option is head tracking via webcam, which is especially exciting for desktop applications. This is roughly how the face recognition looks, which is necessary to adapt the 3D audio sound field to our head movement in real time:

    video call

    The ability to detect head movements via webcam is a clear win-win situation for spatialized video calls. Because the communication requires a camera, no additional hardware purchases are necessary. And the necessary technology for audio spatialization can even be integrated into the browser. In this respect, the colleagues from atmoky are at the forefront and the right contact persons.

    Video Call without Video?

    Thinking a bit further, the video aspect could even be neglected by spatializing the voices – at least when it comes to differentiating the persons. Also, a spatialized telephone conversation would convey a completely different sense of presence of the other person, i.e. it would also affect on a psychological level.

    There are now several providers of such Bird View Meeting Places. e.g. gather town, spatial chat, or the already mentioned High Fidelity. How this sounds can be heard here:

    Benefit 3 – Zoom Fatigue, Video Conference Exhaustion

    People who attend several video conferences per day probably know the feeling. You feel drained after the video call, even though you may not have been that active. This phenomenon is called Zoom Fatigue, which is a certain tiredness after web meetings. This doesn’t necessarily have anything to do with the content of the meeting, but with the audio not being thought through!

    As mentioned before, mono is the default in video calling and this demands more processing power from our brain. Why? Because all voices reach our ears without directional impressions, i.e. via mono, the brain is busy differentiating and assigning them. This process happens in real conversation without this additional effort for the brain – because we can localize sound sources in the environment.

    This is confirmed for example by this scientific paper. Spatial audio can simulate realistic directional scenery. Integrating this technology into video calls would therefore save our brains unnecessary thinking. Accordingly, meetings would be more pleasant and ultimately more efficient by increasing productivity.

    This approach to true-to-life communication in virtual meetings is also being pursued by the atmoky team. Their demo shows how spatial audio can be used in web meetings. This creates a natural acoustic scene and increases speech intelligibility. The potential of the cocktail party effect and the so-called Spatial Unmasking should be fully exploited.

    Challenges

    What you don’t need is an expensive, fancy 3D microphone – although there’s a nice overview here 😉 . A normal mono microphone on the headset or the one built into the laptop anyway is enough. The virtualization of spatiality is done by software. Metadata is added to the audio stream and the program calculates in real time how the virtual audio should sound.

    A problem can then be audible artifacts that can arise during the data reduction as mono during transmission. But in the long run, this can also be solved: NVIDIA, for example, has found a way to display the video – without transmitting it at all (see video below)! Artificial intelligence makes it possible.

    Likewise, NVIDIA has developed an outrageously good software for noise cancellation with the RTX Voice application. This allows voices to be transmitted much more clearly without noise. Of course, this is also advantageous when using immersive audio. Then you don’t hear a virtual sound source with noise from the laptop fan and keyboard tinkling. Instead, you hear beautifully polished speech, as we know it from reality.

    Conclusion and solutions

    Actually, it is surprising that so little attention has been paid to audio in video calls. Even independently of Corona, it would have been time to take the next step here. But because of the inflationary increasing hours spent with video telephony "thanks" to the pandemic, an auditory further development is probably long overdue.

    So you can see that action is needed here. Time to integrate three-dimensional sound into our everyday web, video, and audio-only meetings, conferences and whatnot. This would have a positive impact on productivity. And at the end of the day, we’d probably have more energy and motivation left over. Also, it improves immensely the sense of presence of other people to briefly mention the keyword embodiment.

    That’s why I wanted to draw attention to this everyday topic, which comes into its own with the right approach. With my colleagues from atmoky I can offer such solutions directly for this kind of webmeetings, Virtual Interaction, Video Calls and Co. So implement the mentioned features directly now – we will help you with the implementation.

    Contact

video call
NewsOverview

Der Video Anruf aus der Zukunft – Spatial Audio für Zoom, Skype und Telefon

Inhalt

    Wer hat anlässlich unserer globalen Gesamtsituation noch keinen Video Call geführt, keine Videokonferenz abgehalten, keinem Online Meeting beigewohnt? Oder wie auch immer man es nennen will. Innerhalb des letzten Jahres ist der Austausch über Videotelefonie aus offensichtlichen Pandemie Gründen Teil des Alltags vieler Menschen geworden.

    Obwohl Skype und Co. mittlerweile so verbreitet sind, ist in der technischen Entwicklung bezüglich Audio, gefühlt recht wenig passiert. Doch natürlich gibt es schon einige Bestrebungen die großen Dienste auditiv weiterzuentwickeln. Man könnte es bereits ahnen: Der effektivste Schritt einen Video Call (auditiv) zu verbessern, ist wohl die Einführung von Spatial Audio. Der Folgende Beitrag soll die Vorteile von immersivem Audio gegenüber dem jetzigen Mono Standard bei Videokonferenzen näher bringen.

    Zoom, Skype, Teams, und Co. visuelle Kommunikation

    Vermutlich hat jede/r NutzerIn nicht nur einen der besagten Videotelefonie-Dienste in Verwendung. So werden die meisten schon einen Überblick über die Stärken und Schwächen der jeweiligen Anbieter haben: Manche können mehr Personen anzeigen, manche sind übersichtlicher, andere haben jene Hintergrundfunktion, usw..

    Tatsache ist jedenfalls, dass die Unterschiede fast ausschließlich auf der visuellen Ebene liegen, auditiv muss man sich meist mit spärlichen Audioeinstellungen und Mono-Format begnügen.

    Ausnahme Zoom

    Zoom hat bereits einen Schritt getan und bietet eine Stereo- bzw. Hi-Fi-Funktion an. Dies erleichtert aufgrund der höheren Audioqualität die Sprachverständlichkeit und bringt die Möglichkeit Musik in stereo zu streamen. Die Stereofunktion ist beispielsweise auch sehr praktisch um binaurale Audiobeispiele zu streamen, wie etwa bei entsprechenden Events wie diesem hier.

    Wir sehen bei Zoom also schon einen Schritt in die richtige Richtung. Was aber der eigentliche Mehrwert von Spatial Audio in Bezug auf Video Calls ist, soll im folgenden geklärt werden.

    Mehrwert 1 – Differenzierbarkeit der Stimmen

    Abgesehen von der Audioqualität, was unterscheidet ein direktes Gespräch von einem Video Call? Auf auditiver Ebene vor allem der Richtungseindruck! Bei einer Videokonferenz mit mehreren Personen wird es mit dem derzeitigen Mono schnell chaotisch. Sobald mehr als eine Person spricht, wird es schnell unübersichtlich. Unser Gehirn tut sich schwer die Stimmen überhaupt auseinander zu halten, da sie alle aus der gleichen Richtung kommen.

    Bei Mono spricht man aus Audio Ingenieur Sicht auch von einer Im Kopf Lokalisation. Trägt man also Kopfhörer, hört man lauter fremde Stimmen in seinem Kopf. Klingt fast nach einem Fall für einen Psychiater. Die Lösung ist hier aber nicht der Besuch beim Arzt, sondern kann technisch über die sogenannte Externalisierung gelöst werden. Dazu später mehr.

    Verteilt man nämlich die Stimme jeder Person im 3D Audio Raum, so wie wir es in der Realität gewohnt sind, erleichtert das die Differenzierbarkeit schlagartig – Spatial Audio machts möglich. So wird eine Gesprächssituation räumlich nachempfinden, wie wir sie aus Meetings, Diskussionen oder dem gemütlichen Beisammensitzen kennen. Genau genommen reicht dazu sogar Stereo, wie dieses Video zeigt:

    Das Beispiel von Highfidelity Gründer Philip Rosedale macht schon mal hörbar in welche Richtung es gehen könnte. Hier fehlt aber vor allem die Räumlichkeit, wie sie auch in der Realität herrscht. Hier wird lediglich mit einem links-rechts Panning gearbeitet. Dadurch wirken die Stimmen sehr nah am Zuhörer. Zu nah, um natürlich zu sein.

    Doch es gibt noch mehr Details, die das Potential der Technologie entlocken würden. Also weiter gehts!

    Mehrwert 2 – Head-Tracking

    Für eine wirklich akkurate Schalllokalisation helfen kleine Kopfbewegungen. Wenn wir im Alltag mit unseren Ohren etwas genauer orten wollen, so bewegen wir meist unbewusst den Kopf. Durch die Änderung des Winkels zur Schallquelle und der damit einhergehenden Änderung der Laufzeit- und Pegelunterschiede zwischen den Ohren können wir Schallquellen noch genauer orten.

    Head-Tracking über Kopfhörer

    Um diese Bewegungen beim Video Call mit einzubeziehen, ist Head-Tracking nötig. Klingt nach einem technischen Aufwand. Doch auch diese Technologie ist im Anmarsch und mittlerweile schon verfügbar. Es gibt sogar mehrere Möglichkeiten die Kopfbewegungen zu messen:

    Apple hat mit den AirPods Pro und den AirPods Max, sowie Samsung mit den Galaxy Buds Pro bereits Head-Tracking-fähige Kopfhörer auf dem Markt – um zwei bekannte Vertreter zu nennen. Weiters gibt es die Möglichkeit externe Head-Tracker zu verwenden, die man an den Kopfhörern befestigt. An dieser Stelle möchte ich auf diesen Blogpost für mehr Informationen verweisen.

    Kopfdrehung über das Videobild der Webcam erfassen

    Nun ist aber nicht jeder im Besitz derartiger Audiogeräte. Die dritte Option ist das Head-Tracking mittels der Webcam und gerade für Desktop-Anwendungen spannend. So in etwa sieht die Gesichtserkennung aus, welche nötig ist, um das 3D Audio Schallfeld in Echtzeit an unsere Kopfbewegung anzupassen:

    video call

    Die Möglichkeit Kopfbewegungen über die Webcam zu ermitteln ist eine eindeutige Win-Win-Situation für spatialisierte Video Calls. Denn ein Video Call setzt eine Kamera voraus wodurch keine zusätzlichen Hardware-Anschaffungen anfallen. Und die nötige Technologie zur Audio-Spatialisierung kann sogar in den Browser integriert werden. Diesbezüglich sind die Kollegen von atmoky ganz vorne dabei und die richtigen Ansprechpartner.

    Video Call ohne Video?

    Etwas weiter gedacht ließe sich durch die Spatialisierung der Stimmen sogar der Videoaspekt vernachlässigen – zumindest wenn es um die Differenzierung der Personen geht. Zudem würde ein spatialisiertes Telefonat ein ganz anderes Präsenz Gefühl der anderen Person vermitteln, also auch auf psychologischer Ebene wirken.

    Es gibt mittlerweile eine Vielzahl von Anbietern solcher Bird View Meeting Places. z.B. gather town, spatial chat oder das bereits erwähnte High Fidelity. Wie das klingt, ist hier zu hören:

    Mehrwert 3 – Zoom Fatigue, Videokonferenz-Erschöpfung

    Personen die mehreren Videokonferenzen pro Tag beiwohnen, kennen das Gefühl wahrscheinlich. Man ist nach dem Video Call wie ausgelaugt, obwohl man vielleicht gar nicht so aktiv dabei war. Dieses Phänomen wird als Zoom Fatigue bezeichnet, also eine gewisse Müdigkeit nach Webmeetings. Dies muss nicht unbedingt etwas mit dem Inhalt des Meetings zu tun haben, sondern mit dem nicht zu ende gedachten Audio!

    Wie schon erwähnt, ist Mono der Standart beim Video-Telefonat und dies verlangt von unserem Gehirn mehr Leistung. Warum? Dadurch, dass alle Stimmen ohne Richtungseindrücke, eben über Mono, auf unsere Ohren treffen, ist das Gehirn damit beschäftigt diese zu differenzieren und zuzuordnen. Dieser Prozess passiert im realen Gespräch ohne diesen Mehraufwand fürs Gehirn – da wir Schallquellen lokalisieren können.

    Dies bestätigt beispielsweise dieses wissenschaftliche Paper. Durch Spatial Audio kann eine realistische richtungsabhängige Szenerie simuliert werden. Die Integration dieser Technologie beim Video Call würde unserem Gehirn also unnötige Denkarbeit ersparen. Demnach wären Meetings angenehmer und letztendlich auch effizienter durch steigende Produktivität.

    Diesen Ansatz zur True-To-Life Communication in Virtual Meetings verfolgt auch das Team von atmoky. Ihre Demo zeigt, wie Spatial Audio in Webmeetings eingesetzt werden kann. So wird eine natürliche akustische Szene zu erzeugt und die Sprachverständlichkeit erhöht. Das Potential des Cocktail-Party-Effektes und des sogenannten Spatial Unmasking sollen so voll ausgeschöpft werden..

    Herausforderungen

    Was man tatsächlich nicht braucht ist ein teures, fancy 3D Mikrophon – auch wenn es hier eine schöne Übersicht gibt 😉 . Es reicht ein ganz normales Mono-Mikrofon am Headset oder das ohnehin im Laptop eingebaute. Denn die Virtualisierung der Räumlichkeit passiert Software-seitig. Dabei werden dem Audiostream Meta-Daten zugeschrieben und das Programm berechnet in Echtzeit, wie das virtuelle Audio klingen muss.

    Ein Problem können dann hörbare Artefakte werden die bei der Datenreduktion als Mono während der Übertragung entstehen können. Doch langfristig ist auch das zu lösen: NVIDIA hat beispielsweise eine Möglichkeit gefunden, das Video anzuzeigen – ohne es überhaupt zu übertragen (siehe Video unten)! Künstliche Intelligenz macht es möglich.

    Ebenso hat NVIDIA mit der RTX Voice Applikation eine unfassbar gute Software zur Geräuschunterdrückung entwickelt. Dadurch können die Stimmen viel klarer ohne Störgeräusche übertragen werden. Das ist beim Einsatz von Spatial Audio natürlich auch vorteilhaft. Dann hört man nicht eine virtuelle Schallquelle mit Lärm des Laptop Gebläses und Tastaturgeklimper. Sondern eine schöne aufpolierte Sprache, wie wir sie aus der Realität kennen.

    Fazit und Lösungen

    Eigentlich ist es verwunderlich, dass bei Video Calls bis jetzt generell so wenig Aufmerksamkeit auf Audio gelegen ist. Auch unabhängig von Corona wäre es schon an der Zeit gewesen hier den nächsten Schritt zu tun. Doch angesichts der inflationär steigenden Stunden die mit Video-Telefonie “dank” der Pandemie verbracht werden, ist eine auditive Weiterentwicklung wohl schon längst überfällig. Man sieht also, dass hier Handlungsbedarf besteht. Die Integration von Spatial Audio in unseren Video-Meeting-Alltag würde sich positiv auf die Produktivität auswirken und am Ende des Tages hätten wir vermutlich mehr Energie und Motivation übrig. Außerdem verbessert es ungemein das Präsenzgefühl der anderen Menschen um noch kurz das Stichwort embodiment zu nennen.

    Daher wollte ich unbedingt auf dieses Alltagsthema aufmerksam machen, das mit dem richtigen Ansatz zur vollen Geltung kommt. Solche Lösungen kann ich mit meinen Kollegen von atmoky auch direkt für Webmeetings, Virtuelle Interaktion, Video Calls und Co anbieten. Also jetzt direkt die genannten Features implementieren – wir helfen bei der Umsetzung

    Kontakt aufnehmen

    Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Wenn Sie diese Webseite weiterhin besuchen, stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies zu. Mehr dazu finden Sie in meiner Datenschutzerklärung.
    Notwendige Cookies
    Tracking
    Auswahl speichern Alles akzeptieren