DE
EN

Mentoring (Talks, Workshops, Research)

Mentoring is a bit of a high-pitched word, but what does it mean to me? For the last years, I’ve mainly been doing 360° videos and virtual reality content probably like nobody else in Germany. It didn’t take me long to realize:
We are just beginning to discover the new realities.
That’s why I set myself the goal of creating a stronger awareness for immersive audio because 360° sound is exactly what I was looking for in my life.

Therefore, I want to push the topic aside to my work as a sound recordist and re-recording engineer, by:

  • speaking at events such as Medientage Munich, Audio Engineering Society (AES Milan), 2018 AES International Conference on Audio for Virtual and Augmented Reality (AES AVAR), SoundsInSpace Symposium Derby and varies VR/360°, VR MeetUps…
  • giving workshops such as the 360° sound masterclass, SAE Institute, HOFA College…
  • mentoring for Bachelor and Master theses and participating xR-Creators-Lab (Creative Europe Media training)
  • publishing dedicated knowledge on my blog VR-Sound for the VR-community

Sound has always played a rather thankless role in connection with moving images, and that’s exactly why I find that it needs to be rethought, especially in the area of virtual reality sound. As already mentioned so often, I like to say that things in VR can be overlooked, but not overheard. There are so many new possibilities that haven’t been tried out yet, or which we don’t know anything about yet.
But the whole topic is too big for me to be able and willing to take care of it on my own, which is why I want to contribute to doing justice to the topic and that’s best done with … what’s so nice called … Mentoring.

Best regards Martin

DE
EN

Mentoring (Vorträge, Workshops, Forschung)

Mentoring ist ja schon so ein hochgestochenes Wort, aber was bedeutet es für mich? Die letzten Jahre habe ich, wie wohl kaum einer in Deutschland, nichts anderes mache, als 360° Videos und Virtual Reality Inhalte zu vertonen, ist mir etwas klar geworden:
Wir sind gerade erst am Anfang, die neuen Realitäten zu entdecken.
Darum habe ich es mir zum Ziel gesetzt, ein stärkeres Bewusstsein für immersives Audio zu schaffen, weil 360° Sound genau das ist, was ich in meinem Leben gesucht habe.

Deswegen will ich neben meiner Tätigkeit als Tonmeister beim Set-Recording und in der Post-Produktion das Thema VR-Audio weiter vorantreiben, in dem ich:

  • Vorträge halte wie bei Medientagen München, Audio Engineering Society Milan (AES Milan), 2018 AES International Conference on Audio for Virtual and Augmented Reality (AES AVAR), SoundsInSpace Symposium Derby und sämtlichen VR/360° MeetUps…
  • Workshops gebe bei der HFF Masterclass HandsOn xK, SAE Institute, HOFA College…
  • als Mentoring für Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten und dem xR-Creators-Lab (Creative Europe Media training) zur Verfügung stehe…
  • auf meinem Blog VR-Sound gesammeltes Wissen zur Nutzung durch die VR-Community stelle…

Ton hat im Zusammenhang mit Bewegtbild schon immer eine ziemlich undankbare Rolle und doch finde ich, dass es gerade im Bereich Virtual Reality Sound neu gedacht werden muss. Wie schon so oft erwähnt sage ich gerne, dass Dinge in VR gerne übersehen, aber nicht überhört werden können. Es gibt so viele neue Möglichkeiten, die noch nicht ausprobiert wurden, oder welche von denen wir noch gar nichts wissen.
Da ganze Thema ist aber zu groß, als dass ich mich alleine darum kümmern kann und will, weswegen ich dazu beitragen will, der Thematik gerecht zu werden und das macht man am besten mit … wie heißtes so schön … Mentoring.

Beste Grüße Martin