Spar Stickermania Augment Reality

SPAR Stickermania Augmented Reality

Stickermania? You never heard of it? All right, in Germany, we know it more as Panini collectors’ pictures. The principle is simple. You buy the scrapbook and collect the stickers. But the exciting question: What has Augmented Reality got to do with the supermarket chain Spar.at?

Collection book meets AR Application

It’s very simple. In addition to the book, an app is available for free in the Google Play Store and Apple App Store. By the way, it has already been downloaded over 50.000+. With it, you can scan the stickers digitally. This is where the fun really starts. Because real animals were transformed into 3D models in order to create funny animations. The whole thing happens for example in the living room at home via AR. With the augmented reality application, the animals can then be placed in any environment. Visible, through the camera of the smartphone and enhanced via the Google ARCore.

Stickermania AR App

Augmented Audio Reality

That alone looks funny, but of course, it also needs the right sound. This is where I came into play by adding sparkling sound effects and music in a child-friendly way. Besides the title music, which can be heard in the video above, I also designed loopable mini-titles for the 16 augmented animals in an African style. For example:

  • Mountain gorilla dancing Schuhplattler, accompanied by African drums and an accordion
  • Spider jumping rope with its own thread, creating stringy booing sounds
  • Hippopotamus, that makes its hips turn to belly dance music
  • etc.

Spar Stickermania Augment Reality AR Spar Stickermania Augment Reality AR Spar Stickermania Augment Reality AR

The mini-game is also lovingly designed in the form of a labyrinth, which can be accessed via the augmented reality function and 6 DoF (degrees of freedom). Also here, a creepy, funny surprise lurk, like a mummy. If this is defeated, the triumphal score sound can be heard, based on the title music. Thus the AR sound is completely cast from one piece.

A lot of music content to discover

In total, three soundtracks for the menu, the explanation video, and the labyrinth where composed. Then five jingles, depending on whether the sticker was scanned successfully or you ran into a trap in the labyrinth for example. And the heart of the game, the 16 animations of the 3D animals, each with its own specially composed music. As well as matching sound effects with a certain amount of humor.

Spar Stickermania Augment Reality AR

Entertaining and Educational

The great thing about it is that by simply collecting the pictures, the children are offered an added value that is not only entertaining. Gamification is a playful way of practicing the use of new technologies. Like here smartphones and augmented reality.
The challenge for AR Audioproduktion was on the one hand to create sounds that are catchy and child-friendly, but on the other hand not tiring. Especially the title music is played again and again in the menu, but even after the hundredth time, one is not inclined to throw the phone away. I should know, after hearing the audio objects at least as often.

Spar Stickermania Augment Reality AR

Spar Stickermania Augment Reality

SPAR Stickermania Augmented Reality

Stickermania? Noch nie gehört? Na gut, in Deutschland kennt man das Ganze eher als Panini Sammelbilder. Das Prinzip ist einfach. Man kauft sich das Sammelbuch und sammelt die Sticker. Doch die spannede Frage: Was hat Augmented Reality mit der Supermarkt-Kette Spar.at zu tun?

Sammelbuch trifft auf AR Anwendung

Ganz einfach. Zusätzlich zum Buch ist nämlich eine App im Google Play Store und Apple App Store kostenlos erhältlich. Nebenbei bemerkt wurde sie schon über 50.000+ heruntergeladen. Mit dieser lassen sich die Sticker digital einscannen lassen. Damit geht der Spaß erst richtig los. Denn hier wurden echte Tiere als 3D Modelle zu lustigen Animationen bewegt. Das Ganze passiert etwa im heimischen Wohnzimmer über AR. Mit der Augmented Reality Anwendung lassen sich die Tier dann in eine beliebige Umgebung setzen. Sichtbar, durch die Kamera des Smartphones und erweitert über das Google ARCore.

Stickermania AR App

Augmented Audio Reality

Das alleine sieht schon skurril aus, doch braucht natürlich auch den richtigen Sound. Hier kam ich ins Spiel und vertonte die Anwendung kindergerecht mit kunterbunten Soundeffekten und Musiken. Neben der Titelmusik, die im Video oben zu hören ist, gestaltete ich auch loopbare Mini-Titel für die 16 augmentierten Tiere im afrikanischen Stil. Zum Beispiel:

  • Berggorilla, der Schuhplattler tanzt und von Afrikanischen Trommeln und einem Akkordion begleitet wird
  • Spinne, die mit ihrem eigenen Faden Seilspringt, mit saitigen Boing Sounds
  • Nilpferd, dass zu Bauchtanz-Musik die Hüften kreisen lässt
  • etc.

Spar Stickermania Augment Reality AR Spar Stickermania Augment Reality AR Spar Stickermania Augment Reality AR

Liebevoll gestaltet ist auch das Minigame in Form eines Labyrinths, dass über die Augmented Reality Funktion und 6 DoF (Degrees of Freedom) begangen werden kann. Auch hier lauern gruselige, komische Überraschungen, wie eine Mumie. Wird diese bezwungen, ertönt die triumphale Musik, basierend auf der Titelmusik. Somit ist der AR Sound komplett aus einem Guss.

Viel Musikinhalte zu entdecken

In Summe also drei Soundtracks für das Menu, das Erklär-Video, das Labyrinth. Dann fünf Jingles, je nachdem ob etwa der Sticker erfolgreich eingescannt wurde oder man im Labyrinth in eine Falle gelaufen ist. Und das Herzstück, die 16 Animationen der 3D Tiere, welche jeweils eine eigens komponierte Musik haben, sowie passende Soundeffekte mit einem gewissen Humor.

Spar Stickermania Augment Reality AR

Unterhaltsam und Lehrreich

Das Tolle daran ist, dass über das reine Sammeln der Bildchen den Kindern ein Mehrwert geboten wird, der nicht nur unterhaltsam ist. Denn mit Gamification wird spielerisch der Umgang mit neuen Technologien geübt. Wie hier Smartphones und Augmented Reality.
Die Herausforderung für die AR Audioproduktion war einerseits Töne zu schaffen, die eingängig kinderfreundlich sind, aber andererseits auch nicht ermüdend wirken. Gerade die Titelmusik wird im Menu immer wieder aufgerufen, aber selbst nach dem hundertsten Mal ist man nicht geneigt, das Handy wegzuwerfen. Ich muss es ja wissen, nachdem ich die Audioobjekte mindestens so oft gehört habe.

Spar Stickermania Augment Reality AR