360° Audio

Munich VR 360 Video Meetup

06.04.2017
Mantro Office München

…goes Spatial Audio

Well, at least partially. Since the MeetUp is a bit camera-heavy for my taste, I took the opportunity to bring 360° sound a bit closer to the VR scene. Like the other day at my workshop at the HFF, I wanted to break down the whole impression to the essentials – but here with much less sound technology (so the "Head Related Transfer Function" was only briefly touched upon 😉

Since there are always some 360° cameras on location, I thought I’d bring along some equipment as well. Among other things, there was my Ambisonics microphone to examine, which you can see very small on the picture above.

i4c – Spring into VR 360°

By the way, the i4c took place at the Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen on the same day. The two events did not overlap, so you could go to the HFF during the day and to the Meetup in the evening.
By the way, at the last i4c Crossing Borders was shown on the Oculus Rift as an app, which is the documentary in the meantime. Means besides the episodes there is also more interactive content, like sound collages and mini-games. Or videos that didn’t make it into the episode, but are too bad not to show.

http://i4c-event.com/

About the event

On 6.4. the VR 360° Video Meetup will take place for the 7th time.

After the i4c event at the HFF we will continue at 19h with the Meetup topic 360° Video at the office of Mantro.

We will present three new 360° camera setups. We are happy to be among the first to already own one of these cameras and at the 360° Meetup you can see them in action.

  • We have the Zcam iZugar Z4XL. 4 Z Cams 4k in sync.
  • Our 8 camera rig based on the YI 4k Cams. Output is 9k. Our new ZCam S1 all-in-one 360° camera with 6k output.

Our guests this time are:

Want to be part of it?

You can participate easily under the following link:

https://www.meetup.com/de-DE/Munich-VR-360-Video-Meetup/events/237751573/

Just make an account, join the group and wait for the next appointment. There is always a lot of news, interesting talks, VR enthusiasts, funny stories. But of course I only come for the food and drinks 😀
Shoutout to Clarence Dadson for organizing this!

Well then – see you next time.

The other day at the Meetup

By the way, at the February 2 meetup, our Vietnam motorcycle travel VR documentary (Crossing Borders) was shown. The audience was able to immerse themselves in the middle of the Cambodian pampas with the episode about an orphanage. This was made possible by Design4Real’s streaming app, which allows a video to play on over 20 Samsung GearVRs simultaneously. It looked something like this:

zurück zu Events

360° Audio

Munich VR 360 Video Meetup

06.04.2017
Mantro Office München

…goes Spatial Audio

Naja, zumindest teilweise. Nachdem das MeetUp für meinen Geschmack etwas Kamera-lastig ist, nutzte ich die Gelegenheit, der VR-Szene doch mal den 360° Sound etwas näher zu bringen. Wie letztens bei meinem Workshop an der HFF wollte ich den gesamten Eindruck kurz auf das Wesentliche runterbrechen – hier aber mit deutlich weniger Tontechnik (die "Head Related Transfer Function" wurde also nur kurz angeschnitten 😉

Nachdem vor Ort auch immer einige 360° Kameras stehen, dachte ich mir, ich bring auch etwas an Equipment mit. So gab es unter anderem mein Ambisonics-Mikrofon zu begutachten, welches man ganz klein auf obigen Bild sieht.

i4c – Spring into VR 360°

Am gleichen Tag fand übrigens in der Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen die i4c statt. Die beiden Events überschnitten sich aber nicht, weswegen man ganz entspannt tagsüber zur HFF und abends zum Meetup gehen konnte.
Bei der letzten i4c wurde übrigens Crossing Borders auf der Oculus Rift als App gezeigt, welche die Doku mittlerweile ist. Heißt neben den Episoden gibt es auch mehr interaktiven Inhalt, wie Soundcollagen und Mini-Games. Oder Videos, die es nicht in die Episode geschafft haben, aber zu schade sind, diese nicht zu zeigen.

http://i4c-event.com/

Über das Event

Am 6.4. findet das VR 360° Video Meetup zum 7. Mal statt.

Nach dem i4c Event in der HFF geht’s bei uns weiter um 19h mit dem Meetup Thema 360° Video im Office von Mantro.

Wir präsentieren euch drei neue 360° Kamerasetups. Wir sind froh unter den ersten zu sein die bereits eine dieser Kameras besitzen und auf dem 360° Meetup könnt ihr sie in Action erleben.

  • Wir haben die Zcam iZugar Z4XL. 4 Z Cams 4k in sync.
  • Unser 8er Kamera Rig basierend auf der YI 4k Cams. Output ist 9k. Unsere neue ZCam S1 all-in-one 360° Kamera mit 6k Output.

Unsere Gäste sind diesmal:

Dabei sein?

Teilnehmen kann man ganz unkompliziert unter folgendem Link:

https://www.meetup.com/de-DE/Munich-VR-360-Video-Meetup/events/237751573/

Einfach einen Account machen, der Gruppe beitreten und auf den nächsten Termin warten. Es gibt immer viele Neuigkeiten, interessante Vorträge, VR-Enthusiasten, lustige Geschichten. Aber ich komme natürlich nur wegen dem Essen und den Getränken 😀
Shoutout an Clarence Dadson für die Organisation!

Also dann – bis zum nächsten Mal.

Neulich beim Meetup

Beim Treffen vom 2. Februar wurde übrigens unserer Vietnam-Motorrad-Reise-VR-Dokumentation (Crossing Borders) gezeigt. Die Zuschauer konnten dabei mit der Episode über ein Waisenhaus mitten in die kambodschanische Pampa eintauchen. Möglich wurde das durch die Streaming App von Design4Real, welche es ermöglicht, ein Video auf über 20 Samsung GearVRs gleichzeitig abzuspielen. Das sah dann ungefähr so aus:

zurück zu Events