DE
EN

#EUSAVESLIVES (VR Experience)

Recording
Sound Design
Spatial Sound Mix
Mixing
Distribution

One of my absolute favorite projects so far has been to carry out a VR Experience for the European Commission.

DG-ECHO (European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations) is active worldwide and yet it was not only unknown to me before. Through a virtual reality experience, citizens can now live to see how the EU is helping to save lives worldwide.

Thus, I had the chance to travel to Belgium, Denmark and Bangladesh to film three 360° videos, which can be watched later in the VR app. The whole installation is traveling through Europe, which can be exhibited here: https://ec.europa.eu/echo/resources-campaigns/campaigns/eusaveslives_en

In Belgium, the ERCC (Emergency Response Coordination Centre) is the command center from which crises are being coordinated, how the name already tells it. In Denmark, an earthquake exercise shows teams from all over Europe being trained for emergencies.
In Bangladesh, the Rohingya refugee camp can be seen and how various aid organizations are improving the situation.

The 360° film was shot with a Kandao Obsidian, which turned out to be a good choice with great flexibility, even under extreme conditions, which existed in almost every country. For the sound, it was a corresponding challenge to work with immersive, multi-channel microphones, while you still have to collect sounds based on objects and wire up protagonists at the same time. And despite this, you still have to collect atmospheres and wild tracks, but nothing is impossible.

The recorded 360° videos were then brought into a VR Experience as an app, which could be controlled from the EU’s comment center and navigated through the various scenarios. The Samsung GearVR was the answer because the Oculus Go was not available on the market in time for its launch.

Exactly such projects motivate me because I could supervise the shooting with 360° sound on location, took over the mixing and the sound design of the 360° videos and also provided the interactive sound elements of the VR Experience. This is what I call 360° Sound Production.

DE
EN

#EUSAVESLIVES (VR Experience)

Aufnahme
Sounddesign
Spatial Soundmix
Mischung
Distribution

Eines meiner absoluten Lieblingsprojekte bisher durfte ich eine VR Experience für die Europäische Kommission durchführen.

Die Abteilung DG-ECHO (Europäisches Amt für humanitäre Hilfe und Katastrophenschutz) ist weltweit aktiv und war trotzdem davor nicht nur mir unbekannt. Anhand einer Virtual Reality Experience soll nun den Bürgern erlebbar gemacht werden, wie die EU weltweit dabei hilft Leben zu retten.

Dafür durte ich nach Belgien, Dänemark und Bangladesch raisen, um drei 360° Videos zu filmen, welche später in der VR-App angeschaut werden können. Die ganze Installation reist durch Europa, hier sind die Details: https://ec.europa.eu/echo/resources-campaigns/campaigns/eusaveslives_en

In Belgien ist das ERCC (Emergency Response Coordination Centre), also die Kommandozentrale, von wo aus die Krisen koordiniert werden, wie der Name schon sagt. In Dänemark zeigt eine Erdbebenübung, bei welcher Teams aus ganz Europa für den Ernstfall ausgebildet werden.
In Bangladesch ist das Flüchtlingscamp der Rohingya zu sehen und wie verschiedene Hilfsorganisationen für eine Verbesserung der Lage sorgen.

Gefilmt wurde mit einer Kandao Obsidian, die sich als eine gute Wahl mit großer Flexibilität herausstellte, auch unter extremen Bedinungen, die quasi in jedem Land gegeben waren. Für den Ton war es eine entsprechende Herausforderung mit immersiven, mehrkanaligen Mikrofonen zu hantieren, während man objektbasiert noch Töne sammelt und zeitgleich Protagonisten verkabeln muss. Und trotzem immer noch Atmos und Nurtöne sammeln, aber nichts ist unmöglich.

Anschließend wurden die aufgenommenen 360° Filme als App in eine VR Experience gebracht, die man quasi aus der Kommendozentrale der EU heraus steuerte und sich durch die verschiedenen Szenarien navigieren konnte. Dafür wurde die Samsung GearVR, weil die Oculus Go nicht rechtzeitig zum Launch auf dem Markt erhältlich war.

Genau solche Projekte motivieren mich, denn ich konnte die Dreharbeiten mit 360° Sound vor Ort betreuen, übernahm die Mischung und das Sounddesign der 360° Videos und lieferte auch die interaktiven Soundelemente der VR Experience. Das ist 360° Sound Production.