DE
EN

Crossing Borders 360 documentary

Recording
Sound Design
Spatial Sound Mix
Music Production
Mixing
Distribution

With a virtually traffic-unsuitable motorcycle from Vietnam, to Cambodia to Thailand and film a 360 documentary in the meantime. Whether we’ve made it and what we’ve experienced on the road – soon to be experienced in VR.

Thanks to this project, we can draw on a wealth of experience for 360° productions even under the most adverse conditions and have been able to do pioneering work in storytelling for Virtual Reality. Director Kevin Schmutzler showed this at the i4C CONTENT CREATION for Virtual Worlds with his case-study.

A total of four master theses were written on the 360 documentary Crossing Borders, two of them at the Bayreuth University of Applied Sciences, one at the Ostbayerische Technische Hochschule Amberg-Weiden and one at the Kunstuniversität Linz.

The project gained festival experience at events such as i4C, Lichter Filmfest Frankfurt, Landshuter Kurzfilmfestival, Filmplaya in Vista del Mar and VRNowCon.

In addition, the individual episodes of the 360 documentary series are well suited for VR cinemas, i.e. screenings where hundreds of VR glasses are placed in a cinema hall and where, instead of looking at the screen, the Samsung Gear VR is watched in order to have a common experience. The existing 7.1 loudspeaker system of the hall is used and allows a completely new form of entertainment, which is also interesting for immersive sound.

Crossing Borders is more than just a 360° documentary: as an interactive app, the viewer will soon be able to become a traveler himself, discovering additional content such as sound scapes and immersing himself in new worlds beyond the 360° episodes.

Currently 4 episodes are finished, with a total playing time of 30 minutes. In addition there is a 360° intro with 3 minutes. Three more episodes are planned or in production:

  • Episode 0: Intro. 3:00min short introduction to the group and travel, a bit like the Trailer which is 2:30min
  • Episode 1: HoChiMinhCity 7:30min. The mega city of Vietnam with motor scooters, skyscrapers, and slums. The team buys the motorcycles.
  • Episode 2: The Mekong Jungle 7:30min: Onboard recordings on the boat, the coconut island and the snake schnapps.
  • (Episode 3: The Floating Market. In planning.)
  • Episode 4: The Orphange 9:30min. An orphanage in the desert of Cambodia. Children, volunteers, and the director show their lives and how the orphanage has changed them.
  • Episode 5: The City on Top of the Lake 6:30min. Port town located on the largest lake in Southeast Asia, also known as the Floating Village, built on huge stilts.
  • (Episode 6: The Temples of Angkor. Rough-Cut 6:40min)
  • (Episode 7: Bangkok. Rough-Cut 3:30min)

DE
EN

Crossing Borders 360 documentary

Aufnahme
Sounddesign
Spatial Soundmix
Musikkomposition
Mischung
Distribution

Mit einem quasi verkehrsuntauglichen Motorrad von Vietnam, über Kambodscha nach Thailand und dabei eine 360° Dokumentation drehen. Ob wir es geschafft haben und was wir unterwegs alles erlebt haben – bald zum Miterleben auf der VR-Brille.

Dank diesem Projekts können wir auf einen großen Erfahrungswert für 360° Produktionen auch bei widrigsten Bedingungen zurückgreifen und konnten Pionierarbeit in Sachen Storytelling für Virtual Reality leisten. Dies zeigte Regisseur Schmutzler z.B. bei der i4C CONTENT CREATION for Virtual Worlds mit seiner Case-Study.

Zu der 360 documentary Crossing Borders wurden insgesamt 4 Masterarbeiten geschrieben, zwei davon an der Hochschule Bayreuth, eine an der Ostbayerischen Technischen Hochschule Amberg-Weiden und eine an der Kunstuniversität Linz.

Festival-Erfahrung sammlte das Projekt auf Event wie der bereits erwähntem i4C, dem Lichter Filmfest Frankfurt, dem Landshuter Kurzfilmfestival, dem Filmplaya in Vista del Mar und der VRNowCon.

Darüber hinaus sind die einzelnen Episoden der Dokureihe gut geeignet für VR Kinos, also Vorführungen, wo in einem Kinosaal hunderte VR-Brillen liegen und eben statt auf die Leinwand, in die Samsung Gear VR geschaut wird, um eine gemeinsame Experience zu haben. Dabei werden das meist vorhandenen 7.1 Lautsprecher System des Saales genutzt und ermöglicht eine ganz neue Form der Unterhaltung, die auch für immersiven Sound interessant ist.

Crossing Borders ist mehr als nur eine 360 documentary, als interaktive App wird dem Zuschauer bald die Möglichkeit geben, selbst zum Reisenden zu werden und kann dabei, über die 360° Videos hinaus, Zusatz-Inhalte wie Soundcollagen entdecken und in fremde Welten eintauchen.

Aktuell sind 4 Episoden fertig, mit einer Gesamtspieltzeit von 30 Minuten. Dazu kommt noch ein 360°-Intro mit 3 Minuten. Geplant, bzw. in Produktion sind drei weitere Episoden:

  • Episode 0: Intro. 3:00min kurzer Einstieg in die Reise, ein bisschen wie der Trailer 2:30min
  • Episode 1: HoChiMinhCity 7:30min. Die mega-Stadt Vietnams mit Motoroller-Scharen, Hochhäusern und Slums. Das Team kauft die Motorräder
  • Episode 2: Der Dschungel des Mekongs 7:30min: Onboardaufnahmen auf dem Boot, die Kokosnussinsel und der Schlangenschnaps.
  • (Episode 3: Floating Market. In Planung.)
  • Episode 4: The Orphange 9:30min. Ein Waisenhaus in der Einöde von Kambodscha. Kinder, Volunteers und der Leiter zeigen ihr Leben und wie das Waisenhaus es verändert hat.
  • Episode 5: The City on Top of the Lake 6:30min Hafenstadt gelegen am größten See Südostasiens, auch bekannt als das Schwimmende Dorf, gebaut auf riesigen Stelzen.
  • (Episode 6: The Temples of Angkor. Im Rohschnitt 6:40min)
  • (Episode 7: Bangkok. Im Rohschnitt 3:30min)