3D audio
OverviewStorytelling

The Great 3D Audio Content Overview: inspiring use-case examples

Content

    3D audio has now arrived in many forms to the consumer sector. So the time has come to get overwhelmed! Therefore, with the help of the following overview, some light should be brought back into the darkness. Also, you can get some inspiration right away, because the application areas are absolutely creative, diverse and far from exhausted.

    It is not so easy to find a structure here, because there are many overlaps. In the end, I decided to differentiate according to "playback media". Each medium is treated as a separate chapter, which in turn is divided into individual categories. After a short description regarding the used audio and playback formats, audio examples or further links follow. This way you can directly experience what is being talked about.

    Radio Plays, Sound Experiences without visual reference

    Audio content that is consumed without an additional visual stimulus can benefit immensely from 3D audio technologies. This includes e.g. radio plays, soundscapes, ambient recordings, ASMR, and of course music. The latter, however, will be considered separately as the implementation depends strongly on the intended effect.

    But not only the immersion is enhanced, but there are also more narrative possibilities in terms of storytelling. Due to the spatial imaging possibilities of sound, 3D audio offers even more options to involve the listener in a captivating story or environment.

    Linear 3D Sound Audio Games

    These audio games can usually be enjoyed over headphones – so they can be listened to at home and on the road without any major hurdle. Therefore, binaural stereo is used here, which can either be recorded using binaural microphones or reproduced using appropriate software. Binaural audio recordings are intended for playback over headphones, as there must be no crosstalk between the speakers. This is the only way to accurately represent spatial impressions.

    A famous piece that can already be called a "classic" is the Virtual Barber Shop. Here you can – surprise, surprise – be served in a virtual barbershop:

    Non-linear 3D audio drama

    The company Owlfield specializes in 3D audio games, for example. Here, non-linear 3D audio dramas are also offered. This means that the listener can influence the story by making decisions at the end of each chapter. Headphones should also be used for playback because of the binaural format.

    As an example, there is a sample chapter of such an interactive 3D radio play on Youtube. However, the interaction aspect is omitted here. For the impatient: it really starts at 1:30min.

    ASMR

    Binaural microphones are also popular in the trendy ASMR (Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response) sector and used by so called ASMRtists. This is because the desired feeling of closeness and sensuality can be better conveyed. Although the three-dimensional aspect is not in the foreground here, the audio technology used is almost identical in the form of artificial heads. The only difference is how creatively the 3D microphones are used.

    Ambiences

    For relaxation, binaural ambient recordings are currently also very popular (marketed as 8D Audio in the example, more about this in the topic Music). So entertainment is not the focus here, rather background sprinkling or active stress treatment. Here, for example, is a rain recording with over 1.6 million clicks:

    Sound installations

    Sound installations are of course difficult to pigeonhole, but they should be briefly mentioned here anyway. In terms of 3D audio, these are usually circular or dome-shaped speaker arrangements that can create enveloping experiences. For technical implementation, channel-independent formats such as Ambisonics can be used. But spatial sound wave (wave field synthesis) is also a popular medium.

    Since installations cannot be experienced here online, I refer to this interesting article about the Ambisonics installation "Kaleidoscope of Rooms". Also worth mentioning here is Innsbruck’s Audioversum – a museum all about audio and walk-in sound installations. 3d Audio Soundscape

    Music

    3D audio in music is, as can probably be guessed, a vast subject. Probably every 3D audio technology has been applied to music before. Therefore, it probably makes more sense to address the topic in terms of usage.

    Music Streaming with 3D Audio

    Meanwhile, some streaming services offer music mixed and mastered specifically in 3D audio, for more details click here. Currently, the audio formats used are AC-4 (Dolby Atmos Music) and MPEG-H (Sony 360 Reality Audio). The playback of these object-based formats can be done via speakers, as well as binauralized via headphones. Speaker playback is currently possible with soundbars like the Sennheiser Ambeo Soundbar or smart speakers like the Amazon Echo Studio.

    Those of you who have an Amazon Music HD account can search for the "Best of 3D Audio" playlist for corresponding audio samples or read the blog entry above.

    3d audio

    8D Audio

    Not to be neglected is also the trend known as "8D Audio". Although this is nothing special from a production point of view (you can find out why here ), it seems to have hit a certain nerve given the sometimes extremely high click numbers on YouTube.

    Here is a typical example of "8D music", where only the master file of the song is moved around the listener using a binaural panner:

    Binaural Compositions

    With 8D audio, usually a stereo file is simply moved binaurally around the listener. This may have a nice effect, but adds no value to the song compositionally. However, some artists use this technology to enrich their music. Music composed specifically in binaural format makes much better use of the available 3D sound field than 8D music. This is because different sounds can come from different directions here. The keyword is "envelopment", so that the music is not localized in the head – as it usually is via headphones – but as if it were coming from outside (externalization). With this, you almost forget that you are wearing headphones at all. Here is a nice example from my dear colleagues Delta Soundworks.

    Of course, 3D music can not only be produced via headphones. With Dolby Atmos, for example, and the aforementioned streaming providers, the audio objects provide the option of playing these works on several speakers. But this is reserved for people who have a hi-fi system with a multi-channel setup. However, smart speakers and soundbars will help to make 3D mixes more accessible in the living room in the future.

    Stereo-Upmix

    The stereo upmix should also be mentioned briefly here. This may sound niche at first, but soundbars and smart speakers in particular are increasingly making use of this technology. Here, they try to give ‘normal’ stereo content more spatiality through complex signal processing. The Sennheiser soundbar mentioned earlier as well as the Echo Studio smart speaker have this function, for example. I may reveal that my master’s student has devoted himself to this topic and has been able to make exciting discoveries.

    3d audio

    Film, TV, Video

    Audiovisual media are particularly difficult to structure. I have named this chapter now to mention what I consider to be the most important cornerstones. On a visual level, this chapter deals with linear 2D formats, because video games and VR will be covered separately.

    Film: Cinema, Streaming

    The medium of film is and always has been linked to the theme of immersion. It is therefore not surprising that 3D audio plays a major role here. Away from the cinema, good and enveloping sound is also in demand in the private home cinema area.
    Most people will probably have heard of 5.1 surround sound before. Until today this playback system is used in cinemas as well as in the private sector. And rightly so, because surround sound undoubtedly offers good immersive listening experiences. What is missing, however, is directional information on the vertical plane, i.e. speakers on the ceiling. This is where newer audio formats like Dolby Atmos, Auro-3D, or DTS:X come into play, which include channel information for height speakers. Of course, movie streaming should also be mentioned here. Netflix offers surround sound and even Dolby Atmos in addition to stereo mixes for some movies.

    For technical implementation reasons, binaural examples are shown here. A scene from the American blockbuster Transformers catapults the listener into the middle of a shootout thanks to Dolby Atmos. Although the audio is binauralized, the scene should not necessarily be equated with an actual Dolby Atmos cinema experience.

    But if you have a Netflix account and a soundbar or a multi-channel playback system, you can have a look yourself. Here is a list of movies that have been mixed in certain 3D audio formats. You can filter by medium (e.g. Netflix, Blue Ray Disc, etc.) and format (e.g. Dolby Atmos, DTS:X, etc.), among other things.

    TV: Live, Broadcast, Shows

    Of course, there are also movies on TV, so this subdivision on TV is intended for live broadcasts. There is also a lot going on here in terms of 3D audio technology. In addition to the aspects already mentioned in the film sector, interaction possibilities are becoming more and more of a thing in the broadcast sector.
    Here, the Fraunhofer Institute is a pioneer with its MPEG-H format. In addition to 3D audio, the object-based format also offers interaction possibilities for the viewer. This makes it possible, for example, to turn up the volume of individual audio tracks, e.g. for speech intelligibility, or to switch them off. Theoretically, this format could even be used to pan individual tracks as audio objects in the room. As you can see and hear, there is no lack of technical possibilities. The challenge at the moment is much more how to make this technology user-friendly and thus bring it to the market. But it also requires certain diplomatic or democratic rules, because, for example, does it make sense for viewers to be able to mute individual participants in political discussions? South Korea is a pioneer in this area, where the MPEG-H format is already on the air.

    The following video gives a small insight into the possibilities of MPEG-H. It shows, for example, that perspective changes or switches from stereo to an enveloping sound are possible.

    Learn more about next generation audio (NGA) right here.

    Video: Online, Social Media

    Online videos are not to be neglected either. There is also a considerable amount of content where 3D audio plays a role. On Youtube and Co. you can find some videos with 3D audio – usually binaural for headphones.

    As an example one from my own fits quite well 😉 Sounds of Germany is a video series that presents some German cities using visual impressions and matching binaural sounds. In my Portfolio you can find more information about the project.

    Another huge topic for social media are 360 Videos that we will cover in the section of virtual reality.

    Gaming, Interactives

    Similar to film, a symbiosis of image and sound is extremely important for video games. Here, too, the goal is to create the most immersive experience possible. Games even have the advantage of interaction. It is therefore only logical that 3D audio is becoming increasingly relevant here as well. In first-person shooters, for example, it is crucial to know where the opponents are. So spatial audio is used to localize them without having to see them.
    Many games are usually played with a headset, i.e. headphones plus a microphone. The topic of surround headsets is excluded at this point. Several products focus on the sound of computer games. Just this year, the colleagues from Dear Reality launched a plug-in with which you can integrate their Spatializer plug-in into the game engine Unity. But also most of the other popular engines, like Unreal Engine, offer possibilities to include spatial audio and as so-called middleware even more possibilities to make the sound more filigree.

    One of the first-person shooter games that use binaural audio is Battlefield V. In the attached example, you experience a parachute jump before landing on the battlefield. Here, for example, the shots of the enemies can be located well, as mentioned.

    Furthermore, I came across an interesting game called "Ear Hockey", which was primarily developed for visually impaired or blind people. The game principle is similar to the classic game "Pong", except that the ball can be located auditorily. The game is even available here for free download.

    I also came across a list of games that use binaural audio. For those of you who want to research this further.

    Also of interest is this article, which looks at the impact of immersive audio in games, using the game Hellblade as an example.

    Virtual Reality

    Who would have thought it, but 3D audio also plays a role in VR, as the regular reader here knows of course 😉 VR is currently probably the medium that can offer the highest degree of immersion. By using VR glasses, you can literally dive into other worlds that you can experience visually and auditorily from all directions.

    VR experiences include VR games, 360° videos, and also social VR. The overlaps with the applications already listed are therefore pre-programmed. The devil is in the details, however, as 3D audio should be a basic requirement for each of these experiences, otherwise it can confuse the viewer rather than support the storytelling.

    The playback medium of VR experiences are VR goggles, also called HMDs (head-mounted displays). These usually have headphones, which means spatial audio is decoded binaurally in real-time. Crucial to binaural audio playback in VR is head tracking. This means that head movements are recorded by the goggles so that both the image and the audio can be counter-moved.

    From an audio production perspective, therefore, static, i.e. channel-dependent, formats cannot be used. Therefore, channel-independent formats such as ambisonics or object-based audio are used, which are only rendered binaurally during playback. In VR experiences, a basic distinction is made between 3 Degrees of Freedom (3DoF) and 6 Degrees of Freedom (6DoF). The latter means that you can move freely within the virtual environment. With 3DoF, you ‘only’ can look in all directions, which is not necessarily a disadvantage.

    VR-Games

    These video games can have either 3DoF or 6DoF. In any case, the audio reproduction is binauralized via headphones, as mentioned above.
    One of the most famous video games made specifically for VR in recent years is Half Life: Alyx. Here is a short excerpt with binaural audio.

    360°-Videos

    These are videos that you can watch from all directions. So they have 3DoF, to use a VR term. 360° videos can now also be viewed without VR glasses. The web players of Facebook and Youtube support this format in image and sound (Ambisonics).
    As an example, I again refer to my own project. Here you can watch the video of the #EUsavesLives 2 Kenya project.
    For more good VR experiences I link to my blog post Best VR content with focus on VR sound.

    Augmented Reality/Extended Reality

    AR and XR mix experiences of real reality with virtual ones, so reality is digitally augmented. These extensions can be visual, auditory, or even tactile.

    Soundwalks

    In the 3D audio sector, GPS-supported soundwalks are a major topic in AR. Here, for example, the listener can perceive localizable sounds in public places that are not actually there; this can be useful for city tours, for example, to auditively recreate historical events. For such soundwalks it is important to know the position of the listener, therefore the smartphone usually serves as a tracker via GPS. The cell phone thus replaces the head tracker. Binaurally rendered audio content can then be heard via headphones.

    With the free app "INSIDE MPHIL – St. Nikolai" you can listen to a virtual concert of the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra on a meadow behind the church in St. Nikolai. You can approach individual instruments and thus virtually walk through the playing orchestra. Here provides an overview of this.

    Another soundwalk concept comes from Vienna. Here, a story is told from the past to the future around Vienna’s Heldenplatz. As a listener, you can follow the story through a walk and relive it in 3D audio. More information is available here.

    Conclusion

    I hope you can see from this overview how broadly 3D audio is now used. There is no guarantee of completeness, especially since new content, new technologies, and new media are always emerging. Therefore this overview should show the current state of affairs and make curious about the further development of 3D audio. I am sure that there will be more to come! Been inspired? Feel free to let me know!

    More 3D Audio

    This website uses cookies. If you continue to visit this website, you consent to the use of cookies. You can find more about this in my Privacy policy.
    Necessary cookies
    Tracking
    Accept selection Accept everything

3D audio
OverviewStorytelling

Die Große 3D Audio Content Übersicht

Inhalt

    3D Audio ist mittlerweile bei etlichen im Consumer-Bereich relevanten Medien angekommen. Es ist also die Zeit gekommen den Überblick zu verlieren! Deshalb soll mithilfe folgender Übersicht wieder etwas Licht ins Dunkel gebracht werden. Außerdem kann man sich dabei gleich etwas Inspiration abholen, weil die Anwendungsgebiete absolut kreativ, vielfältig und noch lange nicht ausgeschöpft sind.

    Es ist gar nicht so leicht, hier eine Struktur zu finden, da es viele Überschneidungen gibt. Ich habe mich letztendlich dazu entschieden nach “Abspielmedien” zu unterscheiden. Jedes Medium wird als eigenes Kapitel behandelt, welches wiederum in einzelne Kategorien gegliedert ist. Nach einer kurzen Beschreibung hinsichtlich der genutzten Audio- und Wiedergabeformate, folgen Audiobeispiele oder weiterführende Links. So könnt ihr direkt erleben wovon die Rede ist.

    Hörspiele, Sound-Experiences ohne Bildbezug

    Audioinhalte, die ohne einen zusätzlichen visuellen Reiz konsumiert werden, können von 3D Audio-Technologien ungemein profitieren. Hierzu gehören z.B. Hörspiele, Soundscapes, Ambient-Aufnahmen, ASMR und natürlich Musik. Letztere wird jedoch noch extra als eigenes Medium betrachtet werden, da die Umsetzung stark von gewollten Wirkung abhängt.

    Doch nicht nur die Immersion wird verstärkt, auch gibt es mehr narrative Möglichkeiten in Sachen Storytelling. Aufgrund der räumlichen Abbildungsmöglichkeiten von Klang, bieten sich durch 3D Audio noch mehr Optionen den/die HörerIn in eine mitreißende Geschichte oder Umgebung einzubinden.

    Lineare 3D Sound Hörspiele

    Diese Hörspiele sind in der Regel über Kopfhörer zu genießen – also ohne großen Hürde daheim und Unterwegs zu genießen. Daher wird hier binaurales Stereo verwendet, welches entweder mittels binauralen Mikrofonen aufgenommen oder mit entsprechender Software reproduziert werden kann. Binaurale Audioaufnahmen sind für die Wiedergabe über Kopfhörer bestimmt, da es zu keinem Übersprechungseffekt zwischen den Lautsprechern kommen darf. Nur so können die Raumeindrücke akkurat dargestellt werden.

    Ein Klassiker der immer gut funktioniert ist der Virtual Barber Shop. Hier kann man sich – achtung Überraschung – in einem virtuellen Barbershop bedienen lassen:

    Nicht-lineare 3D Hörspiele

    Das Unternehmen Owlfield hat sich beispielsweise auf 3D Hörspiele spezialisiert. Hier werden auch nicht-lineare 3D Hörspiele angeboten. Das heißt, man hat als HörerIn durch Entscheidungsmöglichkeiten am Ende jedes Kapitels die Möglichkeit auf die Geschichte Einfluss zu nehmen. Für die Wiedergabe sollten wegen des binauralen Formats ebenfalls Kopfhörer benutzt werden.

    Als Beispiel gibt es ein Probekapitel eines solchen interaktiven 3D Hörspiels auf Youtube. Der Interaktions-Aspekt fällt hier jedoch weg. Für die Ungeduldigen: richtig los geht es bei 1:30min.

    ASMR

    Auch im trendigen ASMR-Bereich werden gerne binaurale Mikrofone verwendet. Hiermit kann das erwünschte Gefühl von Nähe und Sinnlichkeit nämlich besser vermittelt werden. Zwar liegt hier der dreidimensionale Aspekt nicht im Vordergrund, doch die verwendete Audiotechnologie ist in Form von Kunstköpfen fast identisch. Es unterscheidet sich lediglich, wie kreativ mit den 3D-Mikrofonen gearbeitet wird.

    Ambiences

    Zur Entspannung erfreuen sich derzeit auch binaurale Ambientaufnahmen großer Beliebtheit (im Beispiel als 8D Audio vermarktet, mehr dazu beim Thema Musik). Unterhaltung ist hier also nicht der Fokus, eher die Berieslung im Hintergrund oder aktive Stressbehandlung. Hier ist etwa eine Regenaufnahme mit über 1,6 Millionen Klicks:

    Klanginstallationen

    Klanginstallationen kann man natürlich schwer in eine Schublade stecken, wollen aber hier trotzdem kurz erwähnt werden. In Bezug auf 3D Audio handelt es sich hierbei meist um kreis- oder kuppelförmige Lautsprecheranordnungen die einhüllende Erlebnisse schaffen können. Zur technischen Umsetzung bieten sich hier kanalunabhängige Formate wie Ambisonics an. Aber auch die Spatial-Sound-Wave (Wellenfeldsynthese) ist ein beliebtes Medium.

    Da Installationen hier online nicht erlebbar gemacht werden können, verweise ich auf diesen interessanten Artikel über die Ambisonics-Installation “Kaleidoscope of Rooms”. Ebenfalls erwähnenswert ist hier das innsbrucker Audioversum – ein Museum rund um Audio und begehrbarer Klanginstallation

    3d Audio Soundscape

    Musik

    3D Audio im Musikbereich ist, wie sich wahrscheinlich erahnen lässt, ein umfangreiches Thema. Es wurde vermutlich jede 3D Audiotechnologie schon mal für Musik angewendet. Daher macht es wohl eher Sinn, sich dem Thema im Hinblick auf die Nutzung zu widmen.

    Musikstreaming mit 3D Audio

    Mittlerweile bieten einige Streaming-Services eigens in 3D Audio gemischte und gemasterte Musik an, für mehr Details klicke hier beim Blogeintrag. Zurzeit kommen die Audioformate AC-4 (Dolby Atmos Music) und MPEG-H (Sony 360 Reality Audio) zum Einsatz. Die Wiedergabe dieser objektbasierten Formate kann über Lautsprecher, als auch binauralisiert über Kopfhörer erfolgen. Die Lautsprecherwiedergabe ist aktuell mit Soundbars wie der Sennheiser Ambeo Soundbar oder Smartspeakern wie dem Amazon Echo Studio möglich.

    Jene von Euch die über einen Amazon Music HD Account besitzen, können nach der “Best of 3D Audio” – Playlist für entsprechende Hörbeispiele suchen oder im besagten Blogeintrag oben nachlesen.

    3d audio

    8D Audio

    Nicht zu vernachlässigen ist auch der unter “8D Audio” bekannt gewordene Trend. Dieser ist zwar aus produktionstechnsicher Sicht nichts Besonderes (warum erfährst du hier ), jedoch scheint es angesichts der teils extrem hohen Klickzahlen auf Youtube einen gewissen Nerv getroffen zu haben.

    Anbei ein typisches Beispiel für “8D Musik”, hier wird lediglich das Masterfile des Songs mittels einem binauralen Panner um den/die HörerIn bewegt:

    Binaurale Kompositionen

    Bei 8D Audio wird üblicherweise einfach ein Stereofile binaural um den/die HörerIn bewegt. Dies mag zwar einen netten Effekt haben, bringt dem Song kompositorisch aber keinen Mehrwert. Manche Artists nutzen diese Technologie jedoch zur Bereicherung ihrer Musik. Eigens im binauralen Format komponierte Musik nutzt das verfügbare 3D Klangfeld viel besser aus als 8D Musik. Denn hier können verschiedene Sounds aus unterschiedlichen Richtungen kommen. Das Stichwort lautet "Einhüllung", damit die Musik nicht – wie sonst über Kopfhörer – im Kopf lokalisiert wird, sondern als würde sie von außen kommen (Externalisierung). Damit vergisst man fast, dass man überhaupt Kopfhörer trägt. Hier ein schönes Beispiel von meinen lieben Kollegen Delta Soundworks.

    Natürlich kann 3D Musik nicht nur über Kopfhörer produziert werden. Mit Dolby Atmos etwa, und den bereits erwähnen Streaming-Anbietern wird durch die Audioobjekte die Möglichkeit in der Hinterhand gehalten, diese Werke auch auf etlichen Lautsprechern abzuspielen. Doch dies ist eben Menschen vorbehalten, die eine HiFi-Anlage mit mehrkanaligen Setup besitzen. Doch Smartspeaker und Soundbars werden hier in Zukunft dabei helfen, 3D Mixe zugänglicher auch im Wohnzimmer zu machen.

    Stereo-Upmix

    Kurz erwähnt sei hier noch der Stereo-Upmix. Das mag zunächst nach Nische klingen, doch vor allem Soundbars und auch Smartspeaker machen von dieser Technologie vermehrt Gebrauch. Hier wird versucht ‘normalen’ Stereo-Inhalten durch komplexes Signalprocessing mehr Räumlichkeit zu verleihen. Die vorhin erwähnte Sennheiser Soundbar als auch der Echo Studio Smartspeaker haben diese Funktion beispielsweise. Ich darf verraten, dass sich mein Masterand diesem Thema gewidmet hat und spannende Entdeckungen machen konnte.

    3d audio

    Film, TV, Video

    Audiovisuelle Medien sind besonders schwer zu gliedern. Ich habe dieses Kapitel jetzt so genannt, um die meiner Meinung nach wichtigsten Eckpfeiler zu nennen. Auf visueller Ebene beschäftigt sich dieses Kapitel mit linearen 2D-Formaten, denn Videospiele und VR wird noch extra behandelt.

    Film: Kino, Streaming

    Das Medium Film ist und war immer schon mit dem Thema Immersion verknüpft. Es ist also nicht verwunderlich, dass 3D Audio hier eine große Rolle spielt. Abseits des Kinos ist guter und einhüllender Klang auch im privaten Homekino-Bereich gefragt.
    5.1 Surround Sound werden die meisten vermutlich schon mal gehört haben. Bis heute hält sich dieses Wiedergabesystem sowohl in Kinos, als auch im privaten Bereich. Auch zurecht, denn Surround Sound bietet zweifelsohne gute immersive Hörerlebnisse. Was jedoch fehlt sind Richtungsinformationen auf der vertikalen Ebene, also Lautsprecher an der Decke. Hier kommen nun neuere Audioformate wie Dolby Atmos, Auro-3D, oder DTS:X ins Spiel, die Kanalinformationen für Höhenlautsprecher beinhalten. Natürlich sollte hier auch das Film-Streaming erwähnt werden. Netflix bietet neben Stereo Mischungen für manche Filme auch Surround Sound und sogar Dolby Atmos.

    Aus Gründen der technischen Umsetzung werden hier binaurale Beispiele gezeigt. Eine Szene aus dem amerikanischen Blockbuster Transformers katapultiert den/die HörerIn dank Dolby Atmos mitten in eine Schießerei. Obwohl das Audio binauralisiert ist, sollte man die Szene nicht unbedingt mit einer tatsächlichen Dolby Atmos Kinoerfahrung gleichsetzen.

    Wer aber z.B. einen Netflix Account hat und eine Soundbar oder ein mehrkanaliges Wiedergabesystem besitzt, kann selber einmal stöbern. Hier gibt es eine Liste der Filme die in bestimmten 3D-Audioformaten gemischt wurden. Man kann unter anderem nach Medium (z.B. Netflix, Blue Ray Disc, etc.) und Format (z.B. Dolby Atmos, DTS:X, etc.) filtern.

    TV: Live, Broadcast, Shows

    Natürlich gibt es auch im Fernsehen Filme, jene Unterteilung in TV soll daher den Bereich der Live-Übertragungen betreffen. Hier tut sich nämlich 3D audiotechnisch auch einiges. Neben den schon im Filmbereich genannten Aspekten, werden im Übertragungssektor Interaktionsmöglichkeiten immer mehr zum Thema.
    Hier ist das Fraunhofer Institut mit ihrem MPEG-H Format Vorreiter. Neben 3D Audio bietet das objektbasierte Format auch Interaktionsmöglichkeiten für den/die ZuschauerIn. Dadurch ist es beispielsweise möglich einzelne Tonspuren, etwa zur Sprachverständlichkeit, lauter zu drehen oder auch auszuschalten. Theoretisch könnte man mit diesem Format sogar einzelne Spuren als Audio-Objekt im Raum pannen. Man sieht und hört, an den technischen Möglichkeiten scheitert es nicht. Die Herausforderung ist zur Zeit viel mehr, wie man diese Technologie userfreundlich gestaltet und so auf den Markt bringt. Doch auch bedarf es gewissen diplomatischen oder demokratischen Regeln, denn ist es beispielsweise sinnvoll wenn die Zuseher bei Politdiskussionen einzelne Teilnehmer stummschalten können? Südkorea ist in diesem Bereich Vorreiter, dort ist das MPEG-H Format schon auf Sendung.

    Folgendes Video gibt einen kleinen Einblick in die Möglichkeiten von MPEG-H. Es wird beispielsweise gezeigt, dass Perspektivenwechsel oder Switches von Stereo auf einen einhüllenden Klang möglich sind.

    Über Next Generation Audio (NGA) kannst du hier mehr erfahren.

    Video: Online, Social Media

    Auch Online-Videos sind nicht zu vernachlässigen. Hier gibt es ebenfalls ein beachtlichen Angebot an Content wo 3D Audio eine Rolle spielt. Auf Youtube und Co. lassen sich einige Videos mit 3D Audio finden – üblicherweise binaural für Kopfhörer.

    Als Beispiel passt hier eines aus eigener Feder ganz gut 😉 : Sounds of Germany ist eine Videoreihe die mittels visuellen Impressionen und dazu passenden binauralen Klängen einige deutsche Städte vorstellt. In meinem Portfolio findet ihr noch mehr Informationen zu dem Projekt.

    Ein großes Thema sind 360 Videos auch auf Social Media, welche wir aber später im Thema Virtual Reality behandeln werden.

    Gaming, interaktives

    Ähnlich wie beim Film ist eine Symbiose aus Bild und Ton bei Videospielen extrem wichtig. Denn auch hier gilt es ein möglichst immersives Erlebnis zu schaffen. Games haben hier sogar noch den Vorteil der Interaktion. Deshalb ist es nur logisch, dass auch hier 3D Audio immer wichtiger wird. Bei Ego-Shootern ist es beispielsweise wichtig zu wissen wo die Gegner sind. So kommt spatial Audio zum Einsatz, um diese lokalisieren zu können, ohne diese sehen zu müssen.
    Viele Games spielt man üblicherweise mit einem Headset, also Kopfhörer plus Mikrofon. Das Thema Surround-Headset sei an dieser stelle ausgeklammert. Hier gibt es etliche Produkte, die besonderen Fokus auf den Sound bei Computerspielen legen. Erst heuer haben die Kollegen von Dear Reality ein Plug-In auf den Markt gebracht mit dem man ihr Spatializer Plugin in die Spiele-Engine Unity einbinden kann. Doch auch die meisten anderen gängigen Engines, wie z.B. Unreal Engine, bieten Möglichkeiten Spatial Audio einzubinden und als sogenannte Middleware noch mehr Möglichkeiten den Ton filigran zu gestalten.

    Eines der Ego-Shooter Spiele das auf binaurales Audio setzt, ist Battlefield V. Beim beigefügten Beispiel erlebt man einen Fallschirmabsprung, ehe man auf dem Schlachtfeld landet. Hier lassen sich beispielsweise die Schüsse der Feinde, wie erwähnt, gut orten.

    Weiters bin ich auf ein interessantes Spiel namens “Ear Hockey” gestoßen, welches primär für visuell eingeschränkte oder blinde Personen entwickelt wurde. Das Spielprinzip ist ähnlich dem Spieleklassiker “Pong”, nur dass der Ball auditiv lokalisierbar ist. Das Spiel gibt es hier sogar gratis zum Download.

    Zudem bin ich noch auf eine Liste von Spielen die binaurales Audio nutzen gestoßen. Für diejenigen unter euch die dazu noch weiterforschen wollen.

    Auch interessant ist dieser Artikel, welcher sich mit dem Einfluss von immersiven Audio in Games, anhand des Spiels Hellblade befasst.

    Virtual Reality

    Wer hätte es gedacht, doch auch in VR spielt 3D Audio eine Rolle, wie der/die regelmäßige LeserIn hier natürlich weiß 😉 VR ist zurzeit wohl das Medium das den höchsten Grad an Immersion bieten kann. Durch die Nutzung von VR-Brillen kann man wortwörtlich in andere Welten eintauchen die man visuell und auditiv aus allen Richtungen erleben kann.

    Zu VR-Experiences zählen VR-Games, 360°-Videos und auch social VR. Die Überschneidungen zu den bereits aufgezählten Anwendungen sind also vorprogrammiert. Der Teufel steckt aber im Detail, da für jede dieser Experiences 3D Audio Grundvoraussetzung sein sollte, da es sonst den Zuschauer eher verwirren, als das Storytelling unterstützen kann.

    Das Wiedergabemedium von VR-Erlebnissen sind VR-Brillen, auch HMDs genannt (Head-Mounted Displays). Diese verfügen im Normalfall über Kopfhörer, das heißt spatial Audio wird in Echtzeit binaural dekodiert. Entscheidend für die binaurale Audiowiedergabe in VR ist das Headtracking. Das bedeutet, dass die Kopfbewegungen von der Brille aufgezeichnet werden, sodass sowohl das Bild, als auch der Ton gegenbewegt werden kann.

    Aus der Sicht der Audioproduktion können daher keine statischen, also kanalabhängigen, Formate genutzt werden. Deswegen werden kanalunabhängige Formate wie Ambisonics oder objektbasiertes Audio genutzt, die erst bei der Wiedergabe binaural gerendert werden. Bei VR-Experiences wird grundsätzlich zwischen 3 Degrees of Freedom (3DoF) und 6 Degrees of Freedom (6DoF) unterschieden. Letzteres bedeutet, dass man sich innerhalb der virtuellen Umgebung frei bewegen kann. Bei 3DoF hat man ‘nur’ die Möglichkeit in alle Richtungen zu schauen, was erstmal kein Nachteil sein muss.

    VR-Games

    Diese Videospiele können entweder 3DoF oder 6DoF haben. Die Audioreproduktion erfolgt in jedem Falle, wie oben erwähnt, binauralisiert über Kopfhörer.
    Eines der bekanntesten, speziell für VR gemachte, Videospiele der letzten Jahre ist Half Life: Alyx. Hier gibt es einen kurzen Auszug mit binauralem Audio.

    360°-Videos

    Das sind Videos die man aus allen Richtungen schauen kann. Haben also 3DoF, um es mit einem VR-Terminus auszudrücken. 360°-Videos können mittlerweile auch ohne VR-Brillen angeschaut werden. Die Web-Player von Facebook und Youtube unterstützen dieses Format in Bild und Ton (Ambisonics).
    Als Beispiel verweise ich wieder auf ein eigenes Projekt. Hier könnt ihr das Video zum #EUsavesLives 2 Kenia Projekt anschauen.
    Für weitere gute VR-Experiences verlinke ich auf meinen Blogeintrag Beste VR Inhalte mit Fokus auf VR-Sound.

    Augmented Reality/Extended Reality

    AR und XR vermischen Erlebnisse der echten Realität mit virtuellen, die Realität wird also digital erweitert. Diese Erweiterungen können visuell, auditiv oder sogar taktil sein.

    Soundwalks

    Im 3D-Audiobereich sind in Sachen AR vor allem GPS unterstützte Soundwalks ein Thema. Hier kann der/die HörerIn beispielsweise auf öffentlichen Plätzen lokalisierbare Klänge wahrnehmen die in Wirklichkeit nicht da sind, dies kann z.B. nützlich für Stadttouren sein, etwa um historische Ereignisse auditiv nachzustellen. Bei solchen Soundwalks ist es wichtig die Position des/der HörerIn zu kennen, daher dient meist das Smartphone als Tracker über GPS. Das Handy ersetzt also den Headtracker. Über Kopfhörer können dann binaural gerenderte Audioinhalte gehört werden.

    Mit der kostenlosen App “INSIDE MPHIL – St. Nikolai” kann man sich auf einer Wiese hinter der Kirche in St. Nikolai ein virtuelles Konzert der Münchner Philharmoniker anhören. Dabei kann man sich einzelnen Instrumenten nähern und so quasi durch das spielende Orchester spazieren. Hier gibt es einen Überblick dazu.

    Ein anderes Soundwalk-Konzept kommt aus Wien. Hier wird eine Geschichte von der Vergangenheit bis in die Zukunft rund um den wiener Heldenplatz erzählt. Als Zuhörer kann man der Geschichte durch einen Spaziergang wortwörtlich folgen und in 3D Audio nachempfinden. Weitere Infos gibt es hier.

    Fazit

    Ich hoffe man sieht an Hand dieser Übersicht wie breit gefächert 3D Audio mittlerweile eingesetzt wird. Es gibt hier keine Gewähr auf Vollständigkeit, zumal immer neuer Content, neue Technologien und neue Medien entstehen. Daher soll dieser Überblick den gegenwärtigen Stand der Dinge zeigen und für die weitere Entwicklung von 3D Audio neugierig machen. Ich bin mir sicher, dass da noch einiges kommen wird! Inspiriert worden? Lass es mich gerne wissen!

    Mehr 3D Audio

    Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Wenn Sie diese Webseite weiterhin besuchen, stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies zu. Mehr dazu finden Sie in meiner Datenschutzerklärung.
    Notwendige Cookies
    Tracking
    Auswahl speichern Alles akzeptieren