DE
EN

Wines of Germany 360 Experience

Recording
Sound Design
Spatial Sound Mix
Mixing
Distribution

This VR project, a 360 Experience, shows how wine is produced in a slightly different way. First, you are in the middle of the grape harvest, then you are driven on a moving tractor through the vineyard to the winery and at the end, you find yourself in the wine cellar. A nice idea is, how the winegrower couple offers white or red wine in the last scene; if you take off the vr-headset, the corresponding wine glasses are in front of you during the installation.

A special challenge for me was said trekking trip. Of course, the engine noise could not be avoided, just as the fact that the protagonists were forced to speak loudly, which meant that their microphone signals were crosstalking each other. But since I was in charge of the recording, I knew how to get this 360° shot done in post-production with 3-D-sound.

The VR-Experience is available for free download in the Oculus Store with the languages German (original sound) and English (unsynced over-dubbing) as 360 Experience, or as seen above, as 360° video on YouTube with Spatial Audio (Ambisonics Type 1st-Order Periophonic, ACN, SN3D) or as the DWI calls it: 3-D-sound 🙂

We shot with a setup of 4 Sony Alpha 7, which is a huge VR camera rig, but still gave me some freedom to record immersive 3-D sound directly from the set. I was also happy to be able to access high-end radio mics with directional antennas, as otherwise, the tractor would have simply driven out of my range. In addition, I had to install Com-Tek, i.e. monitoring systems with bodypack and headphones for a total of seven people (director, customer, agency). So there was a lot to do and in the VR-video, you can see how incredibly steep the steep slopes of the vineyards can be – but I think it was worth it.

DE
EN

Deutsches Weininstitut 360 Experience

Aufnahme
Sounddesign
Spatial Soundmix
Mischung
Distribution

Dieses VR-Projekt bzw. 360 Experience, zeigt den Weg des Weins auf eine etwas andere Art und Weise. Man befindet sich zunächste mitten in der Weinlese, wird dann auf einem fahrenden Traktor durch den Weinberg bis zum Weingut gefahren und findet sich am Ende im Weinkeller wieder. Eine schöne Idee ist, wie das Winzerpaar am Schluss Weiß- oder Rotwein anbietet; nimmt man nun die VR-Brille wieder ab, stehen bei der Installation die entsprechenden Weingläser vor einem.

Eine besondere Herausforderung für mich war die Trekkerfahrt. Das Motorgeräusch ließ sich natürlich nicht vermeiden, genau wie die Tatsache, dass die Protagonisten gezwungen waren laut zu reden, womit sich ihre Mikrofonsignale übersprochen haben. Da ich aber die Aufnahme betreut habe, wusste ich, wie ich herangehen muss, um diesen 360° Shot auch in der Post-Produktion mit 3-D-sound über die Bühne zu bekommen.

Die VR-Experience gibt es zum kostenlosen Download im Oculus Store mit den Sprachen Deutsch (Originalton) und Englisch (unsynced over-dubbing) als 360 Experience, oder wie oben zu sehen, als 360° Video auf Youtube mit Spatial Audio (Ambisonics Type 1st-Order Periophonic, ACN, SN3D) oder wie der DWI es nennt: 3-D-sound 🙂

Gedreht wurde mit einem Rig von 4 Sony Alpha 7, was zwar ein riesen VR-Kamera-Rig ist, mir aber doch gewisse Freiräume bietete, um immersiven 3-D-sound direkt vom Set aufzunehmen. Dabei war ich froh, zusätzlich noch auf high-end Funkstrecken mit Richtantennen zugreifen zu können, da der Traktor sonst einfach aus meiner Reichweite gefahren wäre. Zusätzlich musste ich noch Com-Tek, also Mithöranlagen mit Bodypack und Kopfhörern für insgesamt sieben Personen (Regie, Kunde, Agentur) installieren. Es gab also ordentlich zu tun und im VR-Video lässt sich erahnen, wie wahnsinnig steil die Steilhänge der Weinberge sein können – aber ich denke der Aufwand war es wert.