AES AVAR

AES AVAR 2018 (Audio for Virtual and Augmented Reality)

20.08.2018 - 22.08.2018
DigiPen Institute of Technology, Redmond, WA USA

AES AVAR 2018, advertised "Audio Engineering Society, International Conference on Audio for Virtual and Augmented Reality" will be held for the second time.

Program

The program can be viewed at: https://www.aes.org/conferences/2018/avar/program.cfm. Over three days, it includes numerous exciting presentations, workshops, as well as coffee and lunch breaks where you can exchange ideas with other participants.

VRTonung will be there

On the afternoon of the first day of the conference, I’ll be giving my talk entitled "Sound for challenging 360 productions ". In it, I’ll talk about 360° productions under challenging conditions for sound recording on location and in post-production. Working with 360° fimes poses a whole new set of challenges for sound recording and sound design and requires new approaches than in traditional audio production. In this talk, I will present ways to master difficult recording situations on set and then post-process them to get a great soundscape even in unusual environments. As examples I use my recordings of dialogues on moving motorcycles and ski stunts in snowy mountains.

Review

Personal highlight

USA has a very different mindset than in Europe. It’s always inspiring to see the scale of thinking here. And yet a certain skepticism is appropriate in places – you don’t have to believe everything.

Even after the official agenda, there was a lot on offer. Another highlight was the visit to Valve Corporation, who invited us to their office in Seattle with a view over the city. The great thing about international events is that top-class audiences really do come from all over the world. But the U.S. also has something to offer, with representatives from Microsoft, Apple, Amazon, Facebook, Oculus, Magic Leap. You just had the feeling "everyone is there."

Fun Facts

The three-day event was held at the DigiPen Institute of Technology. This meant that lunch was also served directly in the canteen. Even though it was mostly just canteen pizza I was surprised every time that the food was really good. Admittedly, not healthy, and after a week enough fast food – but this is also something the Americans are good at 😉

AES AVAR

AES AVAR 2018 (Audio for Virtual and Augmented Reality)

20.08.2018 - 22.08.2018
DigiPen Institute of Technology, Redmond, WA USA

Die AES AVAR 2018, ausgeschrieben "Audio Engineering Society, International Conference on Audio for Virtual and Augmented Reality" findet zum zweiten Mal statt.

Programm

Das Programm ist einsehbar unter: https://www.aes.org/conferences/2018/avar/program.cfm. Es beinhaltet über drei Tage zahlreiche spannende Vorträge, Workshops, aber auch Coffee und Lunch Breaks, bei denen man sich mit anderen Teilnehmern austauschen kann.

VRTonung ist dabei

Am Nachmittag des ersten Tages der Konferenz halte ich meinen Vortrag mit dem Titel "Sound for challenging 360 productions ". Dabei spreche ich über 360° Produktionen unter herausfordernden Bedingungen für die Tonaufnahmen vor Ort und in der Postproduktion. Die Arbeit mit 360° Fimen stellt die Tonaufnahme und Tongestaltung vor ganz neue Herausforderungen und fordert neue Herangehensweisen als in der klassischen Audio Produktion. In diesem Vortrag stelle ich Wege vor, wie man schwierge Aufnahmesituationen am Set meistert und diese anschließend nachbearbeitet um auch in ungewöhnlichen Umgebungen eine tolle Soundkulisse zu bekommen. Als Beispiele nutze ich meine Aufnahmen von Dialogen auf fahrenden Motorrädern und Ski-Stunts in verschneiten Bergen.

Nachbericht

Persönliches Highlight

USA hat ein ganz anderes Mindset als in Europa. Es ist immer wieder inspirierend zu sehen, in welchen Maßstäben hier gedacht wird. Und dennoch ist stellenweise eine gewisse Skepsis angebracht – man muss ja nicht alles glauben.

Auch nach der offiziellen Agenda war viel geboten. So war ein weiterer Höhepunkt der Besuch bei Valve Corporation, die nach Seattle in ihr Büro mit Blick über die Stadt einluden. Das tolle bei internationalen Veranstaltungen ist, dass wirklich aus aller Welt hochkarätiges Publikum anreist. Aber auch die USA hat etwas zu bieten, mit Vertretern von Microsoft, Apple, Amazon, Facebook, Oculus, Magic Leap. Man hatte einfach das Gefühl “alle sind da”.

Fun-Facts

Die dreitägige Veranstaltung fand im DigiPen Institute of Technology statt. Damit gab es den Lunch auch direkt in der Mensa. Auch wenn es meistens einfach Kantinen Pizza gab war ich jedes Mal überrascht, dass das Essen trotzdem gut ist. Zugegeben, nicht gesund und nach einer Woche dann auch wieder genug aber Fast Food können die Amerikaner 😉