DE
EN

VR Boxing Worldchampion (ranFIGHTING Pro7 Sat1)

Recording
Sound Design
Mixing

Protagonist of this 360° film is Tina Rupprecht, WBC World Championship in Minimum Weight and shows her journey from the preparation in training to the fight as a VR Boxing Experience in her hometown Augsburg.

The video cannot be embedded externally from Facebook but can be viewed here . Due to the data compression it is not necessarily suitable for the audiophile viewer, but not only that:
Since the entire VR production (concept, recording, stitching, sound mixing) was to be finished before Christmas, we effectively had one week to deliver a finished 360° video ready for upload to Social Media Facebook. So, shame on me, only mixed as stereo, which was the best compromise, because most users could see the video anyway via smartphone, probably without headphones, and I could only make sound recordings myself during the boxing match. Spatial sound and 3D audio will hopefully forgive me because anything else would be production madness and like that it was possible to finalize the project in spite of the tight deadline.

I think that when it comes to immersive sports, VR boxing, i.e. the transmission of boxes in 360° as a live stream or recording, is probably one of the cases that make the most sense to me in 360° video form. Let the audience be emotionally involved with the ambiance of the stadium with the sound and experience up close how the fists fly in front of the eyes. Even for people who are not necessarily fans of boxing, VR Boxing may be interesting.

Even though the VR project had to go pretty fast, I had the opportunity to make a small comparison between the Zoom H3-VR mobile phone recorder and the Sennheiser AMBEO® VR Mic – 3D AUDIO microphone in combination with the Zoom F8 MultiTrack Field Recorder.
It was also quite a challenge from a sound engineering point of view to record the entrance from the boxer’s perspective, which ran from 100% original sound into the mix. Thanks to GEMA, the song Sail by Awolnation could be taken over, which is quite unusual, but Pro7 Sat1 makes it possible for the broadcast, which took place in cooperation with Petkos Boxpromotion. In addition, there was a TV broadcast van outside the door where I was able to record the entire live stream, thanks to the colleagues for the cooperation.

I was happy to work with Matthias Taugwalder from Concept360, a real 360° video and panorama photo veteran.

DE
EN

VR Boxing Worldchampion (ranFIGHTING Pro7 Sat1)

Aufnahme
Sounddesign
Mischung

Protagonisten dieses 360° Films ist Tina Rupprecht, WBC-Weltmeisterschaft im Minimumgewicht und zeigt die Reise von der Vorbereitung im Training bis hin zum Kampf als VR Boxing Experience in ihrer Heimat Augsburg.

Das Video kann nicht von Facebook extern eingebettet werden, aber hier angesehen werden. Aufgrund der Datenkompression ist es aber nicht unbedingt für den audiophilen Zuschauer geeignet, aber nicht nur das:
Weil die gesamte VR-Produktion (also Konzept, Aufnahme, Stitching, Sound-Mixing) vor Weihnachten fertig werden sollte, hatten wir effektiv eine Woche Zeit, um von Drehschluss ein fertiges 360° Video, fertig für den Upload zu Social Media Facebook anzuliefern. Deswegen, shame on me, nur als Stereo gemischt, was aber der beste Kompromiss war, da die meisten Nutzer sowieso über Smartphone, wahrscheinlich ohne Kopfhörer das Video sehen und ich auch nur beim Boxkampf selber Tonaufnahmen vor Ort machen konnte. Spatial Sound und 3D-Audio werden es mir hoffentlich verzeihen, denn alles andere wäre produktionstechnischer Wahnsinn und nur so war es möglich die Deadline einzuhalten.

Ich finde, dass in Sachen immersiver Sport das VR Boxing, also die Übertragung von Boxen in 360° als Livestream oder Aufzeichnung, wohl einer der Fälle ist, die für mich in 360° Video Form am meisten Sinn machen. Den Zuschauer mit der Stimmung im Saal über den Ton emotional dabei sein lassen und hautnah zu miterleben, wie vor den Augen die Fäuste fliegen. Selbst für Leute die, nicht unbedingt Fans von Boxen sind, ist VR Boxing wohl durchaus interessant.

Auch wenn das VR-Projekt ziemlich schnell gehen musste, hatte ich die Gelegenheit, einen kleinen Vergleich zwischen dem Zoom H3-VR Handy Recorder und dem Sennheiser AMBEO® VR Mic – 3D AUDIO Mikrofon in Kombination mit dem Zoom F8 MultiTrack Field Recorder zu machen.
Außerdem war es aus tontechnischer Sicht eine ziemliche Herausforderung, die Szene vom Einlaufen der Boxerin aufzunehmen, die hier aus 100% O-Ton in die Mischung lief. Dank GEMA konnte der Song Sail von Awolnation übernommen werden, was ziemlich ungewöhnlich ist, aber Pro7 Sat1 machen es möglich für die Übertragung, die in Kooperation mit Petkos Boxpromotion stattfand. Darüber hinaus stand ein Fernseher Übertragungs-Wagen vor der Tür, wo ich den gesamten Livestream mitschneiden konnte, danke an die Kollegen für die Zusammenarbeit.

Ich habe mich gefreut mit Matthias Taugwalder von Concept360 zusammen zu arbeiten, einem echten 360° Video und Panorama-Foto Urgestein.