DE
EN

Virtual Reality Sound

… places entirely new demands on the sound, be it from a technical or creative point of view. Simplified it can be said that the virtual reality sound is supposed to create a three-dimensional audio impression, although it is usually only played back via headphones.
It can be guessed that this is not at all easy, although I don’t want to go into too much detail with technical terms like "binaural" and "Head-Related Transfer Function". In order to get a good overview of the sound of 360° videos, the most important facts are summarized here.

Overlook, yes – Overhear, no!

A decisive difference from the visual and auditory level is the following fact: video elements can easily be missed, but sound elements not. Only the feel of direction varies, which means that the sound is the only way to subtly lead the viewer in one direction. You direct its gaze to the important elements in the picture and thus you can ensure that no major details of the scene remain undiscovered.

This approach is particularly interesting if the 360° video concept takes this point into account in advance, and like that creates completely new ways of playing the plot, which is essential for storytelling in virtual reality.

It doesn’t have to be a copy of reality

Since the beginning of surround formats, the goal has often been to create a sound image that is as close to reality as possible for the listener. Virtual reality sound, in particular, seems to be also ambitious about it.

But I disagree. Through the targeted guidance of the viewer’s attention, it becomes clear that it is not always ideal to take reality as a guide because too many sounds quickly overload the viewer. Much more, it has to be decided, what is important for a scene, in order to be able to have an influence on the line of vision and not to distract attention with unimportant sounds.

Spatial sound isn’t just "nice to have".

Cinema-goers are ready to enjoy a surround-sound experience at a good price. But whether it’s stereo or surround, at the end of the day it’s a nice add-on (and I say that as an enthusiast for immersive audio). However, this setting is not transferable to 360-degree videos, since the entire surroundings of VR are portrayed in spherical form, and not, as in the cinema, only a section of the scene is shown.

On the contrary: the stereo sound can actually be noticed as a broken sound, which can destroy the immersion that one has tried to build up with the image. There are very few good reasons to fall back on static sound for virtual reality sound experiences and like that it is very obvious that the potential of the medium has not been exhausted by far.

Sure, that’s what the sound guy says, but imagine this: You wear a VR-headset and turn your head: the image rotates with head-tracking, but the sound does not… even the layman notices quickly, something is not right here 😉

back to blog

DE
EN

Virtual Reality Sound

… stellt an den Ton ganz neue Anforderungen, sei es aus technischer oder kreativer Sicht. Vereinfacht lässt sich sagen, dass der Virtual Reality Sound einen dreidimensionalen Höreindruck erzeugen soll, obwohl er meist nur über Kopfhörer wiedergegeben wird.
Es lässt sich erahnen, dass das gar nicht so einfach ist, wobei ich mit Fachbegriffen wie "binaural" und "Head-Related Transfer Function" auch nicht gleich zu sehr ins Detail gehen will. Um trotzdem einen guten Überblick für den Sound zu 360° Videos zu bekommen, sind hier die wichtigsten Fakten zusammengefasst.

Übersehen, ja – Überhören, nein!

Ein maßgeblicher Unterschied von der visuellen und auditiven Ebene ist folgende Tatsache: Bildelemente können schnell mal übersehen werden, Tonelemente aber nicht überhört. Lediglich die Richtungswahrnehmung ist anders, was anderes herum bedeutet, dass der Ton die einzige Möglichkeit ist, den Zuschauer subtil in eine Richtung zu lenken. Man steuert seinen Blick zu den wichtigen Elementen im Bild und kann somit gewährleisten, dass keine wesentlichen Details der Szene unentdeckt bleiben.

Besonders interessant ist dieser Ansatz, wenn das 360° Video Konzept im Vornherein diesen Punkt berücksichtigt und somit ganz neue Spielmöglichkeiten für die Handlung geschaffen werden können, was für storytelling in virtual reality essentiell ist.

Es muss keine Kopie der Realität sein

Schon seit Beginn der Surround-Formate war oft das Ziel, ein möglichst realitätsnahes Klangbild für den Zuhörer zu schaffen. Gerade bei Virtual Reality Sound scheint es ebenfalls strebsam zu sein.

Doch ich bin anderer Meinung. Durch die gezielte Führung des Blicks wird klar, dass es nicht immer sinnvoll ist, die Realität als Vorbild zu nehmen, da zu viele Sounds den Betrachter auch schnell überladen. Es muss viel mehr entschieden werden, was für eine Szene wichtig ist, um einen Einfluss auf die Blickrichtung gewinnen zu können und nicht durch unwichtige Töne abzulenken.

Spatial Sound ist nicht “nice to have”

Kinobesucher sind bereit sich ein Surround-Sound Erlebnis auch gut was kosten zu lassen. Doch ob Stereo oder Surround, am Ende des Tages ist es ein nettes Feature (und das sag ich als Enthusiast für immersives Audio). Diese Einstellung ist aber nicht auf 360 Grad Videos übertragbar, da bei VR die komplette Umgebung kugelförmig abgebildet wird, und nicht, wie im Kino, nur ein Ausschnitt der Szene zeigt.

Ganz im Gegenteil ist hier also der Stereo-Ton eigentlich als falscher Ton anzusehen, der die Immersion kaputt machen kann, welche man versucht hat, mit dem Bild aufzubauen. Es gibt sehr wenige gute Gründe, bei einem Virtual Reality Sound Erlebnis auf statischen Ton zurückzugreifen und zeigt sehr offensichtlich, dass hier das Potential des Medium bei weitem nicht ausgeschöpft wurde.

Klar, das sagt jetzt der Tonmann, aber stellen Sie sich folgendes vor: Sie haben eine VR-Brille auf und drehen den Kopf: Das Bild dreht sich mit dem Head-Tracking, aber der Ton nicht… selbst der Laie merkt schnell, hier stimmt doch was nicht 😉

zurück zum Blog