Audiocamp 2021 – Connect your ideas (English)

01.09.2021
09:00
Online Event: Zoom

About the Journalism Lab Event

We are happy to invite you again to the Journalism Lab Audiocamp on 1 September 2021. We want to give people from the audio industry space for exchange and discussion at eye level. We already have exciting session proposals, are looking forward to a networking platform provided by the Media Commission of the Media Authority of North Rhine-Westphalia and can also present the results of the "On Track" study series on mobile audio use. Be there!

Martin Rieger is there, of course, with 3D Audio

There’s a breath of fresh air for the ears: Spatial 3D Audio is experiencing a huge buzz due to Apple’s new releases, the Sony Playstation and about 8D Audio videos on YouTube. However, this is not just hype, but heralds the next evolutionary stage of listening. From our natural environment, we humans are used to experiencing our surroundings in three dimensions.

Commercially available headphones now offer the possibility of experiencing 3D audio technology from home. But how can 3D audio become the future? I’ll tell you about what there is to know, how it all sounds and what exciting applications there are and will be in the future.

I’m holding the session together with the automotive experts from Binaurics and I’m looking forward to shedding light on the topic of 3D audio from a technical and creative content perspective.

Audiocamp Instagram Story

Follow-up report

Here is the whole recap by Journalismus Lab and full day Audiocamp. Susanne Lang was even kind enough to write a report on the immersive 3D audio talk, thanks for that!

Immersive 3D Audio. What does the revolution of hearing sound like?

Humans naturally hear in three dimensions. Digital 3D audio can now imitate this more and more. What opportunities does the technology offer? This was discussed by sound engineers Martin Rieger from VRTonung, Detlef Wiese and Hauke Krüger from Binaurics at the Audiocamp.

Sometimes the digital revolution leads back to the origin. 3D audio or immersive audio is such a revolution, which enables spatial listening via special microphones and digital technology.

"The three-dimensional audio experience corresponds to our natural listening habit," Martin Rieger explained at the Audiocamp session on 3D audio.

People automatically hear all sounds in a room, not just a separated voice as is usual with stereo transmissions. Together with audio experts Detlef Wiese and Hauke Krüger from the production company Binaurics, Rieger presented the possibilities of the new technology in the session – and what better way than with a live experiment.

3D Audio for the feeling of being there

The perceived closeness at a real distance was particularly valuable for pupils who had purely online or alternate lessons for long periods during Corona-related lockdowns. This was the conclusion reached by sound engineer Hauke Krüger, who had started an experiment with 3D audio in his children’s classrooms during homeschooling. FlOhrin, an immersive avatar, was set up in the classrooms on site at the school.

It had the shape of a human head and was equipped with a camera and microphones that guaranteed a three-dimensional listening experience.

"Flohrin was the eyes and ears for all the pupils who followed the lessons from home," said Krüger.

The children took a more active part in the events and were able to concentrate better and longer, said Krüger. Following the school experiment, Krüger had also tested the technology in a live streaming from the church – with similar results:

The participants at home had the feeling of being there on the spot. So the conclusion of the sound experts was obvious where 3D technology could be used in the future: in the broadcasting of events, concerts, sporting events and discussions, but also in cars, in the production of commercials and audio books as well as in the gaming industry.

Audiocamp 360 Video Tiny Planet

The potential for future audio productions

As beautiful as this all sounds in the truest sense of the word, there was one objection from the audience: the dummy head is not really new, Philipp Reinartz noted, the technology dates back to the 1920s. "What exactly is the potential?" he asked.

For Martin Rieger, the answer clearly lies in the digital possibilities. "With new spatialisers, the sound can be brought into virtual space, so that the sound field moves with it when the sound source moves."

Rieger had a convincing example of this: a commercial for the Chiemsee tourism region. In it, a man speaks as he rides across the lake on a standup paddleboard. With digital immersive technology, the sounds of the environment change parallel to the head movements of the man on the board. This also eliminates the need for headphones, which are still necessary for the pre-stage of immersive audio, the so-called binaural audio as in Kunstkopf Flohrin.

Audiocamp 360 Video SUP

Q&A

Detlef Wiese added that fundamentally, however, people’s accessibility has also changed.

"Everyone now owns headphones and uses them every day."

However, since hardly anyone owns a dummy head, another question arose for Valerie Wagner at the end of the session: "What do you need to produce a 3D podcast?" Definitely not expensive equipment, Martin Rieger assured her. More problematic than the hardware on offer, he sees the rare use of the technology.

"There is hardly any well-made 3D audio content because few know what works better here than with stereo," said Rieger. But that, too, is likely to change soon.

Here are more innovations
This website uses cookies. If you continue to visit this website, you consent to the use of cookies. You can find more about this in my Privacy policy.
Necessary cookies
Tracking
Accept selection Accept everything

Audiocamp 2021 – Connect your ideas (Deutsch)

01.09.2021
09:00 Uhr
Online Event: Zoom

Über das Journalismuslab Event

Wir freuen uns, dass wir Euch am 1. September 2021 wieder zum Audiocamp des Journalismus Lab einladen können. Wir möchten Menschen aus der Audiobranche eine Raum geben für Austausch und Diskussion auf Augenhöhe. Wir haben schon spannende Session-Vorschläge vorliegen, freuen uns auf eine Netzwerkplattform bereitgestellt von der Medienkommission der Landesanstalt für Medien NRW und können Euch zudem noch die Ergebnisse der Studienreihe „On Track“ zu mobiler Audionutzung vorstellen. Seid dabei!

Martin Rieger ist natürlich mit 3D Audio dabei

Es gibt frischen Wind auf die Ohren: Spatial 3D Audio erfährt durch Apple’s neue Releases, der Sony Playstation und etwa 8D Audio Videos auf YouTube einen riesen Wirbel. Dabei handelt es sich aber nicht um einen Hype, sondern läutet die nächste Evolutionsstufe des Hören ein. Wir Menschen sind es aus unserer natürlichen Umgebung gewohnt, unsere Umwelt dreidimensional zu erfahren.

Mit handelsübliche Kopfhörer bieten sich nun die Möglichkeit, die 3D Audio-Technologie auch von zu Hause erlebbar zu machen. Doch wie kann 3D Audio die Zukunft werden? Ich erzähle euch darüber was es zu wissen gibt, wie das Ganze klingt und was für spannende Anwendungen es gibt und noch geben wird.

Die Session halte ich zusammen mit den Automotive Experten von Binaurics und freue mich darauf das Thema 3D Audio aus technische und kreativer Content Sicht zu beleuchten.

Audiocamp Instagram Story

Nachbericht

Hier ist der ganze Nachbericht vom Journalismus Lab und ganzen Tag Audiocamp. Susanne Lang war sogar so nett einen Bericht zum immersiven 3D Audio Vortrag zu schreiben, danke dafür!

Immersives 3D Audio. Wie klingt die Revolution des Hörens?

Menschen hören von Natur aus dreidimensional. Digitales 3D-Audio kann dies nun immer besser imitieren. Welche Chancen stecken in der Technik? Das diskutierten die Toningenieure Martin Rieger von VRTonung, Detlef Wiese und Hauke Krüger von Binaurics auf dem Audiocamp.

Manchmal führt die digitale Revolution zurück zum Ursprung. 3D Audio oder immersives Audio ist so eine Revolution, die über spezielle Mikrofone und digitale Technik räumliches Hören ermöglicht.

„Das dreidimensionale Audioerlebnis entspricht unserer natürlichen Hörgewohnheit“, erklärte Martin Rieger auf der Audiocamp-Session zu 3D Audio.

Menschen hören automatisch alle Geräusche in einem Raum, nicht nur eine separierte Stimme wie bei Stereoübertragungen üblich. Gemeinsam mit den Audioexperten Detlef Wiese und Hauke Krüger von der Produktionsfirma Binaurics stellte Rieger die Möglichkeiten der neuen Technik in der Session vor – und wie ginge das besser als mit einem Liveexperiment.

3D Audio für das Gefühl vor Ort zu sein

Besonders wertvoll war die gefühlte Nähe bei realer Distanz für SchülerInnen, die während der Corona bedingten Lockdowns über längere Zeiträume reinen Online- oder Wechselunterricht hatten. Zu dieser Erkenntnis kam Toningenieur Hauke Krüger, der in den Schulklassen seiner Kinder während des Homeschoolings ein Experiment mit 3D Audio gestartet hatte. In den Klassenräumen vor Ort in der Schule wurde FlOhrin aufgestellt, ein immersiver Avatar.

Er hatte die Form eines menschlichen Kopfes und war bestückt mit Kamera und Mikrofonen, die das dreidimensionale Hörerlebnis garantierten.

„Flohrin war Auge und Ohr für alle SchülerInnen, die den Unterricht von zuhause aus verfolgten“, sagte Krüger.

Die Kinder nahmen aktiver am Geschehen teil und konnten sich besser und länger konzentrieren, so Krüger. Im Anschluss an das Schulexperiment hatte Krüger die Technik ebenfalls bei einem Livestreaming aus der Kirche gestestet – mit ähnlichem Ergebnis:

Die Teilnehmenden zuhause hatten das Gefühl, vor Ort dabei zu sein. Naheliegend war also das Fazit der Tonexperten, wo die 3D-Technik zukünftig vor allem zum Einsatz kommen könnte: bei der Übertragung von Events, Konzerten, Sportereignissen und Diskussionsrunden, aber auch in Autos, bei der Produktion von Werbespots und Hörbüchern sowie in der Gaming-Industrie.

Audiocamp 360 Video Tiny Planet

Das Potential für zukünftige Audio-Produktionen

So schön das im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes alles klingt, einen Einwand gab es aus dem Publikum: Wirklich neu sei der Kunstkopf nun nicht, merkte Philipp Reinartz an, die Technik stamme aus den 20er Jahren. „Worin genau besteht nun das Potenzial?", fragte er.

Die Antwort liegt für Martin Rieger ganz klar in den digitalen Möglichkeiten. „Mit neuen Spatializern lässt sich der Ton in den virtuellen Raum bringen, so dass sich das Schallfeld mit bewegt, wenn sich die Tonquelle bewegt."

Dafür hatte Rieger ein überzeugendes Beispiel: einen Werbespot für die Tourismusregion Chiemsee. Darin spricht ein Mann, der auf einem Standup-Paddelboard über den See fährt. Mit der digitalen immersiven Technik verändern sich die Geräusche der Umgebung parallel zu den Kopfbewegungen des Mannes auf dem Board. Dafür brauche man auch keine Kopfhörer mehr, die für die Vorstufe des immersiven Audios, das sogenannte binaurale Audio wie bei Kunstkopf Flohrin, noch nötig sind.

Audiocamp 360 Video SUP

Fragerunde

Detlef Wiese fügte hinzu, dass sich grundsätzlich aber auch die Erreichbarkeit der Menschen verändert hat.

"Jeder besitzt nun Kopfhörer und nutzt sie täglich."

Da jedoch kaum jemand einen Kunstkopf besitzt, stellte sich zum Abschluss der Session für Valerie Wagner noch eine andere Frage: „Was braucht man für die Produktion eines 3D-Podcasts?“ Auf jeden Fall keine teure Ausrüstung, versicherte Martin Rieger. Problematischer als das Hardware-Angebot, sieht er den seltenen Einsatz der Technik.

„Es existiert kaum gut gemachter 3D-Audio-Content, weil wenige wissen, was hier besser funktioniert als mit Stereo“, so Rieger. Aber auch das wird sich wohl bald ändern.

Hier gibt es noch mehr Innovationen