DE
EN

Wizard Battle 360 (3D Video&Audio)

Spatial Sound Mix
Distribution

I worked on the 3D Audio content for this 360° video with Corridor Digital, a film production company from Los Angeles, with over 450 million video views, it’s one of the most successful channels of its kind on YouTube worldwide. It was shot with a Google Jump Rig that was kindly provided YouTube space.

Since the fireworks should fly criss-cross also on sound level, I did the task to transform the finished sound design into a 3D audio mix, which can later be played on YouTube in FOA (First Order Ambisonics). Since YouTube content is usually produced even faster than usual, I only had the time shift available, which was quite sporty in view of the amount of moving pictures and fireworks, which is not a serious high-end demand, but it’s definitely lots of fun.

It is a stereoscopic virtual reality video that sets a small milestone in terms of immersion on YouTube with its 3D image and 3D audio. Thanks for the Shout-Out from Sam Gorski himself, in the making-of blog of Corridor Digital’s channel: https://youtu.be/RfYRTpldGgs?t=9m59s

Fun fact: The original 3D 360° video has a resolution of two times 4k, i.e. 8k and the sound was created in Higher Order Ambisonics (Third-order Ambisonics) with 16 channels. Both together would result in a file that could not be played on any platform at the moment, but that may still come 😉

DE
EN

Wizard Battle 360 (3D Video&Audio)

Spatial Soundmix
Distribution

Mit Corridor Digital, einer Filmproduktionsfirma aus Los Angeles, mit über 450 Millionen Videoaufrufen auf YouTube weltweit einer der erfolgreichsten Kanäle seiner Art, arbeitete ich an diesem 360° Video mit 3D Audio. Gedreht wurde mit einem Google Jump Rig, dass der YouTube Space freundlicherweise zur Verfügung stellte.

Da das Feuerwerk kreuz und quer auch auf Tonebene fliegen sollte, erledigte ich die Aufgabe, das fertige Sounddesign in eine 3D Audio Mischung zu verwandeln, welche später auf YouTube im FOA (First Order Ambisonics) abgespielt werden kann. Da für YouTube meist noch schneller als sonst produziert wird, hatte ich nur die Dauer der Zeitverschiebung zur Verfügung, was bei der Menge an bewegten Bildinhalten und Feuerwerk durchaus sportlich war und damit keinen ernsthaften High-End Anspruch hat, aber dafür auf jeden Fall Spaß macht.

Es handelt sich also um ein stereokopisches Virtual Reality Video, dass durch das 3D Bild und den 3D Audio einen kleinen Meilenstein in Sachen Immersion auf YouTube setzt. Danke für das Shout-Out von Sam Gorski persönlich im Video-Blog des Kanals Corridor Digital https://youtu.be/RfYRTpldGgs?t=9m59s

FunFact: Das Originale 3D 360° Video hat eine Auflösung von zweimal 4k, also 8k und der Ton wurde in Higher Order Ambisonics (Ambisonics dritter Ordnung) angelegt mit 16 Kanälen. Beides zusammen ergäbe ein File, das aktuell auf keiner Plattform ernsthaft abgespielt werden könnte, aber das kommt vielleicht noch 😉